• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Don't wait for new Nehalem processors. Read why.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#1
**UPDATED** Don't wait for new Nehalem processors. Read why. Screenshots Posted!!

The new Nehalem processors' main feature is that is does not have an FSB rather a memory controller onboard. "Bloomfield" the first Nehalem release will be running on an Intel X58 chipset. This requires Triple Channel DDR3 RAM. So this is supposed to "trick" system builders. So it's kinda confusing but i will try to explain it as best as I can.

So our theoretical mobo has 6 slots.



Here are our slots, the ones with dashes under their name means they're in the same channel.

So if you had 6x1GB ram you would put one DIMM in each slot.
If you had 3x2Gb you would put them in 1,3,5 correct?
In dual channel if you had 2x4gb you would put them in 1,3
But in triple channel, you would put them in 1,2 because if the third slot isnt occupied, apparently it dosent run as fast as it should.

Also even though the Bus speed is 4.8GHz/s it isn't as good a gaming processor as a workstation processor. Why?

The "Bloomfield" series have 4 physical cores and 2 threads each. Equaling 8 threads.
Most games are single threaded meaning that in the Penryn series more GHz+FSB+Cache meant speed. This here is not the case. Since there are so many threads, this will slow the game down a lot.

Here are my two benchmarking systems:

Core i7 Machine:
Intel Core i7 940 @ 3.2GHz on air
12GB DDR3 1066
ATI HD 4870 X2
MSI Eclipse
32GB SSD

Core 2 Quad Machine:
Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 4GHz On liquid
8GB DDR3 1600 Crucial
ATI HD 4870 X2
ASUS P5Q3 Deluxe
750GB HDD SATA II

In Crysis:
At 1024x768:
Core i7 got: 36fps MIN 74.6fps MAX
Core 2 Quad got: 43fps MIN 88.4fps MAX

At 1280x1024:
i7 got: 24fps MIN 53.9fps MAX
C2Q got: 12fps MIN 65.5fps MAX

At 1920x1200:
i7 got: 9.3fps MIN 33.6fps MAX
C2Q got: 18fps MIN 51.6fps MAX

As you can see, the fps gap at smaller resolutions are smaller. In the first one, it was a matter of a few frames. But as the going got tougher, the i7 skipped out. I also realised in task manager that while I was running the benchmark one thread was on 100% and the others were on 3-7% idling doing nothing.

It will be a matter of many years before games are multithreaded. Until then stick with your C2Q.

The graphics card in both machines were the same. Not overclocked. Stock.

Thanks to iSkytech for letting me borrow the processor/mobo.
The Core 2 Quad Gaming Rig is mine so if you have any questions on overclocking just post them here.

Thanks!!
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Run the benches with the CPUs at the same speed with the same cooling method, and use the SSD on both machines. Otherwise this means absolutely nothing to me.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#3
"The "Bloomfield" series have 4 physical cores and 2 threads each. Equaling 8 threads.
Most games are single threaded meaning that in the Penryn series more GHz+FSB+Cache meant speed. This here is not the case. Since there are so many threads, this will slow the game down a lot."

yeah yeah, lets all go back to single core CPU's. thats a pretty poor argument there.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.92/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#4
The new Nehalem processors' main feature is that is does not have an FSB rather a memory controller onboard. "Bloomfield" the first Nehalem release will be running on an Intel X58 chipset. This requires Triple Channel DDR3 RAM. So this is supposed to "trick" system builders. So it's kinda confusing but i will try to explain it as best as I can.

So our theoretical mobo has 6 slots.



Here are our slots, the ones with dashes under their name means they're in the same channel.

So if you had 6x1GB ram you would put one DIMM in each slot.
If you had 3x2Gb you would put them in 1,3,5 correct?
In dual channel if you had 2x4gb you would put them in 1,3
But in triple channel, you would put them in 1,2 because if the third slot isnt occupied, apparently it dosent run as fast as it should.

Also even though the Bus speed is 4.8GHz/s it isn't as good a gaming processor as a workstation processor. Why?

The "Bloomfield" series have 4 physical cores and 2 threads each. Equaling 8 threads.
Most games are single threaded meaning that in the Penryn series more GHz+FSB+Cache meant speed. This here is not the case. Since there are so many threads, this will slow the game down a lot.

Here are my two benchmarking systems:

Core i7 Machine:
Intel Core i7 940 @ 3.2GHz on air
12GB DDR3 1066
ATI HD 4870 X2
MSI Eclipse
32GB SSD

Core 2 Quad Machine:
Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 4GHz On liquid
8GB DDR3 1600 Crucial
ATI HD 4870 X2
ASUS P5Q3 Deluxe
750GB HDD SATA II

In Crysis:
At 1024x768:
Core i7 got: 36fps MIN 74.6fps MAX
Core 2 Quad got: 43fps MIN 88.4fps MAX

At 1280x1024:
i7 got: 24fps MIN 53.9fps MAX
C2Q got: 12fps MIN 65.5fps MAX

At 1920x1200:
i7 got: 9.3fps MIN 33.6fps MAX
C2Q got: 18fps MIN 51.6fps MAX

As you can see, the fps gap at smaller resolutions are smaller. In the first one, it was a matter of a few frames. But as the going got tougher, the i7 skipped out. I also realised in task manager that while I was running the benchmark one thread was on 100% and the others were on 3-7% idling doing nothing.

