• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DSR?

Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
246 (0.16/day)
Location
Groton, CT
System Name Da PC Brah
Processor AMD Athlon X4 880k (OC'ed to 4.5 GHz)
Motherboard ASRock FM2A88X Extreme 6+
Cooling CRYORIG C7
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury Black DDR3-1866 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 470 4GB
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB (OS and 3 games) Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB (Mass Storage)
Display(s) Changhong 32" 1080p
Case Thermaltake RX-1 Overseer
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G2 550W 80+ Gold
Can someone help me with my understanding of DSR I read the article on NVidias website but it still doesn't make much sense to me. Does your monitor need to support it or is it gonna work regardless? Because that might be a deciding factor on what I end up getting for a screen (or scrapping what I already currently have). Hm, it definitely is a conundrum for me.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,181 (0.22/day)
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
Its like how super sampling AA used to work. You need lots of GPU power for a little increased IQ.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.35/day)
It's useless feature if you have a 120 or 144Hz monitor. It forces 99% of games to run at 60Hz even though you're physically capable of running them at a 144Hz refresh. Which makes gaming experience rubbish and the ownership of a speedy 144Hz screen pointless. Used it few times and while it creates pleasant image quality, especially for games where you can't enable edge smoothing in any other way (Wolfenstein New order for example), but the thing with refresh just ruins it entirely. I can't force myself to play games at 60Hz because it literally makes my eyes bleed.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,159 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ H110i (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Eleventy
It gives you a 'pretend' resolution higher than your monitor really supports.

Most of the time it lightly increases quality for games, but badly hurts small text quality. Only really handy for benchmarking imo.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.35/day)
I don't understand why supersampling is not a thing in these days. It works in ANY game regardless of rendering technique used, doesn't make text and GUI tiny and we have enough horsepower to use it. If anything at least for older games. And yet we are stuck with only FXAA which still doesn't work everywhere (OpenGL anyone?) and MSAA which hardly works anywhere these days.

I wonder if AMD's VSR has same problems with refresh rate as NVIDIA's DSR when you have 144Hz monitor...
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.38/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Can someone help me with my understanding of DSR I read the article on NVidias website but it still doesn't make much sense to me. Does your monitor need to support it or is it gonna work regardless? Because that might be a deciding factor on what I end up getting for a screen (or scrapping what I already currently have). Hm, it definitely is a conundrum for me.
It's useless feature if you have a 120 or 144Hz monitor. It forces 99% of games to run at 60Hz even though you're physically capable of running them at a 144Hz refresh. Which makes gaming experience rubbish and the ownership of a speedy 144Hz screen pointless. Used it few times and while it creates pleasant image quality, especially for games where you can't enable edge smoothing in any other way (Wolfenstein New order for example), but the thing with refresh just ruins it entirely. I can't force myself to play games at 60Hz because it literally makes my eyes bleed.
People, I think it's pretty useful as a test function. On a 1080p display, the graphics card internally is running at 4K, but has to downsample the image to 1080p. This gives you what looks like a 4K desktop, but with none of the clarity. It can also function as a sort of smoothing for games, but I thought that regular AA looked better as well as performed better.

No, it's main benefit is for checking how well your graphics card does at 4K for any particular game, as performance drops considerably with 4 times the number of pixels to render. This can help you to decide on whether you want to get a better card or not, along with a 4K display without actually having to buy that expensive monitor first.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,125 (1.41/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
regular AA looked better as well as performed better.
Not always. Like GTA5 for example, the distant shadows and shimmering is way less using DSR. Also some moving objects like windmill, the heck the metal structures, mesh looks normal like in MGSV using DSR. Also playing old UT based games, like Mass Effect that doesn't have AA as such.

Never had a FPS limit using DSR. Something strange.

Adjust sharpness in settings, I prefer using less around 15.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.38/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Not always. Like GTA5 for example, the distant shadows and shimmering is way less using DSR. Also some moving objects like windmill, the heck the metal structures, mesh looks normal like in MGSV using DSR. Also playing old UT based games, like Mass Effect that doesn't have AA as such.

Never had a FPS limit using DSR. Something strange.

