• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DRM, the discussion continues...

Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,380 (2.72/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III) OC'd to 2100Mhz/1800Mhz
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 50" Panasonic Plasma model TC-P50S2, based on a 2010 Panasonic NeoPDP panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20 Soundbar/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Gentoo Linux 64-bit
In my opinion if CDproject Red was based in the West there would already have been lawsuits to shut GOG down.
What possibly would make you think that? They literally partner with the game publishers, there is nothing fishy about it.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
968 (2.84/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3733 CL 16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
On top of that CDP was originally a distributor of many games in the 90/00s in Poland. They were also responsible for localizing majority of the major releases they carried of their inventory so technically they had signed contracts that allowed them to modify and distribute the software.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,947 (2.00/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
What possibly would make you think that? They literally partner with the game publishers, there is nothing fishy about it.
It is not being about fishy but the corporate climate that exists in the West. I could see EA trying to sue them for being DRM free as Origin is the most DRM heavy platform there is. Even if you change your GPU you have to re do your Origin credentials.
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
402 (0.41/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 NITRO+ 4GB
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
I prefer my entertainment without DRM, but I don't go out of my way to avoid it. So far I haven't really had any major issues related to it, thankfully. I wish I could say it's an unnecessary hassle but I'm not sure that's true.

and Pirate Bay was closed.
Still open.
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,946 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Still open
Most ISPs block it i know mine does, which is funny because it’s terrible and the last place I would go anyway.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,694 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
It is not being about fishy but the corporate climate that exists in the West. I could see EA trying to sue them for being DRM free as Origin is the most DRM heavy platform there is. Even if you change your GPU you have to re do your Origin credentials.
Lol, GOG literally negotiates deals with all the major publishers as well as independants. EA and Ubi both have quite a few games that they have agreed to let GOG sell DRM free.

GOG doesnt just do this on its own, removing DRM. In fact many studios and publishers see the advantage in more and long term sales as we see new and recent games being sold there at an ever increasing pace, many on release day. This isn’t possible without cooperation and agreement to make drm-free versions of games.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,947 (2.00/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
Lol, GOG literally negotiates deals with all the major publishers as well as independants. EA and Ubi both have quite a few games that they have agreed to let GOG sell DRM free.

GOG doesnt just do this on its own, removing DRM. In fact many studios and oublishers see the advantage in more and long term sales as we see new and recent games being sold there at an ever increasing pace, many on release day. This isn’t possible without cooperation and agreement to make drm-free versions of games.
I was talking about a scenario where no DRM ever existed. In that scenario there would be no need for negotiations to the level you are referencing (which I agree fully with you) and even though GOG is getting bigger now Steam is still the largest gaming platform on the internet by some measure. To me DRM is the mitigating part in Steam's success. In fact when it launched most games were still boxed. I will never forget how pissed I was when I picked up my copy of Total War Shogun 2 from Future Shop (gone the way of the dodo) and had to register it on some "stupid platform" called Steam. When GOG first started outside of the WItcher most games were from the late 90s or early 2000s and I am sure studios saw it as a way of making money on games that were no longer on anyone's radar (in their opinion), so who cares if they are DRM free. I actually wish they would go a little farther back too I would love to play Silpheed (not the console port) or Zeliard with updated Graphics and textures.
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
402 (0.41/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 NITRO+ 4GB
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
I'm not sure if this is DRM, but Steam's version of NFS Shift 2 won't run because it calls some server at startup that no longer exists. It was pretty frustrating when I was trying to play it. If you're a dev/publisher and you let this happen, screw you. I think the Origin version is patched though.

Most ISPs block it i know mine does, which is funny because it’s terrible and the last place I would go anyway.
Same here, but it's a DNS block, so eh.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,947 (2.00/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
I'm not sure if this is DRM, but Steam's version of NFS Shift 2 won't run because it calls some server at startup that no longer exists. It was pretty frustrating when I was trying to play it. If you're a dev/publisher and you let this happen, screw you. I think the Origin version is patched though.


