• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Download Windows 10/11 ESD

Ahhzz

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
8,799 (1.47/day)
System Name OrangeHaze / Silence
Processor i7-13700KF / i5-10400 /
Motherboard ROG STRIX Z690-E / MSI Z490 A-Pro Motherboard
Cooling Corsair H75 / TT ToughAir 510
Memory 64Gb GSkill Trident Z5 / 32GB Team Dark Za 3600
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2070 / Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Hynix Plat P41 2Tb\Samsung MZVL21 1Tb / Samsung 980 Pro 1Tb
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/24" Asus
Case Lian Li PC-101 ATX custom mod / Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless / Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard K68 RGB — CHERRY® MX Red
Software Win10 Pro \ RIP:Win 7 Ult 64 bit
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.39/day)
I am getting Error code 3 trying to install this?I have no idea why .... Windows updates don't see it at all.
It's for Release Preview Ring so if you don't see it on WU or get an error it means that you aren't on rp ring. No worries, just ignore this update.

Here's the changelog btw:

•Improvements to general application compatibility
•Improvements in the upgrade experience, including fixing an issue where some devices would lose data connections or touch input after upgrading to Windows 10.
•Improved the reliability of reminders
•Improved UI for tracking data usage under Settings > Network and wireless > Data Usage.
•Improved the navigation bar experience for some devices.
•Fixed an issue where some SD card readers were not recognized
•Updated Daylight Saving in countries with Daylight Saving changes
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,877 (0.32/day)
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name RyZen FX
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900x
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite AX V2
Cooling DeepCool AK400 Zero Dark Plus
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M2E3200C16 X2 32gig dual channel
Video Card(s) ASUS RX 7700XT TUF OC
Storage x2 Lexar SSD NM710 2TB 2XSeagate 1Terrabyte 1x Seagate 2 Terrabyte
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Thanks Drone for the info,I will just wait for the new ISO file I guess.The other you posted .218 worked good to upgrade my 8.1 install.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (0.78/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
I am getting Error code 3 trying to install this?I have no idea why ,Also is this for updating the ISO or my main win install itself,Windows updates don't see it at all.
I got the same error. I messed up my copy and paste technique. It was pretty easy to fix though. Let me try and explain step by step.

1. Download the .cab file you need for your install, 32-bit(x86) or 64-bit(x64)
2. Create a new folder in C:\. Open file explorer/This PC and click on drive C:. Then move the pointer to the area where files/folders can be clicked to open them. If you can't find an open space where the pointer won't automatically highlight an existing file/folder, then right click and move the pointer slightly away from the highlighted file/folder and right click again. Or if you can find an open space just right click there. This will bring up the panel showing New >. Point to New and click Folder. Name the new folder "folder" for simplicity.
3. Find the .cab file you downloaded and right click on it. Copy it. Then go back to the new folder and paste it there.
4. Then open Command Prompt as administrator. All apps>Windows System>Command Prompt - right click>More>Run as administrator.
5. Then copy and paste the following script(without the bold part):

For 32-bit: dism /online /add-package:C:\folder\windows10.0-kb3157621-x86_37feb75954eb4477a49ed9dcae2ef179c9ec166f.cab

For 64-bit: dism /online /add-package:C:\folder\windows10.0-kb3157621-x64_0cda29d0ac9c9600a2d2f96775857d8785842ed9.cab

6. Then hit Enter. And be patient. It takes a little while to complete.
7. When prompted to hit Y to restart and finish the update.
8. Once fully completed go back and delete the new folder. It's no longer of any use.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,877 (0.32/day)
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name RyZen FX
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900x
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite AX V2
Cooling DeepCool AK400 Zero Dark Plus
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M2E3200C16 X2 32gig dual channel
Video Card(s) ASUS RX 7700XT TUF OC
Storage x2 Lexar SSD NM710 2TB 2XSeagate 1Terrabyte 1x Seagate 2 Terrabyte
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
I got the same error. I messed up my copy and paste technique. It was pretty easy to fix though. Let me try and explain step by step.

1. Download the .cab file you need for your install, 32-bit(x86) or 64-bit(x64)
2. Create a new folder in C:\. Open file explorer/This PC and click on drive C:. Then move the pointer to the area where files/folders can be clicked to open them. If you can't find an open space where the pointer won't automatically highlight an existing file/folder, then right click and move the pointer slightly away from the highlighted file/folder and right click again. Or if you can find an open space just right click there. This will bring up the panel showing New >. Point to New and click Folder. Name the new folder "folder" for simplicity.
3. Find the .cab file you downloaded and right click on it. Copy it. Then go back to the new folder and paste it there.
4. Then open Command Prompt as administrator. All apps>Windows System>Command Prompt - right click>More>Run as administrator.
5. Then copy and paste the following script(without the bold part):

For 32-bit: dism /online /add-package:C:\folder\windows10.0-kb3157621-x86_37feb75954eb4477a49ed9dcae2ef179c9ec166f.cab

For 64-bit: dism /online /add-package:C:\folder\windows10.0-kb3157621-x64_0cda29d0ac9c9600a2d2f96775857d8785842ed9.cab

6. Then hit Enter. And be patient. It takes a little while to complete.
7. When prompted to hit Y to restart and finish the update.
8. Once fully completed go back and delete the new folder. It's no longer of any use.

was my silly AVG Anti Virus and i had a capitol F for folder ,works now thanks guys.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (0.78/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
New Realtek audio drivers specially for W10 x64
Thanks! I'm glad you mentioned it. I just downloaded and installed the newest Realtek audio drivers(6.0.1.7330) from MSI for my Z77A-GD65 Gaming yesterday. Then today they released newer ones(6.0.1.7801). It might have been a while before I went back looking for newer ones. I subscribe to the "always the newest drivers" policy.