Adjust sharpness in settings, I prefer using less around 15.
I'm sure one or the other could look better depending on the game and quality settings. I just did a little casual check on a handful of games and noticed that AA looked better, that's all.

I'm not sure what you mean by an FPS limit? I'm just saying the performance dropped because the card had 4 times as many pixels to push around.

I found that the default 33% sharpness setting looked best to me when showing the desktop.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,190 (0.56/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
Does your monitor need to support it or is it gonna work regardless?
No. DSR is hardware-agnostic when it comes to monitors.

When you enable DSR for a particular game the NVIDIA driver essentially "tricks" the game into believing that your monitor supports higher resolutions (the DSR resolutions you allow). When you run the game, you have to go into its options and select one of these DSR resolutions for DSR to actually have any effect.

Concrete example: You have a 1920x1080 monitor, enable DSR resolution of 3840x2160 (4k) for one of your games, and set that game to use that resolution. When you launch that game, the graphics card will render the frames at 3840x2160, then shrink them back down to 1920x1080 when it sends them to the monitor. This is similar to, but NOT the same as, how supersampled anti-aliasing (SSAA) works. For more info I'd recommend reading this article: http://techreport.com/review/27102/maxwell-dynamic-super-resolution-explored

Basically, DSR may or may not be faster than SSAA, and may or may not look better. However, the fact that the NVIDIA control panel allows you to specify the smoothness of DSR gives you more control over how the final image looks than you would have with SSAA. Personally I've found that running UT3 at 3840x2160 on my 2560x1440 monitor performs and looks better than any antialiasing options I've tried.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,125 (1.41/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
I'm sure one or the other could look better depending on the game and quality settings. I just did a little casual check on a handful of games and noticed that AA looked better, that's all.
FPS limit was referred to Rejzors issue.

I am at work, I have screenshots of Witcher and MGSV at home, I did a test looking if it is really better. The mesh structures in MGSV gained most fidelity.

If the thread won't die might post some game pr0n.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,125 (1.41/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,751 (3.44/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 1600 \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB+ 2xCorsair Force 120GB
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( VE2000BWS ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Its like how super sampling AA used to work. You need lots of GPU power for a little increased IQ.
All so higher electrical usage too, compared to using AA.

EDIT: And can give a good idea if you could run a higher resolution monitor with your games too.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,728 (4.74/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
It gives you a 'pretend' resolution higher than your monitor really supports.

Most of the time it lightly increases quality for games, but badly hurts small text quality. Only really handy for benchmarking imo.
Why would this help in benchmarking? The point is to get the most FPS, not make it look pretty. ;)
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,543 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Why would this help in benchmarking? The point is to get the most FPS, not make it look pretty. ;)
Bench higher resolutions.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.38/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
No. DSR is hardware-agnostic when it comes to monitors.

When you enable DSR for a particular game the NVIDIA driver essentially "tricks" the game into believing that your monitor supports higher resolutions (the DSR resolutions you allow). When you run the game, you have to go into its options and select one of these DSR resolutions for DSR to actually have any effect.

Concrete example: You have a 1920x1080 monitor, enable DSR resolution of 3840x2160 (4k) for one of your games, and set that game to use that resolution. When you launch that game, the graphics card will render the frames at 3840x2160, then shrink them back down to 1920x1080 when it sends them to the monitor. This is similar to, but NOT the same as, how supersampled anti-aliasing (SSAA) works. For more info I'd recommend reading this article: http://techreport.com/review/27102/maxwell-dynamic-super-resolution-explored

Basically, DSR may or may not be faster than SSAA, and may or may not look better. However, the fact that the NVIDIA control panel allows you to specify the smoothness of DSR gives you more control over how the final image looks than you would have with SSAA. Personally I've found that running UT3 at 3840x2160 on my 2560x1440 monitor performs and looks better than any antialiasing options I've tried.
What a great answer. :) Why don't you try 4x DSR on your 2560x1440 monitor and let us know how it looks and performs? That's a 5120 x 2880 frame buffer. Unfortunately I've only got a 1080p monitor so can't do this.