Same here, but it's a DNS block, so eh.
There are a few EA games that no longer work on Steam because the servers have been shut down. I do have a boxed copy sitting around that I could send you if you really want to play that game (which is pretty damn good).
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
402 (0.41/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 NITRO+ 4GB
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
There are a few EA games that no longer work on Steam because the servers have been shut down. I do have a boxed copy sitting around that I could send you if you really want to play that game (which is pretty damn good).
Thanks mate, but it isn't worth it. I got it as part of NFS bundle a good while back, so it wasn't a major blow. I was just a little curious because I did enjoy the first one. I think I read (or imagined it?) that if you complain to EA they'll give you a copy on Origin, but I never bothered to.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,694 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
I was talking about a scenario where no DRM ever existed. In that scenario there would be no need for negotiations to the level you are referencing (which I agree fully with you) and even though GOG is getting bigger now Steam is still the largest gaming platform on the internet by some measure. To me DRM is the mitigating part in Steam's success. In fact when it launched most games were still boxed. I will never forget how pissed I was when I picked up my copy of Total War Shogun 2 from Future Shop (gone the way of the dodo) and had to register it on some "stupid platform" called Steam. When GOG first started outside of the WItcher most games were from the late 90s or early 2000s and I am sure studios saw it as a way of making money on games that were no longer on anyone's radar (in their opinion), so who cares if they are DRM free. I actually wish they would go a little farther back too I would love to play Silpheed (not the console port) or Zeliard with updated Graphics and textures.
I must have misunderstood you. You made it sound as if GOG would be sued if they were in the West, because companies like EA value their hardcore DRM and wouldn’t stand for it. In fact though, they make deals with GOG to allow the sale of some of their games without DRM.

No harm done!
 
Last edited:

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,946 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Can't block TOR anymore because of the way it works. Have fun..
I have my private site for my needs. I just find it funny they block TPB which is literally the worst and most useless source there is while decent sites aren’t on the radar. I guess being the ”most famous“ means you’re made an example of.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
437 (0.09/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
I ran into problems loading a game recently; Crysis Warhead.

There was a patch released years ago that alleviated the problem, but I was lucky it still existed.
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,946 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
I ran into problems loading a game recently; Crysis Warhead.

There was a patch released years ago that alleviated the problem, but I was lucky it still existed.
I also recall the last tIme I tried playing it I was having issues but I have it on Steam I’ll have to look for that patch next time I have the urge to play it and hope Steam is okay with it.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
437 (0.09/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
IT looks for an authentication server that doesn't exist; I didn't have the Steam version.

Surely someone looked at it, and actually loaded the game at Steam... Oh wait...

:)
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,947 (2.00/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
I also recall the last tIme I tried playing it I was having issues but I have it on Steam I’ll have to look for that patch next time I have the urge to play it and hope Steam is okay with it.
For some reason none of the Crysis games will run from Steam for me. Should I set the settings to Windows 7 or something? I have all of the Crysis games on Steam except 3 which runs fine on Origin.
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,946 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
For some reason none of the Crysis games will run from Steam for me. Should I set the settings to Windows 7 or something? I have all of the Crysis games on Steam except 3 which runs fine on Origin.
Yeah I know Origin “moved” a few of there own games from Steam over to Origin I should check if this was one of them, Nope it was Mass Effect 2 now that I think about it. I have them all but 3 on Steam as well and have Crysis Steel Box edition on my shelf. I'm installing Warhead now and will see what happens.
Yeah this is a prime example of the issues of DRM...
Crysis.jpg


