1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dream Folding Machine

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by Jizzler, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    After seeing the PPD that some of you are getting with nVidia's latest generation, would it be safe to say that a 100K PPD machine is possible? Could max out on clients with eight GTX 295's!

    My question is, would having a high-end card in an x4 or x1 slot degrade performance noticeably?
     
  2. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,877 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,025
    Location:
    Houston
    yes putting them in an X4 or X1 slot kills them it has since the 8 series
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Yes it would. See fitseries machine thread. A 16X to 8X made 3dm vantage went down 1000 points. If it went to x1 then probably will bottleneck up to 5000points.
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman Se├▒or Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Does folding also need all that bandwidth then? 3Dmark says nothing about folding.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    No but i'm just trying to point out that putting it in a 4x/1x will degrade performance a lot.
     
  6. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,877 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,025
    Location:
    Houston
    yes it does its rendering on the cards it uses the entire bandwidth
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I was hoping that with the number of boards out there with an x16/x4 or x16/x1 configuration, someone here had experienced a drop in points, and if so, how much?

    My thought was that the behavior of the Folding client was different than that of a game and might not require a full x16 slot to keep pace.

    Thanks for the replies so far.
     
  8. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,967 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,637
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    x8 slots have no affect on folding. X4 might, but I have no experience with that application.
     
  9. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Guys unless you know for a fact you should not post. You can run any card 4X for Folding without any hit in performance.

    However for benching and gaming that is not the case.

    I know this for a fact.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,248 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,196
    Ok, you can max out on cores with 8 295's, but where are you going to find a board with 8 PCI-E slots, regardless of speed? Maybe a server board, I guess, do any exist?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. lilkiduno

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    my dream folding rig as of now would include eVGA x58 core i7 965 3x GTX 285's 3gb DDR3 1066 o.c. to 2GHz
     
  12. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    296
    He is gonna wish really hard for it :D
     
  13. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I'm mainly asking out of curiosity, though it would be possible today.
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,762 (9.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    F@H doesn't move large chunks of data (like 3D apps move texture and mesh data). We're back to that old argument where PCI "bottlenecks" an Ageia PhysX card.
     
  15. The Haunted

    The Haunted

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    316 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canuckistan
    There is one thing people seem to forget, pcie 2.0 is double the bandwidth of pcie 1.
    So with a chipset that allow only 8x/8x for crossfire its still 16x...
     
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  17. lilkiduno

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    hey fits whats with the extra mounting hardware? dosn't the dark night come with aretention bracket and bolts?
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    DK doesnt come with 1366 mounts.
     
  19. lilkiduno

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    oh ok i see, goodthing i said somehing and you corrected me i would have been enraged if i were to order this before hand! i plan on this the 3gb DDR3 1066MHz the eVGA x58 and a 920 in late march
     
  20. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,941 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,203
    Location:
    Watauga, Texas
    Like Cyber said, F@H only uses the GPU to crunch numbers. PCI-E bandwidth plays no part in this. So you could have PCI 8*** cards crunching and it wouldnt matter. Just more ppd for you.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    HOLY CRAP!

    you better believe im getting one of these!

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    WITCHCRAFT!! :eek:
     
  23. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,663 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    215
    Location:
    Ohio
    HOLY SHHHHHHHHHHHEEEEEEEEEE!
     
  24. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    One of those with seven water cooled GTX 285s would be absolutely astounding for PPD/hardware density!
     
  25. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,573 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    also 4 watercooled GTX295's would give 8 folding GPU's on that board..... nice.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)