• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Drive firmware upgrade?

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#1
i've read alot about how updating a hdd's firmware will speed it up a bit.

i just got 2 maxtor atlas 15kII 36gb sas drives and im interested in seeing what can be done to get them even faster.

where do i look for the firmware? how to i update it?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,311 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,718
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
well i update my dvd drives firmware once in awhile i should look into the hdd's but you might have a hard time looking. for example i cant find the info on my drives i need to use the firmware update utility they came with. when in doubt contact a rep though they might have an ftp link for you....or you could try looking yourself...if you have an idea of were their DL directory is you can try and manually FTP:// it i do that when i need to explore the drectories of nvidia for something spacific that i cant find a link to...who knows you might find some other treasures as well i do sometimes.
 

REVHEAD

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
300 (0.07/day)
Likes
28
Location
Sydney/ Australia
Processor Intel i7 920 d0 stepping @ 200x19 qpi
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Cooling Noctua
Memory Patriot 1333 MHZ ram 6gb Triple Channel @ 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) ATI 5870 x2 in Crossfire
Storage 4X WD 80gb Veloci Raptors in Raid 0 & Seagate 500gb 7200.11 x 2 in raid 0
Display(s) Dell 3007 WFP
Case Lian Li A-10b
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply CoolerMaster realpower pro 1000w
Software Windows 7 X64 ultimate RC
#5
Why would you need to update them, obiously there isnt any updates if you cant find any, they only release firmware if its absoloutly needed for a major flaw or problem, your drives dont have a problem do they?

Are you dissapointed in there performance or something?

On another note, when you get time slam up some HD tach results for us to have a squiz at..
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#6
Be careful about updating HDD firmware. IIRC the firmware has all kinds of settings in it that are unique to the ONE drive or the BATCH of drives that optimises how the heads move, end of drive, seek method, exactly what "head" instructions are used etc.

If you COULD and DID change the firmware on an older HDD with the firmware of a newer HDD (even of the same model) there could be problems.
 

REVHEAD

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
300 (0.07/day)
Likes
28
Location
Sydney/ Australia
Processor Intel i7 920 d0 stepping @ 200x19 qpi
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Cooling Noctua
Memory Patriot 1333 MHZ ram 6gb Triple Channel @ 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) ATI 5870 x2 in Crossfire
Storage 4X WD 80gb Veloci Raptors in Raid 0 & Seagate 500gb 7200.11 x 2 in raid 0
Display(s) Dell 3007 WFP
Case Lian Li A-10b
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply CoolerMaster realpower pro 1000w
Software Windows 7 X64 ultimate RC
#7
Still waiting on those HD Tach results Fisty.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
732 (0.16/day)
Likes
87
Location
NY
System Name Ummmm...Mine
Processor I7 920 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.29v's load
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Custom 1/2 inch H20
Memory 3x2gb Patriot Sector 7 @2008Mhz 27-9-11-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 580 SC 900/1800/1090
Storage 1-Mushkin 60gb SSD 1-500GB WD Black and 2-1TB 32mb WD Black
Display(s) 25 inch Hanns-G 2ms
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Catalina
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Pro Series-Modular
Software All Kinds...and then some.
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 P7066 Compare Link- http://3dmark.com/3dm11/251153
#8
i've read alot about how updating a hdd's firmware will speed it up a bit.

i just got 2 maxtor atlas 15kII 36gb sas drives and im interested in seeing what can be done to get them even faster.

where do i look for the firmware? how to i update it?
Found this Dell page with a link to Firmware "R164704" for your drive.

Dell Maxtor Firmware

You'll see that It's called the Maxtor Blackbird.....which Is another name for your Atlas...which you will see a note on the center of the page.

Hope it helps. :)
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#10
Yea, i agree with what some said above. be extra creaful with this stuff, its not the same as flashing your board, lol

Though i'm interested to see what kind of performance are you getting right now. Is it in line with the reviews posted for these drives?

One thing you can do to increase performance is to get a dedicated RAID controller card. The fake software RAID is obviously not as fast. I would at least consider this option, even if you do manage to find some firmware upgrade.
 

REVHEAD

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
300 (0.07/day)
Likes
28
Location
Sydney/ Australia
Processor Intel i7 920 d0 stepping @ 200x19 qpi
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Cooling Noctua
Memory Patriot 1333 MHZ ram 6gb Triple Channel @ 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) ATI 5870 x2 in Crossfire
Storage 4X WD 80gb Veloci Raptors in Raid 0 & Seagate 500gb 7200.11 x 2 in raid 0
Display(s) Dell 3007 WFP
Case Lian Li A-10b
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply CoolerMaster realpower pro 1000w
Software Windows 7 X64 ultimate RC
#11

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#12
single drive

15000rpm sas



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


raid 0 vrap 300gb's




---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


raid 0 sas drives




____________________________


2x wd 10k rpm 300gb vraps = $380

2x Maxtor 15k rpm 36gb atlas' = $100

overall...

SAS takes the win.

:toast:
 

crtecha

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,407 (0.73/day)
Likes
204
Location
ipsay meechigan
System Name Coolin Runnings
Processor AMD X4 Phenom 9950 B.E. @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790x-DS4 BIOS Ver. F6
Cooling CM Vortex 752
Memory apacer PC6400 800mhz x 2
Video Card(s) Two ATI Radeon 4850's in xfire
Storage Seagate 7200.9 320gig+250gigx2
Display(s) Acer P191w 19' wide
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Power trio 550watts
Software Windows 7 x64 Build 7100
#13

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#14
omg, man look at those access times for the SAS drives, very cool, thnx for posting.


one thing i see as a problem is a low burst rate on your veloci in RAID 0, you should've enabled volume write back cache and then you would've got a burst rate comparable to or better than the SAS drives. I'm getting almost 3,000 MB/s with my 74GB veloci in RAID 0 which is a little more than you are getting with your SAS drives. If you have that option on the Marvell controller turn it on and see what happens. Otherwise it looks great to me.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#15
i dont have the vraps any more so yeah.

the only problem i have now is i dont have a sata drive for non sas boards.

i need a perc 5/i asap
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#16
i dont have the vraps any more so yeah.

the only problem i have now is i dont have a sata drive for non sas boards.

i need a perc 5/i asap
oh, well, i thought i'd point that out. Dell Perc 5/i is great, start hunting on ebay, they can be had for around $200 or less if you are lucky.