• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Doubt about XFX5770 bios

samt1687

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) Triple-Core Processor 2.30 GHz
Motherboard ECS A740GM-M
Memory Kingston DDR2 800 2Gb x 2
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON HD5770
Storage Seagate 500gb 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T220M
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Software W7 x64
#1
Well... Im one of many users that is having issues with his GPU. My pc randomly crashes while playing games... specially when I do this: 2D mode - 3D mode - 2D mode -3D crash. Anyway... I read around that some people could fix their problem updating the gpu bios, so I started looking after a bios update for my GPU. I found this bios http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/66822/XFX.HD5770.1024.091207.html for my XFX HD-577A-ZNDC but I noticed that that bios and mine have some differences like voltages or memory speed in one case. Also my bios has an additional "Clock info"... I don't know why, but it looks like this:

My bios: http://img840.imageshack.us/i/minelk.jpg/
Bios published: http://img820.imageshack.us/i/published.jpg/

Could this be a cause of crashes? :S
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
231 (0.09/day)
Likes
24
System Name Vika
Processor Intel Core i3 2100
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Gen 3
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ X Radeon HD 7970 @ 1100/1550
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2453MH-LED 23.6in LED
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Antec HCG 620W
Software Windows 7 Premium 64bit
#2
i heard that windows 7 are causing a lot of problems for 5770 users
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#3
I haven't had any problems at all with my XFX 5770's . I run win 7 64 bit . as for flashing bios's on the cards your best bet is to as XFX on there site to see if there is any real help they can give you . do you have the latest drivers ? I am on the 10.11 drivers and WOW they are smokin fast now ! best mid range card out there and crossfire is really kick ass ! Just go to XFX home pagehttp://xfxforce.com/en-us/home.aspx?lang=en-us and see what they say good luck .
 

mkchiu

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#4
Could this be a cause of crashes? :S
Yes. Both for voltage stability and BIOS improvements.



There are only two significant differences in the clocks steps. The new boot voltage is 1.2V instead of 1.125V and clock 2 has an odd RAM frequency.

A stock 5770 is 850MHz/1200Mhz/1.125V. Since that XFX 5770 appears to overclock to 875MHz/1300MHz then a higher boot voltage of 1.200V can help with possible corruption during initial boot and during gaming. Or it could be set to 850/1200/1.125 and overclocked (in software like MSI Afterburner) to 875/1300/1.200.

It would be bad for the RAM to switch from 1300 to 1200 to 1300, but since state 1 is likely 1-3-2, that's probably not a valid sequence.



Also, hopefully the RAM is actually stable at 1300MHz since RAM voltage is not usually software/BIOS-firmware configurable.



i heard that windows 7 are causing a lot of problems for 5770 users
Such as? I didn't see any relevant problems when googling, and have had little problems with a tuned MSI Hawk 5770 on Win7 64 bit.
 

samt1687

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) Triple-Core Processor 2.30 GHz
Motherboard ECS A740GM-M
Memory Kingston DDR2 800 2Gb x 2
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON HD5770
Storage Seagate 500gb 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T220M
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Software W7 x64
#5
Well... I have tried to put 875/1300/1.200 but voltage doesnt change. I can put voltage lower than 1.125, but over that, despite I put 1.200, voltage remains 1.125
 

samt1687

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) Triple-Core Processor 2.30 GHz
Motherboard ECS A740GM-M
Memory Kingston DDR2 800 2Gb x 2
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON HD5770
Storage Seagate 500gb 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T220M
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Software W7 x64
#6
Why cant I increase voltage over that? :S

It would be bad for the RAM to switch from 1300 to 1200 to 1300, but since state 1 is likely 1-3-2, that's probably not a valid sequence.
State 1 in my bios is 1-2-0
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#7
i wouldnt download and flash a bios your unsure of. personally I would simply edit your bios. the main problem with the 5770's (mine at least) is the uber low 2d clocks, switching from 850/1200 down to 157/300 is a huge step and causes fuck up when switching back and fourth to often. I would take the 157/300 clocks and make them higher like your standard 2d clocks like 400/800 etc etc
 

samt1687

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) Triple-Core Processor 2.30 GHz
Motherboard ECS A740GM-M
Memory Kingston DDR2 800 2Gb x 2
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON HD5770
Storage Seagate 500gb 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T220M
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Software W7 x64
#8
Should I just increase the clocks? keep intact the voltage?
And... increasing your 2d clocks fixed your problem?
 

mkchiu

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#9
i wouldnt download and flash a bios your unsure of. personally I would simply edit your bios. the main problem with the 5770's (mine at least) is the uber low 2d clocks, switching from 850/1200 down to 157/300 is a huge step and causes fuck up when switching back and fourth to often. I would take the 157/300 clocks and make them higher like your standard 2d clocks like 400/800 etc etc
Agreed, especially if an IGP or PCI video card is unavailable. The 2D clocks aren't low. AMD-driver clock-transitions are poor.

I personally went from 157/300/0.95 -> 600/1200/1 -> 875/1200/1.2 to 157/300/0.95 -> 600/600/0.95 -> 714/1200/1.2. The staged 300 -> 600 -> 1200 greatly minimizes flicker and distortions once the GDDR5 has warmed up.



Well... I have tried to put 875/1300/1.200 but voltage doesnt change. I can put voltage lower than 1.125, but over that, despite I put 1.200, voltage remains 1.125
Why cant I increase voltage over that? :S

State 1 in my bios is 1-2-0
Should I just increase the clocks? keep intact the voltage?
And... increasing your 2d clocks fixed your problem?
It could be either the original BIOS does not interpret inputs larger than 1.125V, does not output values larger than 1.125V, or the power circuitry does not support 1.2V. You might want to verify the actual voltages if you're handy with a multimeter and have a steady hand.

Also, your voltages could be insufficient during any of the transition clocks. Likewise, checking stability at the various voltages you run would isolate the clock transitions as a problem.

157/300 -> 600/1200 -> 875/1300 is not a good sequence for GDDR5. 300-> 1200 -> 1300 is not balanced.

If you don't want to do much work, then set all clocks to 850/1200/1.125V. The card seems to support 1.125V, and stock 5770 frequencies (850/1200 @ 1.125V) should be stable unless the AIB manufacturer made mistakes.