• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

DTS, Dolby Digital 7.1?

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#1
I bought a new Onkyo 7.1 Home Theater system yesterday and set it up with my computer. I used an optical cable from the sound card, HT Omega Strike 7.1, to the Onkyo receiver. In Windows 7, when I open the Xear 3D options, the only way I get sound out of the back two speakers is if I have S/PDIF Output set to 'PCM'. If I change it to Dolby Digital Live or DTS I only get sound out of 5 of the 7 speakers. I'm far from a sound expert, so I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, or if it's just not possible to do what I want.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#2
The home theatre system has its own built in Dolby decoder. With SPDIF connection you are sending the sound info digitally and the Receiver will convert it to analog. Does your sound card support 7.1 or just 5.1? Sending it via PCM should be fine.
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#3
It says it supports 7.1, also, when I choose DTS in Windows it lights up on the receiver. When I choose PCM it doesn't do that. It also sounds better with Dolby or DTS compared to PCM, but as I said the rear two speakers don't output any sound when I choose Dolby or DTS.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
I bought a new Onkyo 7.1 Home Theater system yesterday and set it up with my computer. I used an optical cable from the sound card, HT Omega Strike 7.1, to the Onkyo receiver. In Windows 7, when I open the Xear 3D options, the only way I get sound out of the back two speakers is if I have S/PDIF Output set to 'PCM'. If I change it to Dolby Digital Live or DTS I only get sound out of 5 of the 7 speakers. I'm far from a sound expert, so I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, or if it's just not possible to do what I want.
DD live and DTS encoding are only 5.1

i dont think there is any encoding options for 7.1, unless you're watching a blu ray source with 7.1 audio and use SPDIF passthrough, it just aint happening.

the 7.1 features of that card are more related to its analogue capabilities, than its encoding ones (and passthrough is passthrough - card doesnt matter there)
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#5
I see, that's interesting to know. Does a sound card exist that does DTS or Dolby in 7.1 or is what I have now as good as its going to get?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
Yeah, actually, there are very many that output 7.1, but most will do this as LPCM only.

Of course, you could get soemthing like the Xonar HDAV, that output 7.1 analogue, with swapable opamps(probably the best PC/gaming card I have ever used), as well as HDMI...

SO like, that's kinda the kicker, you see. HDCP requires that higher-end audio is broadcast over HDMI. You can get DTS 6.1, but very few things are actually recorded in 7.1(and hence a huge lack of 7.1 speakers for pcs, even though almost every card will do 7.1 over analogue).


Most often, 7.1 is enabled on 5.1 souces by the amp itself. And you are really not missing much without 7.1.

But man, get some bluray audio going....the orginal IronMan movie is a good example of how different HDaudio is.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#7
But man, get some bluray audio going....the orginal IronMan movie is a good example of how different HDaudio is.
+1 to that. Transformers 1 is another prime (haha get it, PRIME lolerz) example of awesome blu-ray audio.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
I didn't find such a big difference in transformers as I did with IronMan, going from standard DTS/DD to HDAudio.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#9
In Windows 7, when I open the Xear 3D options, the only way I get sound out of the back two speakers is if I have S/PDIF Output set to 'PCM'. If I change it to Dolby Digital Live or DTS I only get sound out of 5 of the 7 speakers. I'm far from a sound expert, so I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, or if it's just not possible to do what I want.

DTS and Dolby Digital only support upto 5.1, because for a long time 5.1 its been the standard for surround sound and hence why 2 of the speakers do not work.

The new HD standards such as DTS Masters and Dolby Digital True HD are 7.1 but in some cases 5.1 is still the prevalent standard for HD via Dolby Digital Plus.

The bottom line is nothing is broken everything is as it should be :)


It says it supports 7.1, also, when I choose DTS in Windows it lights up on the receiver. When I choose PCM it doesn't do that. It also sounds better with Dolby or DTS compared to PCM, but as I said the rear two speakers don't output any sound when I choose Dolby or DTS.
If you really want 7.1, select PCM in the soundcard's drivers and then select Dolby Prologic or DTS NEO on the amp itself. It will upmix the signals from 2.0/5.1 to a fake matrix'd 7.1.


I see, that's interesting to know. Does a sound card exist that does DTS or Dolby in 7.1 or is what I have now as good as its going to get?
No because DTS and Dolby Digital are not 7.1 by definition.

Edit:

As somebody else said, if you have a soundcard with HDMI outputs such as the Xonar HDAV, Auzentech X-Fi HomeTheater or any modern ATI video card (and I think Nvidia 4xx series) you can output 7.1 as DD True HD or DTS Masters on supported Blu Ray movies i.e. Transformers. However in normal situation in windows and in games you'll be forced to use Dolby Digital 5.1 or DTS 5.1, PCM, or PCM with Prologic or DTS NEO.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#10
No thank you? Wow.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
I see, that's interesting to know. Does a sound card exist that does DTS or Dolby in 7.1 or is what I have now as good as its going to get?
no, because those are 5.1 audio. you need like DTS-HD and the other blu ray standards for 7.1
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
no, because those are 5.1 audio. you need like DTS-HD and the other blu ray standards for 7.1
No cards that do Dolby Digital EX?

Not like any games use more than 5.1 anyway. DVD's with more than 5.1 aren't that common either.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
No cards that do Dolby Digital EX?

