• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Download Windows 10/11 ESD

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.53/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I'm noticing a lot of problems with Edge. For example, you can't middle mouse click on it when it is pinned to open another window. You have to open a new tab in the existing Window and drag it out.

Also, a lot of websites have problems with it. I tried to place an order through Steam with it and on the payment page, it just scrolled "Working..." I hope these Insider Builds are improving Edge. It really sucks having so many sites not work on IE11 anymore and many other sites not working on Edge.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.74/day)
They don't update Edge performance-optimization wise. They only add new features like tab preview, new icons and so on, just UI tweaks. Try to open MEGA with Edge or try to open big PDF file. CPU and RAM usage will skyrocket.

All sites work with IE11, haven't encountered a single site that didn't support it.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.53/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Let's see...problems with Edge (excluding the few already mentioned):
-when default page is set to about:blank (because about:start is bloated), it doesn't automatically put the cursor in the address bar. You have to physically click it before you can type anything.
-No right-click -> Refresh. In fact, there's hardly any options in the right click menu.
-When downloading files, it doesn't prompt/stop/warning you about downloads in progress.
-When initializing a download, it automatically names and saves it in Downloads, no options.
-No address bar drag and drop functionality. By that, I mean you can't drag it to the Favorites Bar or to the desktop to create a link quick and easy.
-Favorites Bar links are not resizable; they clip whatever doesn't fit in the predefined space. Context menu here is also ridiculous...can't even rename the link after it has been made.
-Even though Edge should have better compatibility because it is an HTML5, I'm increasingly finding it does not. There are a lot of sites that won't work with it.
-Some websites have "View Source" disabled. That shouldn't be possible.
-Lots of options missing not just in Settings (like the ability to clear some things on browser close) but major productivity options like making downloads have its own dedicated button and get rid of "Share" and "Make a Web Note" are not available.
-I had Edge lock up on me once and...I think the entire explorer.exe locked up with it. IE11 was pretty quick to realize the shit has hit the fan and moves quickly to rectify it. Edge doesn't even seem aware there was shit in the first place.
-Virtually no options (that I could find) while looking at a PDF. For example, I was looking at many PDFs and couldn't find a quick and easy way to scale the PDF so it occupies more of the browser window to make it more readable.

I've only used it a few days on a handful of websites. Edge needs a ton of work. It definitely isn't ready for primetime. It doesn't need new features; it needs existing features fixed and polished.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.74/day)
^ Nice points

Some more:

- right click won't work on context menu items (works in IE11)
- no separate window for downloads (aka good old ctrl+j)
- clicking 'clear all' downloads will interrupt all downloads in progress (no interruptions in IE11)
- lots of content won't render in PDF because of paranoid "security" reasons.

Edge is too metroish. It looks really good on touchscreen but for normal good old desktop it's totally useless. It's minimalistic UI is a nightmare for normal desktop use.

It's nice that W10 uses IE11 x64. In windows 7 it ran x86 by default.


Verdict: Edge sucks. Any other current browser and pdf viewer are better. Of course Edge is the fastest browser in all Microsoft synthetic tests but who cares about synthetic tests?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.53/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I think it IS Metro (e.g. Surface RT)...they just gave it a name so they can market it. XD

IE11 on Windows 7 was a hybrid application. I believe the core executable ran as 32-bit but tabs opened as 64-bit instances--that might be backwards. It was very different from IE9/IE10 where it was explicitly 32-bit or 64-bit. IE11, it isn't explicit.

Edge is noticeably faster than IE11 in pretty much every regard but that doesn't do much good if it is generally not friendly to use and has issues with major sites.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,977 (1.02/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Dragon (Maintenance)
Processor Intel Core i7-11700K "Rocket Lake"
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Vision G
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 3090 Ventus 3X 24G OC | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB|Data: 850EVO 1TB, 3xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG Strix XG27UQ 4K@144hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
VR HMD No not gonna sell myself to FB!i!i!
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (21H1) / Win11 Pro 21H2 UK (Build 22000.100)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867? GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/h93ag
I can make a link to Win10 Pro UK 64bit ISO from my drive if anyone needs it.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.74/day)
Build 10575 comes next week, so I can happily skip 10565 and 10568, yay!

