1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Downloading to XP Problems

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by OrbitzXT, Sep 6, 2008.

  1. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Did you try pointing it to the audio driver .inf file you downloaded before.
     
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    After installing the INF thing, the only two left are the Unknown device...which I think is the webcam I forgot about, and the PCI Device which is the sound card. Yes I tried pointing it but no luck. This is driving me crazy, I appreciate all the help from everyone though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Go to ControlPanel->System->Hardware->DeviceManager
    Select your audio device marked with '?'.
    Select Details.
    Now yo can see something like:
    AUDIO\VEN_14F1&DEV_5051&SUBSYS_103C30D9
    14F1 & 5051 strins are "Conexant cx20561" or "Conexant HD-Audio SmartAudio 221" identification. Add the string 103C30D9 in .inf file located in
    ConexantHDAudio 221_XP\XP32\WiSVHe5.inf
    in a line like:
    %HdAudioFunctionDriver.Hermosa5051.DeviceDesc% = HdAudModel,HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_14F1&DEV_5051&SUBSY S_103C30D9
    Save and install the driver.

    From here
     
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I tried that editing method, when I point it to that INF file it like the others says The specified location does not contain information about your hardware.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_284B&SUBSYS_30CD103C&REV_03\3&B1BFB68&0&D8

    is what mine says. So do I add a line under the 2 that already existed or did I have to edit one of the two in the INF already?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Not sure what else to try mate.
     
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I found this, it seems like it has something to do with my situation.

    http://juice.altiris.com/tip/4809/identifying-devices-device-manager-with-pcidatabase

    The article has the same vendor and DEV number, and it says toward the end of the article...

    Do I need something from Intel?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    This is so frustrating, and I don't have Vista to put back on the laptop. I'll get some sleep I guess and try again in the morning. I see plenty of posts from people saying they got it to work so I'm sure there is a way. Thank again for your help.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    Well I feel incredibly stupid. I remember downgrading along time ago for a friend I went from Vista to SP3...and I couldn't get the sound to work there either because SP3 did not support UAA. There was a hacked UAA kb###### that someone made that allowed it to work, and all you needed to do was run that, UAA would install...then you install the audio drivers. I "installed" a couple things today that said they were UAA, from the HP website...but clearly they weren't. I've only had about 3 and a half hours of sleep in the last 70 hours and not functioning at my best today, but I finally figured it out again that it was my using XP SP3 causing this problem. The sound is now working and I thank everyone for the extremely quick responses with my problems earlier today.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. CraZyboy13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The drivers you need for your sound card are here! http://rapidshare.com/files/138162442/ConexantHDAudio-221_XP.zip
    I had the same issue when downgrading from Vista to XP. I don't understand why HP is making it so difficult to put a second os on their laptops. And its not like they don't have the drivers because some of the hardware is the same as older models which is where I got some of the drivers.
    I just HATE how they are CRAMMING VISTA down everyones throats.
     
  13. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,527 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,547
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  14. CraZyboy13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)