• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Download Windows 10 ESD

Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,076 (1.48/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name LappyTop/ Bay2- Lowerbay- RushCity1/ HP 3770/ T3500-1+T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con
Processor i5 3317U/ i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400
Motherboard ASUStek/ HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390
Cooling Air/air/ air/ Big Dell Air/ Air
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600/ 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy
Video Card(s) intel HD4000/ HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000
Storage 256GB Crucial Mx100 SSD/ ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest
Case ALU, beauty!/ HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply ASUS brick, 17W i5/ 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software WIN8.1-64bit/ Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
So, I am downloading an .iso from microsoft.com, I already have a key. It offers 2 options, may 2019 and october 2018.

any reason I should download the older one? It is on my A-10 build.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,827 (2.17/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
It offers 2 options, may 2019 and october 2018.

any reason I should download the older one? It is on my A-10 build.
That's feature update 1809, May 2019 would be the current 1903 feature update.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,827 (2.17/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Anyone on 1903 might want to hold off on installing the latest optional cumulative update KB4512941. There's reports of high CPU usage from the SearchUI.exe process with the update installed.

Repeat of what happened with 1809 rushed out?
Neowin said:
Interestingly, a few Insiders did log feedback about this issue in the Feedback Hub. However, since the build was not offered to Insiders for long enough before it went out to production, it seems the problem has slipped through. To add to it, the issue did not gather enough upvotes to gain attention. One would expect that the company would wait to gather more feedback for builds in the Insider Preview to be able to better address any such issues.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,487 (1.95/day)
^ Unfortunately many Windows 10 old/latest builds or updates have weird random cpu peaks caused by various Windows services. It's sad that installing updates is becoming dice roller now
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
113 (0.19/day)
Location
Finland
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard Asus Z87-Expert
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S, &case fans all controlled by Aquaero 6
Memory 2x8GB TeamGroup Xtreem LV 2133MHz
Video Card(s) Vega 64
Storage Samsung 840 Pro + 2x 5GB WD Red@RAID1
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case Lian Li PC-A71B
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR, Objective2 (2x), AKG K702&712, Beyerdynamic DT990
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 650 (+Eaton 5P 1550 as "backup power")
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G810
^ Unfortunately many Windows 10 old/latest builds or updates have weird random cpu peaks caused by various Windows services. It's sad that installing updates is becoming dice roller now
What can you expect when Microsoft now pushes new buggy code out of door at lot more frequenctly and with less testing than before Win10.

Microsoft really should be paying Windows 10 users for being beta testers instead of users having to pay Microsoft.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,827 (2.17/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
I've got the latest cumulative update installed, and I'm not running into the issue. I moved the Cortana directory out of System Apps to System Apps Bak directory I created. I use a third party app for searches, and I don't use Cortana as a assistant. I don't need it auto launching on boot. The only gotcha is I have to remember to move it back though when I'm installing Windows Updates.
Untitled.jpg

The high CPU usage of SearchUI might of been caused by third party apps used to disable Cortana similar to disabling Telemetry.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2014
Messages
195 (0.11/day)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 R2
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II 620w (SS-620GB)
Anyone on 1903 might want to hold off on installing the latest optional cumulative update KB4512941. There's reports of high CPU usage from the SearchUI.exe process with the update installed.
workarounds for that problem mentioned here and here.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,358 (2.39/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
So microsoft rolls out update to fix bugs that caused by previous update so they can release a new update to fix it then
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Messages
189 (0.09/day)
Location
Northampton, England
Been trying to figure out why my PC has been slower for the last few weeks. Finally figured it out, and was going to post, but found this thread.

This PC has an A8-3870K APU, so was never fast, but it had been so much slower lately. I never thought to check for rogue processes, as only 2 months ago I had disabled services I never used, deleted a load of trash, optimised everything, then ran Process Lasso to check every process and tweak a couple of priorities.

Yesterday, I decided to check something in task manager. Saw that Cortana was running! WTF? I had disabled it! It was using between 25 and 35% of my processing power! Checked in group policy editor, and it was still disabled! So I opened Process Lasso to see if I could figure it out. searchui.exe was using up to 38% of the APU. Killed the process, and Cortana stopped running - until I clicked on the start menu. I configured process lasso to disallow that process, so it can never run again. Waited until Cortana was no longer showing in Task Manager, then I found the Cortana directory in SystemApps, and added .old to the file name. Nothing seems to be broken because of it. If everything I use works over the next few days, I will delete Cortana altogether.

