1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual 12v PSU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nemesis881, Jul 8, 2007.

  1. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    690 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    I know what good amperage would be on a single 12v psu, but I'm a little confused on the dual. Would you add the numbers up on each rail? Also the one I'm looking at has 18A on both rails and it's a 500W. Is that any good?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    That sounds pretty decent.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Depends on the brand/quality, but either way, that one will likely be more than enough for your current hardware.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    You don't add the amps togeather, they are seperate rails. 18A seems decent, mine is 17A.19A.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    690 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA

    Well the 300W i have is enough lol...I will be getting a new video card shortly after, just wanna make sure I have enough power for future upgrades.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,913 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,577
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Id go with a single rail solution if possible. If not, perhaps try to get 20A on each rail.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)