I don't get the moving old programs to the windows store bit. What's the point? I notice those already there are still in Windows Accessories. Is that going to change or something?
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.39/day)
Thanks! I'm glad you mentioned it. I just downloaded and installed the newest Realtek audio drivers(6.0.1.7330) from MSI for my Z77A-GD65 Gaming yesterday. Then today they released newer ones(6.0.1.7801). It might have been a while before I went back looking for newer ones. I subscribe to the "always the newest drivers" policy.

I don't get the moving old programs to the windows store bit. What's the point? I notice those already there are still in Windows Accessories. Is that going to change or something?

Not a problem. MS updates Realtek audio quite frequently. Unfortunately in 99% it won't even appear in Windows Update, that's why I always download/install them manually.


The first was calculator, there was classic and app version but later they killed classic for good. I think they will do the same to all accessories' programs and move them to Windows Store so they all can have mobile gui. I think they want it to be centralized like in Linux or OS X.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.09/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.39/day)
any idea whats new that matters to general use?

Better compatibility with sd cards, audio cards and other devices, less bsdos, less crashes with some apps/programs, less hdd spikes, ram leaks and cpu bleeds: in a nutshell lots of bugs are fixed, it's definitely better than the first th1 and th2 builds.

UI changes, enhanced Cortana and more W10 exclusive stuff. Edge browser/pdf reader is still lame.

Speaking for myself, W10 is pretty good. I had no major issues at all.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.09/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
i'll use it to update my laptop first and then decide for the rest of my systems.

I've disabled windows update and, and decided to rely on these larger updates (with occasional manual updates if i have issues/need drivers)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.39/day)
Cumulative update for Windows 10 Version 1511 x 64

Brings system to 10586.318

KB3156421
(677 MB)

Improved reliability in a number of areas including Cortana, Bluetooth, Shell, Internet Explorer 11, Microsoft Edge, Miracast, and USB.
Fixed memory leak that occurs when opening a portable document format (PDF) form multiple times.
Fixed issues with text alignment for right to left languages in Internet Explorer 11 and Microsoft Edge.
Fixed issue that affected Bluetooth function when a PC resumes from sleep.
Fixed issue where user accounts weren't locked out after a number of failed sign in attempts.
Fixed issue with revised daylight saving time.
Fixed issue that sometimes corrupts CompactFlash cards inserted into a card reader.
Fixed issue that caused recorded video to be lost when answering an incoming call on some phones.
Fixed issue that could result in unexpected battery drain while the phone screen is off.
Fixed additional security issues with kernel mode drivers, remote procedure calls, the Microsoft Graphics Component, Internet Explorer 11, Microsoft Edge, Windows Shell, Windows Journal, Virtual Secure Mode, Schannel, and Jscript.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.09/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
anyone else think its bad that our PC's get bloated with updates meant for phones, and vice versa?
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.39/day)
Back in the day entire Windows XP or Microsoft Office was about 600-700 MB, now cumulative updates are around 700 MB lol
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,645 (0.88/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 5800x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ Neo rgb 3600mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) lc27g75tq
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat burst pro
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
7,023 (1.39/day)
I've just installed build 14342 and it's pretty good. Here are the first things I've noticed:

fresh install is exactly 10 GB



Windows Defender got new icon, even in taskmgr



regedit didn't change at all; icons in gpedit are finally transparent;

Going to Settings -> Accounts -> Sign-in options simply crashes Settings app.

Start is bloated with crap I don't care about (world of tanks, duolingo and bla). Feedback hub is now uninstallable but Connect can't be uninstalled at all.



Eventvwr threw a single critical tcp_ip error (just like in previous build), even though it wasn't a critical error at all and everything works as it should, no bsods or crashes.

Some items' names in services are screwed:











GUI changes in Personalize, System, Accounts, Update & security.

New Paint app isn't there yet.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,065 (0.31/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
so i am lurking on this thread for a minute and have a silly question:

is there any way to just upgrade to the most recent build? or do i upgrade (this will be through media creation tool, btw) and then clean install the most recent build?

sorry if another thread i neglected to look for covers that.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (0.78/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
I would think you could just upgrade with the media creation tool. And if that doesn't give you the most recent build, then install the latest cumulative update. Keywords: cumulative and update. But if you wanted to clean install the latest build I'm sure there are isos to be found. But then you'd have to activate it.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.09/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
i use the media creation tool and upgrade, you start it from within the OS.

I've been disabling windows update after initial setup and upgrading my PC's that way for months with zero problems.

latest builds can be clean installed with a 7/8 key as well, but that'll end july 29
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (1.91/day)
Is there a way to create bootable USB drive using Media Creation tool and Windows ISO that was downloaded before using this tool? I don't want to re-download it every single time I want to make a bootable USB.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.09/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Is there a way to create bootable USB drive using Media Creation tool and Windows ISO that was downloaded before using this tool? I don't want to re-download it every single time I want to make a bootable USB.

use the 'windows 7 USB DVD tool'
 
Top