• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual bios

Lurifax

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.43/day)
Hello everyone.

I have a question that I hope someone can help me with. I have a Sappire RX580 Nitro+ SE 8GB gpu and I want to make sure it has the default BIOS. I've found the correct bios here but I am not quite sure if that is the only bios I need.
The switch has two settings so shouldn't there be two default BIOS for me to flash? (I saw Sapphire call this quiet and performance.)

Hope someone can clear this up or point me in the right direction. :)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
Why do you want to do this? Is the card not working properly or something? Post gpuz screenshot of both bios positions
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
What's the problem with the card, the reason for the rma?

That looks like the same /compatible bios for your card though I'm not sure if both bios positions should have the same clocks, on mine non se sapphire 580 I have a 1340/1750 and 1411/1750 bios on the different switches. I'll have a look and see if I can find out if there should be a lower clocked bios for your card though you can contact sapphire direct and they will give you the correct bios file's for both positions as they have done for me in the past. That might be your best bet tbh
 

Lurifax

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.43/day)
I get artifacts when in heavy use.
So when I need to flash the card I need to have it in the correct position on the switch and then flash it, then reboot, flip the switch and flash the second bios?

I'll try writing to Sapphire and ask if they could provide me with the BIOS. Might be my best bet.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,132 (1.56/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
So when I need to flash the card I need to have it in the correct position on the switch and then flash it, then reboot, flip the switch and flash the second bios?

I'll try writing to Sapphire and ask if they could provide me with the BIOS. Might be my best bet.
Great your be setting yourself up for a RMA REFUSAL
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,132 (1.56/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Flashing Bios without the manafacture's approval or under their instruction can Invalidate any Warranty
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
No I wrote to them from a different email adress just in case. :)
I was replying to the other post, the implication is that if they supply you with the correct bios files then they will refuse RMA on the basis that you have tampered with the bios in the first place which I'm not so sure is the case but it will help you to have the correct bios files in place to see if that is what is causing the artifacts

Flashing Bios without the manafacture's approval or under their instruction can Invalidate any Warranty
Sapphire are a lot more open to overclokcing and bios flashing hence they will help you flash the stock bios files if you have a mining card, how that might affect the RMA is not known

Can you take a pic of the white stickers on the back of the card?
 

Lurifax

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.43/day)
Wonder if they have a way of seeing if the card has been flashed recently or anything of the sorts. Like a log or something similar.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
Wonder if they have a way of seeing if the card has been flashed recently or anything of the sorts. Like a log or something similar.
if its the stock bios files then you should be fine. Though can you take a pic of the white stickers on the back of your card, also save the current bio's and upload in this thread I'll have a look see if they look to have been modded
 

Lurifax

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.43/day)
if its the stock bios files then you should be fine. Though can you take a pic of the white stickers on the back of your card, also save the current bio's and upload in this thread I'll have a look see if they look to have been modded
Oh that could be an idea. I can save the bios via GPUZ right? I'll get on it right away. Thanks alot. :)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
And the white stickers on the back of the card with the SN etc
 

Lurifax

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.43/day)
Hmm wont allow me to upload the ROMs. (Does not have an allowed extension)
And there are no stickers on the card?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
Hmm wont allow me to upload the ROMs. (Does not have an allowed extension)
Pop them in a zip file. or just delete the extension.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
ok both slightly different bios files as they have different vram timings which you wouldn't expect, and I'm sure you should have a lower powered/clocked one in the 1st position which you don't, I'm assuming this is why they are slightly different as whoever owned it before likely wanted both bios to be the "fast" bios and didn't quite flash the original one, does it artifact in both switch positions? I know this is usually 1340/2000 for Nitro+ I'm unable to find anything as of yet if that's still the case with the 580 SE edition. I'm going to compare to the "official" one and see what timings they should be compared to your 2 bios
 

Lurifax

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.43/day)
The previous owner tells me he has flashed stock bios back on the first switch position. He had not altered the second he says. I just got the files from Sapphire, would it be best to just flash those two they sent me just to be on the safe side?

Really appriciate your help. :)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
ok ellesmere2 is the same as the stock bios you found and linked to here, this bios should be working good and not artifact. You can go ahead and flash the lower clocked file from Sapphire to the bios switch that contained ellesmere1. He thinks he flashed the stock bios but on inspection the vram timings on that card have been reduced from the stock vram timings as someone likely used it for mining which can run reduced vram timings without consequence though it will crash under 3d load.

Are you ok on the process of flashing it?

Make sure your bios switch is at ellesmere1 position.

https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/ Download this.

Unzip contents to a folder of your choice, mine is in downloads.

run "amdvbflashWin.exe" as administrator.

Locate the file Sapphire gave you for the lower clocked bios and click program.

Restart and test under 3d load, if it crashed straight away previously it shouldn't now.
 

Lurifax

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.43/day)
ok ellesmere2 is the same as the stock bios you found and linked to here, this bios should be working good and not artifact. You can go ahead and flash the lower clocked file from Sapphire to the bios switch that contained ellesmere1. He thinks he flashed the stock bios but on inspection the vram timings on that card have been reduced from the stock vram timings as someone likely used it for mining which can run reduced vram timings without consequence though it will crash under 3d load.

Are you ok on the process of flashing it?

Make sure your bios switch is at ellesmere1 position.

https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/ Download this.

Unzip contents to a folder of your choice, mine is in downloads.

run "amdvbflashWin.exe" as administrator.

Locate the file Sapphire gave you for the lower clocked bios and click program.

Restart and test under 3d load, if it crashed straight away previously it shouldn't now.
This is amazing. I REALLY appriciate this. I have to get to work now but I'll flash it tomorrow and report back.

Should I flash both files I got from Sapphire, just to be on the safe side?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
This is amazing. I REALLY appriciate this. I have to get to work now but I'll flash it tomorrow and report back.

Should I flash both files I got from Sapphire, just to be on the safe side?
The ellesmere2 file has been verified by TPU to be the stock bios file for your specific GPU and ties into what the person who sold you the card when he said he flashed one and not the other, I wouldnt bother if it has no issues, it matches up to the verified file we have here. Just flash the correct bios for the borked switch/ellesmere1 bios and you should be good on both positions.
 

Lurifax

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.43/day)
Alright I'm done and it is working perfectly. Still the the artifacts when pushing the card hard so I guess theres a hardware issue.

I'll try to RMA it and see what happens. Keep your fingers crossed. :) Again, thank you for your help, that was extremely kind of you. :)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.71/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
Do you know if it's still in the warranty period?
 
Top