Sometimes having fast internet is awesome.. So I installed Crysis, Crysis 2 and Crysis Warhead. Warhead was the fail picture I posted Crysis runs fine as does Crysis 2 but the initial Log In fails but can be skipped and doesn't affect anything
Actually Fallout 3 is another offender I had to buy it a 2nd time because it was asking me for a CD key Steam never gave me and of course you have to get around Windows Live as well
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,821 (5.52/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
It is not being about fishy but the corporate climate that exists in the West. I could see EA trying to sue them for being DRM free as Origin is the most DRM heavy platform there is. Even if you change your GPU you have to re do your Origin credentials.
I don't quite follow this... CDPR is within an EU country and deals with similar corporate climate. Did you really think that climate is unique to the West of Europe and the US? And legally, there isn't even a single difference between Poland and any other EU country in this sense.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
26 (0.06/day)
Location
Finland
System Name No name, yet..
Processor AMD 1800X at stock settings.
Motherboard AsRock X370 itx/ac, /diy vrm heatsink.
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 240LT.
Memory 2 x 8gb G.Skill Flare 3200/CL14.
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 oc rev2.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB m.2, Crucial MX500 2TB sata.
Display(s) HP ZR24W.
Case DIY ITX.
Power Supply Be Quiet 500W sfx-l
Software Win10 home, Ubuntu linux.
I can see that this thread is mostly gaming related, but i'm so happy that they don't make audio cds with drm anymore. Bought a few cds for my son about 15 years ago. Tried to play them with my pc. One of them had really bad quality mp3s (or similar) and messed up my windows, one just broke my drivers. Both times I had to clean install Windows. Rootkits or something. After those incidents I have been very careful what to put in my pc's cd-player.

Just my 2 cents. Now continue your original debate. :)
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
437 (0.09/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
That's the same message I had.

Crysis_Warhead_-_Patch_1.1_setup.zip is the file you need; It won't let me attach it, it's too big.


...
Yeah this is a prime example of the issues of DRM...
View attachment 138561
...
Warhead was the fail picture I posted Crysis runs fine as does Crysis 2 but the initial Log In fails but can be skipped and doesn't affect anything
...
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,946 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
That's the same message I had.

Crysis_Warhead_-_Patch_1.1_setup.zip is the file you need; It won't let me attach it, it's too big.
Yeah I Instal all 3 and Warhead was the only one that wouldn’t work
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,241 (1.61/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 EVO m.2, 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
I remember back in the day when you still needed the discs to play a game, I would go get a fixed exe and backup the original exe file and put the patched one in place so I could play without the cd/dvd.

Those were the days.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
437 (0.09/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
Yeah I Instal all 3 and Warhead was the only one that wouldn’t work
Here's where I got the file I used; if it bricks your computer, I'm sorry. :)

ESET AV says it's ok, and it's the file I used that worked fine.

It's a fun game; more like a $10 add in, tho.


I remember back in the day when you still needed the discs to play a game, I would go get a fixed exe and backup the original exe file and put the patched one in place so I could play without the cd/dvd.

Those were the days.
I remember getting broadband, while having a LAN gaming weekend at my house.

About 8 of us were playing Q3, and I had everything ready, waiting on Comcast; It got enabled, Router came up, and when it hit the internet, it shut us all down, because we were all playng the same copy of Q3, lol.

So, we switched back to Q2, lol.
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,946 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Here's where I got the file I used; if it bricks your computer, I'm sorry. :)

ESET AV says it's ok, and it's the file I used that worked fine.

It's a fun game; more like a $10 add in, tho.




I remember getting broadband, while having a LAN gaming weekend at my house.

About 8 of us were playing Q3, and I had everything ready, waiting on Comcast; It got enabled, Router came up, and when it hit the internet, it shut us all down, because we were all playng the same copy of Q3, lol.

So, we switched back to Q2, lol.
I’ll be honest it’s my least favourite but I will tuck this away for when I get the urge to play it again. Thinking about it now I don’t remember the plot and why I didn’t like it, so I may end up playing just because I’m thinking about it now.
Edit: Thanks for trying but it seems no mattter where I try to run it from it just errors out and finishes
 
Last edited:
Top