I'd love to try out DSR on a 4K monitor. I don't know if current gen cards can even support this - 7680 x 4320. Just imagine how tiny all the desktop icons would look!
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,247 (3.15/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
AMD's version aka "VSR" is FAR better IMO, the only thing i changed was the video card from a 7870Ghz, or 7970Ghz, to a GTX 970, and I tried Both brands version, and the AMD version was WAYYYY better.thats my experience, i cant say weather or not it is the better interface of the AMD settings, or the performance, or implementation, but the end result was better with AMD for me.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,159 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ H110i (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Eleventy
Why would this help in benchmarking? The point is to get the most FPS, not make it look pretty. ;)
to benchmark at higher res than your monitor can do. Like many have already said, testing for 2K/4K from a 1080p screen.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
246 (0.16/day)
Location
Groton, CT
System Name Da PC Brah
Processor AMD Athlon X4 880k (OC'ed to 4.5 GHz)
Motherboard ASRock FM2A88X Extreme 6+
Cooling CRYORIG C7
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury Black DDR3-1866 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 470 4GB
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB (OS and 3 games) Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB (Mass Storage)
Display(s) Changhong 32" 1080p
Case Thermaltake RX-1 Overseer
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G2 550W 80+ Gold
Thanks bruhs!
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
2,058 (1.30/day)
System Name AM4 / 775
Processor 2600x / C2D E7600
Motherboard B450 Aorus / ASUS P5G41C-M LX
Cooling TT Esports Duo / Chinesium cooler
Memory 16GB DDR4 3ghz / 4GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2060 Super / 5700-XT / GTX 650Ti
Storage 120GB + 1TB SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung CRG5 144hz QD
Case CiT shit chassis modded / Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster FX / Audigy 2 ZX
Power Supply Superflower Leadex III GOLD / BeQuiet 450w bronze.
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Read Dragon Kumara
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 1 Billion
DSR makes games look like utter crap most of the time in my experience.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.38/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
AMD's version aka "VSR" is FAR better IMO, the only thing i changed was the video card from a 7870Ghz, or 7970Ghz, to a GTX 970, and I tried Both brands version, and the AMD version was WAYYYY better.thats my experience, i cant say weather or not it is the better interface of the AMD settings, or the performance, or implementation, but the end result was better with AMD for me.
That's interesting and I'd like to compare for myself and play around with it, but unfortunately, I only have very old 2000 series AMD cards which don't support it. Is it just clearer, perhaps? If so, that'll be a better downsampling algorithm.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,125 (1.41/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
The best one is gedosato still... everyone can try it on dx9 titles.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.35/day)
AMD's version aka "VSR" is FAR better IMO, the only thing i changed was the video card from a 7870Ghz, or 7970Ghz, to a GTX 970, and I tried Both brands version, and the AMD version was WAYYYY better.thats my experience, i cant say weather or not it is the better interface of the AMD settings, or the performance, or implementation, but the end result was better with AMD for me.
Do you have any info regarding refresh rate with VSR ? Does it always support actual max native screen refresh (aka 120 or 144Hz) regardless of the processing resolution or is it limited to the resolution's refresh it's processing the image at? In case of 4K, that would be only 60Hz.

The stupid thing with DSR is that if I force desktop to 4K with 144Hz, games will also run at that no problem. But if I let DSR kick in via game, it sticks to stupid 60Hz. Talked about it on NVIDIA forums ages ago, received zero replies and nothing changed. Lame as hell. I'm not in the mood of forcing desktop resolution to 4K 144Hz every time I want to play a game.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,125 (1.41/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Why are you all trying to change desktop resolution?

I only up the resolution ingame.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,247 (3.15/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
That's interesting and I'd like to compare for myself and play around with it, but unfortunately, I only have very old 2000 series AMD cards which don't support it. Is it just clearer, perhaps? If so, that'll be a better downsampling algorithm.
the interface was better on AMD's side IMO, and the image was as well.
again, i cant say why one would be better,

@RejZoR

sorry, my monitor is a shitty old 1200p @ 60Hz :(

but i have heard of the refrsh issues before, its too bad.
 
Top