I have now also enabled web search, in case I have to reverse the directory name change or allow searchui.exe for anything.

EDIT:

Enabled BingSearchEnabled and then restored the directory, and everything had returned to how it should be. Not sure I want Bing enabled though (not that I use Windows search), so will stick to renaming the directory.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,076 (1.48/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name LappyTop/ Bay2- Lowerbay- RushCity1/ HP 3770/ T3500-1+T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con
Processor i5 3317U/ i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400
Motherboard ASUStek/ HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390
Cooling Air/air/ air/ Big Dell Air/ Air
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600/ 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy
Video Card(s) intel HD4000/ HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000
Storage 256GB Crucial Mx100 SSD/ ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest
Case ALU, beauty!/ HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply ASUS brick, 17W i5/ 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software WIN8.1-64bit/ Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
I cannot believe what just worked, and had me stuck for a week!!

I have been struggling with a WIN 10 install on a new build. I formatted my USB a number of times went through different load sites, including here...

No matter the load would stop at 11% and throw a 0x8007025D.

I literally spent 3 minutes online with that code number as a search.. Read through some posts and saw that 1 guy posted, "I used a USB2 instead of 3, solved."

I switched my USB stick from the front to the USB2 on back....oh well, premature celebration. It went past 11% but then dumped again. On the retry, it stopped at 11% again!!

System is an A-10 with an MSI board, memory is good, using a patriot USB, 2 drives have been converted to gpt main drive, loading OS onto is a 500gb toshibe laptop drive at 7200 rpm. second drive, data, is a WD black 1TB.

I am now at a loss, and need some help. I have never encountered this before. I am not a pro but, I have loaded numerous Windows OS's and even have 10 on this box I am writing this on. I am clueless. The patriot has been spot on for this last year. I have used it 9+ times, loading OS onto my crunching farm (different distro's and WIN 10).

I checked it for bad sectors when I started this whole ordeal. Bios is set to boot from USB first....neither drive has anything on them.

Help? Anybody?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,044 (0.60/day)
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10 Pro 1903
I cannot believe what just worked, and had me stuck for a week!!

I have been struggling with a WIN 10 install on a new build. I formatted my USB a number of times went through different load sites, including here...

No matter the load would stop at 11% and throw a 0x8007025D.

I literally spent 3 minutes online with that code number as a search.. Read through some posts and saw that 1 guy posted, "I used a USB2 instead of 3, solved."

I switched my USB stick from the front to the USB2 on back....oh well, premature celebration. It went past 11% but then dumped again. On the retry, it stopped at 11% again!!

System is an A-10 with an MSI board, memory is good, using a patriot USB, 2 drives have been converted to gpt main drive, loading OS onto is a 500gb toshibe laptop drive at 7200 rpm. second drive, data, is a WD black 1TB.

I am now at a loss, and need some help. I have never encountered this before. I am not a pro but, I have loaded numerous Windows OS's and even have 10 on this box I am writing this on. I am clueless. The patriot has been spot on for this last year. I have used it 9+ times, loading OS onto my crunching farm (different distro's and WIN 10).

I checked it for bad sectors when I started this whole ordeal. Bios is set to boot from USB first....neither drive has anything on them.

Help? Anybody?
Is the USB drive formatted FAT32?
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,076 (1.48/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name LappyTop/ Bay2- Lowerbay- RushCity1/ HP 3770/ T3500-1+T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con
Processor i5 3317U/ i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400
Motherboard ASUStek/ HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390
Cooling Air/air/ air/ Big Dell Air/ Air
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600/ 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy
Video Card(s) intel HD4000/ HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000
Storage 256GB Crucial Mx100 SSD/ ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest
Case ALU, beauty!/ HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply ASUS brick, 17W i5/ 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software WIN8.1-64bit/ Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
@jsfitz54
I think, YES. Not entirely sure. I don't know that I have ever not done it FAT32.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
2,463 (0.66/day)
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB + Samsung 970 PRO 1TB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Mouse Roccat Kone EMP
Software Windows 10 x64
I suggest these posts be forked into standalone thread.