It will be a matter of many years before games are multithreaded. Until then stick with your C2Q.

The graphics card in both machines were the same. Not overclocked. Stock.

Thanks to iSkytech for letting me borrow the processor/mobo.
The Core 2 Quad Gaming Rig is mine so if you have any questions on overclocking just post them here.

Thanks!!
Do you work for AMD?
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
654 (0.15/day)
Likes
18
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Processor Intel Core I7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
Memory 32GB DDR3 (16GB Corsair XMS3 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
Video Card(s) AMD 280X
Storage Samsung 840 / Crucial BX100
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T / BenQ EW2430
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 831
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair 750W HX Modular
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Professional
#5
You can't run benchmarks on cpu's for comparison with completely different hardware on each side, simply unscientific.

- Same amount of memory @ same speed
- Same hard drive
- as your comparing architectures both cpu's @ same speed

how can you expect your results to be respected when you have missed the above :shadedshu
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,504 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,522
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name MRE-grade Potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB + Intel SSD320 120GB + Patriot WildFire 120GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Cooler Master CM690 1st Gen
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
I still feel if you have a Core 2 Extreme, even a QX6700, you can hold on for a while post Bloomfield. After Bloomfield arrives, you'd be forced to sell your ~$800+ CPU at dirt cheap prices...let's say a QX6700 goes for $280, since if you're unreasonable, people would rather buy a new i7 920. So after selling your 1337 chip for a quarter of its original price, you'd be spending an extra ~$600 for a 96x XE, and for performance increments that aren't 'revolutionary', just a little significant.
 

Jansku07

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
171 (0.05/day)
Likes
24
Location
Finland
Processor 4000X2 @ 2,1Ghz w/ AC Freezer
Motherboard MSI K9AGM3-FD
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 3650 w/ 256MB GDDR3
Storage WD 320GB - 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL m991 /1024x768/ 85hz
Case resonating metal case
Power Supply FSP 350W -> 16A@12V
Software Vista Home Premium x86 SP2 FIN
Benchmark Scores oh noeees.
#7
Second post - no pictures or CPU-Z validation whatsoever. I dont find this results very trustworthy..
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#8
Ok... I'll post the new benchmarks with the processors at the same speed next Saturday because I have school this week. I'll include the CPU-Z stuff too. I need to run back down to iSkytech and I cant do that on weekdays.

I promise I'll get back to you guys soon.

Since the Q9650 is stock at 3.00GHz, what should I set the FSB to to make it 2.93GHz. I just dont wanna do the math.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Ok... I'll post the new benchmarks with the processors at the same speed next Saturday because I have school this week. I'll include the CPU-Z stuff too. I need to run back down to iSkytech and I cant do that on weekdays.

I promise I'll get back to you guys soon.

Since the Q9650 is stock at 3.00GHz, what should I set the FSB to to make it 2.93GHz. I just dont wanna do the math.
Run both at 3.2Ghz. Most games are single-threaded, so that will show which has the better architecture and how much of a performance increase we can expect.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#10
Run the benches with the CPUs at the same speed with the same cooling method, and use the SSD on both machines. Otherwise this means absolutely nothing to me.
+1
From this we concluded that higher frequency means more speed daah.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
557 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
Bradford, PA
System Name Fenix
Processor AMD A8-3820 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard HP 2ACF
Cooling AMD
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6550
Storage 320GB Seagate
Display(s) Dell 19"
Case Unknown
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#11
As others have stated, you NEED to have the same RAM, same HDD, and same CPU frequency. You also need CPU-Z screenshots, and GPU-Z screenshots. Till then, I will have to disregard this info, just like an above member.
Edit* What OS are you running?
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#12
I cant do same ram because MSI Eclipse is Triple Channel and unless I have 3 DIMMs of 2.6666667 ram it wont work at full speed. So what should I do?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
I cant do same ram because MSI Eclipse is Triple Channel and unless I have 3 DIMMs of 2.6666667 ram it wont work at full speed. So what should I do?
I would run 2 different benches. One with the i7 in Dual Channel, and one with the i7 in triple channel. With the dual channel run the same amount as the C2Q (Say 4Gb) and then with the Triple run the closest you can (say 6Gb).
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
750 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
Location
RI, USA
Processor FX 8150 4.41Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws X 1600
Video Card(s) Diamond Multimedia HD7970 3GB
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" LED
Case Cooler Master Cosmos (new version)
Audio Device(s) Platronics 777
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Geekbench: 10,136 3DMark 11: P7792
#14
yeah. delete this thread, and start a new one when you can compare with same/similar hardware, and actually get benches proven. :)
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,376 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#15
Fail
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
Not helpful. This guy has access to the hardware I can guarantee we are all waiting to see, so instead of making inane comments like that maybe you should be helping him come up with a benchmark that will actually show off i7 on a level footing.