 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,311 (3.49/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Full Size Wireless Apple Magic Keyboard
Software MacOS 10.15.7
Another good news: since builds 10565/68 W10 supports nested virtualization
Now you can Windows while you Windows, in a Window, in your Windows.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,265 (1.23/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name Bay2- Lowerbay/ HP 3770/T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con/Orange/White/Grey
Processor i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400/Ryzen 2700/Ryzen 2700/R7 3700x
Motherboard HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390/B450 AorusM/B450 AorusM/B550 AorusM
Cooling All stock coolers/Grey has an H-60
Memory 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB 3 chan/ 4GB sammy/T-Force 16GB 3200/XPG 16GB 3000/Ballistic 3600 16GB
Video Card(s) HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710,2x MSI R7 240's/ HD4000/ Red Dragon 580/Sapphire 580/Sapphire 580
Storage ?HDD's/ 500 GB-er's/ 500 GB/2.5 Samsung 500GB HDD+WD Black 1TB/ WD Black 500GB M.2/Corsair MP600 M.2
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest/1080p TV-Grey
Case HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/Dell T3500's/ Dell 390/SilverStone Kublai KL06/NZXT H510 W x2
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same/Seasonic 750 80+Gold/EVGA 500 80+/Antec 650 80+Gold
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc + Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2/MX 900 wireless kit 4 Grey
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB. MX900 kit for Grey
Software Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10/Win 10 Pro/Win 10 Pro/Win10
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
I wish Windows had a Window to keep Windows from rebooting Windows, when I am not watching Windows.

I don't mind the daily Windows Updates, Defender definitions, but will they please stop forcing reboots? WTH? If I could, I'd hack their servers and force reboots, randomly. See how they like it!!

:shadedshu:
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,632 (0.51/day)
Location
Somewhere Over There!
System Name ArchRyze
Processor Ryzen R9 3900XT 4.5 Ghz @ 1.275V
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Viii Hero Wifi
Cooling Lian Li 360 Galahad
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32gb OC @ 3733 mhz CL14-13-13-21 1T @ 1.43V
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 6900 XT Nitro+
Storage Seagate 520 1TB + Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB + lots of HDD's
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7
Case Lian Li PC-O11D XL White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex SE Platinum 1000W
Mouse Xenics Titan GX Air Wireless
Keyboard Kemove Snowfox 61
Software Main: Arch Linux KDE ; Windows 10 Pro (for games as benchmark)
Benchmark Scores Have tried but can't beat the leaders :)
Now I can windows that, windows this, windows there, windows here........ windows everywhere :)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.74/day)
I wish Windows had a Window to keep Windows from rebooting Windows, when I am not watching Windows.

I don't mind the daily Windows Updates, Defender definitions, but will they please stop forcing reboots? WTH? If I could, I'd hack their servers and force reboots, randomly. See how they like it!!

:shadedshu:


Reboots can be scheduled, they're not forced. W10 will have more reboots than all previous Windows iterations because lots of cumulative updates are coming every week. Unfortunately Windows' core isn't 'flexible', some kernel file changed and you need a reboot. Even insider builds, just a little tweak here and there and there's a new build with new number lol, just because of that you have to download gigs of esd files and install them.

Maybe someday Windows will be like iOS or Linux but not today.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.74/day)
Yesterday installed 10576 from Fast ring on two laptops. Pretty nice build much better than annoying 10568.
Clean installed W10 pro x64 takes only 10 GB.

They renamed System to System and compressed memory since build 10565 I guess.

Here's an article about compressed memory feature which will be introduced in final th2 which is really close now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.74/day)
FFS this thread got buried ...... anyways updates:


Microsoft finally released Windows 10 TH2. Public permanent direct links from Microsoft, for everyone, forever yada yada bla bla bla:


Windows 10 TH2 Pro X64
Windows 10 TH2 Pro X86

You can find the esd decrypter in the opening post.