Not like any games use more than 5.1 anyway. DVD's with more than 5.1 aren't that common either.
i dont know of any cards that do encoding past 5.1/dolby digital, but i havent looked either.


i THINK it may 'just work' on hte more modern cards - EG, a 5870's HDMI audio has a PCM option that can provide 7.1 audio, IF connected to a HDMI receiver that supports 7.1 PCM. what i dont know there is if it can send all 8 channels, or if its stuck with stereo without encoding like the other digital audio signals.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#14
I dont get the whole 7.1/5.1 system setups. I'm not sure how they got to replace the quality stereo speakers. We go from 12 inch tweeters to 2 inch and somehow people think thats an upgrade.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
I dont get the whole 7.1/5.1 system setups. I'm not sure how they got to replace the quality stereo speakers. We go from 12 inch tweeters to 2 inch and somehow people think thats an upgrade.
positional audio.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#16
No cards that do Dolby Digital EX?

Not like any games use more than 5.1 anyway. DVD's with more than 5.1 aren't that common either.
Dolby EX is 6.1 - Its only supported on a few DVD titles but never took off. I believe it was still 5.1 at the heart but the extra channel was matrix'd i.e. fake.


I dont get the whole 7.1/5.1 system setups. I'm not sure how they got to replace the quality stereo speakers. We go from 12 inch tweeters to 2 inch and somehow people think thats an upgrade.
Do not blame all 7.1/5.1 systems, blame HTIAB (home theatre in a box). If you buy seperate bookshelf speakers or floorstanding speakers you can still get 12" tweaters on a 5.1 or 7.1 setup without issue.




i THINK it may 'just work' on hte more modern cards - EG, a 5870's HDMI audio has a PCM option that can provide 7.1 audio, IF connected to a HDMI receiver that supports 7.1 PCM. what i dont know there is if it can send all 8 channels, or if its stuck with stereo without encoding like the other digital audio signals.
Unfortunately, no sound card on the market, not even the 5870s can provide encoding of Dolby True HD 7.1 or DTS Masters 7.1 yet. It can only pass-through straight to the receiver upto multi channel PCM via HDMI. However it can decode Dolby True HD 7.1 or DTS Masters 7.1 from Blu Ray media.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#17
Unfortunately, no sound card on the market, not even the 5870s can provide encoding of Dolby True HD 7.1 or DTS Masters 7.1 yet. It can only pass-through straight to the receiver upto multi channel PCM via HDMI. However it can decode Dolby True HD 7.1 or DTS Masters 7.1 from Blu Ray media.[/QUOTE]

Why would you need encoding of Dolby True HD 7.1 or DTS Masters 7.1? As long as it is decoded you are good. Thats what comes out of your speakers.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
Why would you need encoding of Dolby True HD 7.1 or DTS Masters 7.1? As long as it is decoded you are good. Thats what comes out of your speakers.
gaming.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#19
No games need, nor have the quality of audio, for such things though.


I've had a full-out 7.1 surround setup since 2001, just after my first son was born. In the end, the extra two speakers take up took much space in the living room, and offer very little actual audio data, so that pair of speakers went down in the basement.

A few times a year I hook them back up, and conenct my pc as well, to do some gaming on the bigscreen(more often than not I'm only using 2.1 for the pc, now)...

7.1 is pretty useless in the gaming world. I think a big part of that though, if because of console ports...I don't think any consoles offer 7.1...maybe in the next gen we might get HD-Audio in games...I cannot wait for such, as I think even stereo HD audio sounds better than 5.1 non-HD, if you've got good full-range speakers.


OrbitzXT, you are most likely better off taking that extra pair of speakers, and connecting them to the front left/right on the "B" channel....this will widen the stereo field, and leads to greater immersion, in my own testing.


And a FYI for everyone....you only need software to encode DolbyHD/DTSHD audio. Like all other audio, this is basically a codec...I have a paid-for encoder for Sony Vegas(mid you this is audio mixing software, not something you use while playing a game, etc.).

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
No games need, nor have the quality of audio, for such things though.


I've had a full-out 7.1 surround setup since 2001, just after my first son was born. In the end, the extra two speakers take up took much space in the living room, and offer very little actual audio data, so that pair of speakers went down in the basement.

A few times a year I hook them back up, and conenct my pc as well, to do some gaming on the bigscreen(more often than not I'm only using 2.1 for the pc, now)...

7.1 is pretty useless in the gaming world. I think a big part of that though, if because of console ports...I don't think any consoles offer 7.1...maybe in the next gen we might get HD-Audio in games...I cannot wait for such, as I think even stereo HD audio sounds better than 5.1 non-HD, if you've got good full-range speakers.


OrbitzXT, you are most likely better off taking that extra pair of speakers, and connecting them to the front left/right on the "B" channel....this will widen the stereo field, and leads to greater immersion, in my own testing.


And a FYI for everyone....you only need software to encode DolbyHD/DTSHD audio. Like all other audio, this is basically a codec...I have a paid-for encoder for Sony Vegas(mid you this is audio mixing software, not something you use while playing a game, etc.).

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/
if you set a game to 7.1, it works over analogue just fine. you get full positional audio from all 8 channels.

and yeah we all know we need software for it... that no one makes.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#21
if you set a game to 7.1, it works over analogue just fine. you get full positional audio from all 8 channels.

and yeah we all know we need software for it... that no one makes.
I can't even think of any games that work in 7.1...I'm sure there's some though.

Would be nice if we could get some software support...alot of hardware is capable, I suppose. HDAudio still seems like a niche, though.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22
I can't even think of any games that work in 7.1...I'm sure there's some though.

Would be nice if we could get some software support...alot of hardware is capable, I suppose. HDAudio still seems like a niche, though.
almost any game that works in 5.1 would also work in 7.1... the audio engines scale depending how many speakers you have.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#23
So basically I just need to enable the other speakers in Windows Audio CP?


Hmmm...I wonder if I can hack a 5.1 and a 2.0 setup together, with the 2.0 as stereo l/r, and the 5.1 as the other speakers...hmmm....
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#24
is the title/game you are watching/playing 7.1 ?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#25