FAT32 is only required for UEFI installation, and if the stick was formatted wrong, the installation wouldn't even start in the first place.
You should try different USB stick if I understand the error correctly.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,487 (1.95/day)
@debs3759 few posts above @biffzinker mentioned searchui.exe issue. And now MS released new cumulative update where they say that they fixed it:

Addresses an issue that causes high CPU usage from SearchUI.exe for a small number of users.
This issue only occurs on devices that have disabled searching the web using Windows Desktop Search.
CU for Windows 10 1903
Brings system to 18362.356

KB4515384 x64 (263 MB)

Pretty long installation even on nvme ssd.

Highlights
 

Ahhzz

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
5,735 (1.35/day)
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 1Tb/WD BLACK SN750 500GB NVMe
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K90
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit
Microsoft Windows 10 1903 (aka 19H1) build 18362.239 (July 2019)

x64 (3.28 GB)
x86 (2.32 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 1903 (aka 19H1) build 18362.175 (June 2019)

x64 (3.22 GB)
x86 (2.29 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 1903 (aka 19H1) build 18362.30 (April 2019)

x64 (3.12 GB)
x86 (2.24 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 1809 (aka RS5) refresh build 17763.379 (March 2019)

x64 (3.37 GB)
x86 (2.43 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 1809 (aka RS5) refresh build 17763.253 (January 2019)

x64 (3.28 GB)
x86 (2.38 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 1809 (aka RS5) refresh build 17763.107 (November 2018)

x64 (3.2 GB)
x86 (2.4 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 1809 (aka RS5) build 17763.1 (September 2018)

x64 (3.01 GB)
x86 (2.26 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 Spring Creators Update REFRESH (version 1803 aka RS4, build 17134.112) (July 2018)

x64 (3.23 GB)
x86 (2.34 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 Spring Creators Update (version 1803 aka RS4, build 17134.1) (April 2018)

x64 (2.91 GB)
x86 (2.17 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 Spring Creators Update (version 1803 aka RS4, build 17133.1) (March 2018)

x64 (2.91 GB)
x86 (2.17 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 Fall Creators Update REFRESH (version 1709 aka RS3, build 16299.125) (December 2017)

x64 (3.41 GB)
x86 (2.59 GB)

Microsoft Windows 10 Fall Creators Update (version 1709 aka RS3, build 16299.15) (October 2017)

x64 (3 GB)
x86 (2.3 GB)

MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 15063 RS2 REFRESH (Creators Update, July 2017)

x86 (2.36 GB)
x64 (3.08 GB)

MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 15063 RS2 REFRESH (Creators Update, June 2017)

x86 (3.64 GB)
x64 (4.70 GB)

MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 15063 RS2 (Creators Update, March 2017)

x86 (2.21 GB)
x64 (2.85 GB)

MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 14393 RS1 REFRESH (Anniversary Update REFRESH, January 2017)

x86 (3.1 GB)
x64 (3.9 GB)

MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 14393 RS1 (Anniversary Update, August 2 2016)

x86 (2.31 GB)
x64 (2.88 GB)

MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 10586 TH2 REFRESH (April 26, 2016)

x86
x64

MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 10586 TH2 REFRESH (February 12, 2016)

x86
x64

MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 10240 TH1 REFRESH (September 15, 2015)

x86
x64

Decrypter
Download
Drone, am I missing something? The links don't appear to be working at all....

edit: yup, was missing the new links a few posts up. Any chance we could get those edited into the original post for idiots like me? :)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,487 (1.95/day)
Drone, am I missing something? The links don't appear to be working at all....

edit: yup, was missing the new links a few posts up. Any chance we could get those edited into the original post for idiots like me? :)
You want a link to the esd build or cu? I checked OP post in edge and ie all esd download links are working (even the oldest ones)
 

Ahhzz

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
5,735 (1.35/day)
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 1Tb/WD BLACK SN750 500GB NVMe
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K90
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit
You want a link to the esd build or cu? I checked OP post in edge and ie all esd download links are working (even the oldest ones)
hmm... ok, I was using Chrome and erroring out. ignore me then, as long as the majority are able to use it :) thanks!

edit Actually, do you mind checking the June version? That's the one I wanted, so Ignored the rest, and they're working fine.
Yup, the right click and save-as worked fine for the latest :) That's what happens when I'm in a hurry and just need it to WORK heheh. thanks :)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,487 (1.95/day)
hmm... ok, I was using Chrome and erroring out. ignore me then, as long as the majority are able to use it :) thanks!
If clicking gives error try right click and save as esd, should work :)
 
Top