1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

download link for WMP11 & newer media center for vista home premium

Discussion in 'General Software' started by freebird_9924, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    630 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    I want to update my windows media player and windows mediacenter as well as IE..

    currently on windows vista home premium.

    can anyone provide me direct link to download all these 3?

    Thanks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,400 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,354
    uh, windows update?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    630 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    India
    i've done windows update but there was no update for WMP or IE or mediacenter..i think it's software upgrade radher than update..that's y it didnt appear in windows update..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,352 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,436
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    630 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    India
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,352 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,436
    freebird_9924 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    203 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Western NC
    media center has its own update service, just open media center and go to settings, there should be a option to force updates...
     
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,400 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,354
    no disrespect freebird, but are you running a legit version of windows? because most people who are not have to get direct download links to updates...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    630 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    India
    i'm running windows vista home premium preinstalled in my HP dv6226tx notebook. Also doing regular windows update.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,400 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,354
    interesting. is it one of those special HP versions of Vista that come preloaded with a bunch of crap on them? if so those programs are prolly somehow interfereing with it. but it is most likely the fact that you are doing a custom update and choosing IE/WMP ...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    630 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    India
    first link:

    i couldnt find WMP for windows vista home premium in that liunk..

    2nd link: it's showing windows media center features..no link/option to download/update..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    630 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    India
    yes...what to do now?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,218 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Florida
    [​IMG]
     
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    630 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    India
    @solaris, that link is showing me "Windows Vista Starter or Home Basic users:
    Upgrade to Windows 7 "
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,218 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Florida
    does media center not come with your OS? because if it doesnt come with it their might not be a way to get it. Certain versions of OS's are locked from certain features.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    630 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    India
    obviously i've media center in my OS. :)

    anyways, what about WMP? can't i update it?
    when i plug in my nokia 5800 to my laptop using usb, it shows found new hardware "mpt device" which fails to install.

    i googled and found that this will be solved after WMP update/reinstallation, so i need to install WMP again/update..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,218 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Florida
    um... for media player just right click on the bar go to help and select check for updates...try to do the same with media center
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. freebird_9924

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    630 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    India
    it's showing it's already uptodate.

    anyway to get installation filoe so i uninstall and reinstall using it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,218 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Florida
    you can try that but i doubt its a media player issue sounds like u need to download the driver for your phone from the manufacturer
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)