For everyone who (for some reason) needs Windows 8.1 RTM Pro REFRESH here direct links:

Windows Blue August 2014 RTM Refresh X64
Windows Blue August 2014 RTM Refresh X86

And newer builds:

Windows Blue November RTM Slipstream X64
Windows Blue November RTM Slipstream X86


And of course Windows 10 TH1 RTM PRO links are in the opening post. Valid and working.

Download, decrypt, burn DVD or make a bootable USB with ZOTAC tool, install and work or do whatever you're doing.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,382 (1.36/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling Custom Loop. Two 360ies + 280 rad. 8x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. EK-Quantum Momentum monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-15-15-36 CR1[16-18-18-32-50;TRFC560@3200MHz]]
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software Windows 11 insider
They fixed bluetooth stack a bit. Controller handling. The sfc scannow works now fine without errors. A very fine build indeed. Very stable.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,251 (1.42/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Austere Box R1.4
Processor 5900X
Motherboard B550 Unify-X (A.30)
Cooling NH-C14S
Memory 2x16GB 3800 14-15-15 1.52V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE 0.987V
Case Cerberus X
Thanks drone. I was having trouble updating from 10240 to 10586, this solved my problems.

I didn't even know about TechBench until now.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
482 (0.08/day)
Location
West Bend, Wisconsin
System Name DELL Inspiron 5400 AIO
Processor 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1165G7 @ 2.80GHz
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA MX 330
Storage 1TB +SSD
Display(s) 23.8 inch touch screen
Case DELL AIO
Mouse Dell Wireless
Keyboard Dell Wireless
Software WINDOWS 10 HOME 64 BIT VERSION 21H1 OS build 19043.1052
The latest build of windows 10 i have is 1511 OSBuild 10586.3.
I am not a insider either.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.74/day)
The latest build of windows 10 i have is 1511 OSBuild 10586.3.
I am not a insider either.
thanks for this invaluable information and congratulations, professor!




Good news, Microsoft finally posted updated drivers for Broadcom Wlan for Win10 Th2. No more problems with disappearing wifi anymore! *runs to install*

 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
2,048 (0.58/day)
Location
Bulgaria
System Name Sandfiller
Processor I5-7600K
Motherboard Asus PRIME Z270-P
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair 2400 mhz DDR4 CL17
Video Card(s) RX 570 4GB NITRO+
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29"
Case DeepCool D-Shield
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Fractal Design IntegraM 650W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
Laptops updated this morning to version 10586.3 ( 1511 ). Update went fine for the most part. On the Dell, the windows control panel crashed after the update-> reason was Dell's audio drivers. Uninstalled and voila, everything worked fine. I am looking for a solution there. On the Lenovo (mine ) the Dolby digital drivers are still not working, making the crappy speakers of my Edge, sound even crappier. How hard it is to make decent audio drivers honestly ??? Two different brands can't get their s**t together. Apart from that I run disk clean up to remove the 20GB of windows.old + temporary installation files.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.74/day)
^ That's true some drivers for W10 aren't perfect yet. Luckily they're working on it. They already fixed Intel graphics and Broadcom Wlan drivers.

Here's latest Realtek Audio for W10 x64
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,977 (1.02/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Dragon (Maintenance)
Processor Intel Core i7-11700K "Rocket Lake"
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Vision G
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 3090 Ventus 3X 24G OC | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB|Data: 850EVO 1TB, 3xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG Strix XG27UQ 4K@144hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
VR HMD No not gonna sell myself to FB!i!i!
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (21H1) / Win11 Pro 21H2 UK (Build 22000.100)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867? GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/h93ag
Not the biggest fan of this new update for Windows 10, it broke my ability to connect to my Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter, when i click on the notification icon and click Connect or Project it tries to connect even my MWDA says so and then after a little my Win10 Pro just says Couldn't Connect.

I updated driver for my Intel Wireless-AC 7260 to the newest that was released 6 days ago (09/11/15) but that doesn't help.

I am using the newest firmware on my MWDA, it worked before the update and it works fine on my Lenovo ThinkPad E540 running Win8.1 Pro, so i think the miracast function most be kinda broken.
 
Top