I for one would love to see what i7 can really do, but if he goes somewhere else because he feels too "unwelcomed" then you only have yourself to blame.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.68/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#17
So mate, is it really that difficult to validate CPUZ? I REALLY doubt a school student would have access to this sort of NDA-covered hardware; the Core i7s, as well as information. I'd expect a seasoned engineer or journalist, not you, not to offend.

In the time you made that post toloratedmeat you could have at least taken us a screenshot. Sure, you COULD Be one of those underage IT prodigies, who works at top-end jobs without qualifications (i know one), but don't give us an excuse like "i had to return the system"
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
Ok... I'll post the new benchmarks with the processors at the same speed next Saturday because I have school this week. I'll include the CPU-Z stuff too. I need to run back down to iSkytech and I cant do that on weekdays.

I promise I'll get back to you guys soon.

Since the Q9650 is stock at 3.00GHz, what should I set the FSB to to make it 2.93GHz. I just dont wanna do the math.
Tk, read the whole thread before you make a comment :)
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,061 (2.69/day)
Likes
5,156
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#19
I'm interested to see further results...this isn't the first I've heard that the i7's may perform sub-par to current faster processors due to single-thread issues and such. With your access to this hardware, I'm hoping to see more results and some validation, you gave us your word, and for now that should suffice.

To all those not interested or think this post is worthless...I don't feel it is, I think it could've initially been written and filled with screenshots and validations making a more solid point, but really it's not something we haven't already heard about and been warned of before. This is not new, but seeing some better proof of it could surely be interesting...but with future games hopefully supporting multi-core's more and more I'm sure the i7's will pull ahead...wonder how a 4 core i7 does against a quad core2 in Supreme Commander...only game I can think of that can utilize up to 4 cores..

This thread has hope, and I look forward to seeing it grow positively...no need for harshness imo, if ya don't believe it or dislike the results...what's the point of increasing post-count for negative comments that aren't helpful? Sure the results could be bogus, guess we'll have to wait till next weekend, I for one will be watching and waiting.

:toast:
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
Kursah, you speak a lot of sense my friend :)

Everyone else needs to stop ruining this for those who are interested in seeing the results. We have to wait until next weekend to see what happens, stop being so impatient, and stop with the inane comments.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
557 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
Bradford, PA
System Name Fenix
Processor AMD A8-3820 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard HP 2ACF
Cooling AMD
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6550
Storage 320GB Seagate
Display(s) Dell 19"
Case Unknown
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#21
imo a good comparison would be:

use the core2 with x GB of RAM in Dual Channel
use the i7 with x GB of RAM in Tripple Channel

this would be benching the CPU's with their potential. ;)

They should also be clocked at the same GHz (3.2GHz would be efficent)

For testing games, you should have the same kind of hard drive. using a SSD and a HDD to bench games = fail. You need to have the same drive to get the most accurate results. IE, a 74GB Raptor.

I'm not trying to sound like a rude prick. I'm just giving you a few suggestions ;)

And when you get a chance, we'd all like to see some CPU-Z validation, with your TPU name under "Submitted by:"
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,093 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,217
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#23
Um, what are you actually trying to prove? The best way to compare something is to follow the guidelines of the scientific method:
  1. Ask a Question
  2. Do Background Research
  3. Construct a Hypothesis
  4. Test Your Hypothesis by Doing an Experiment
  5. Analyzer Your Data and Draw a Conclusion
  6. Communicate Your Results

At this point, I think we're stuck at step 1. Your post started out talking about the memory channel scheme (which is completely dependant on motherboard manufacturer implementation by the way) and ended with benchmarks comparing FPS. What exactly are you trying to prove? That triple channel is not as good as dual? That Nehalem's virtual-core approach is not as good as sticking to just physical cores?

Science is only as good as the processes through which it is conducted. ;)


Edit: It should be noted that games are not a very good source for processor benchmarks because a lot of it depends on the game design more so than anything else. The best benchmark for a processor is asymmetrical arithmetic and floating-point operations that engages all cores in non-repetitive work. Games, by nature, are symmetrical and as such, go no faster than the most burdened component (usually the graphics card). Because of this, most processor clocks are put to idle use and very little processor time is actually needed.
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,834 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,125
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#24
Whatever the Op's intentions (and those of you who know me know I am always suspicsious of new members joining to post stuff like this, did they not recognise the merit of the forum before they had a message to spread?) :) But to be honest, there is some useful stuff here, and if he really does have the kit at his disposal then we may just get an early insight into the Pro's and Con's of Bloomfield, much of what he actually says is fairly logical, nevertheless I agree, he needs to be more consistent in his testing and provide more evidence but this may simply be down to over enthusiasm!

I look foward to his further results.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.89/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#25
All I want to know is, how far does it overclock, and on what voltages?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.