• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Dual Channel Ram to Quad Channel

Huddo93

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
299 (0.13/day)
Likes
57
Location
Perth, WA, Australia
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus Z77 Deluxe-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory RipjawsX 8GB @ 2133MHz 11-11-11-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SC @ 1300MHz core
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 256GB + 1TB Samsung HDD
Display(s) 23" LG W2343T
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply Corsiar AX-850
#1
Hi Guys,

Been surfing this forum for a while now, finally decided to sign up :)

I've been wondering this for a while now. In the up and coming X79 platform from Intel, they have included Quad Channel Ram.

So I've been asking myself, is it possible to just take two "Dual Channel" kits of ram, something like a highly clocked G.Skill Ripjaws X @ 2133Mhz, in a 2x4GB kit. Put two of these kits in the X79 Quad Channel slots (so 16GB's @ 2133MHz) and have it run stable in Quad Channel?

I cant think of a reason why not, or will there be compatibility issues? or am I asking a completely stupid question here? :laugh:

Any Help would be awesome :)
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#2
As long as all 4 sticks are the same (hence 2 exact dual channel kits bought at the same time) and you only use 4 sticks (vs. 8) then quad channel should work stable at high speeds. The problem usually lies in populating all the slots (4 on a 4 stick board or 8 on an 8 stick board), which usually requires more memory controller voltage and/or reduced speeds because of the heavier load on the memory controller.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
Chances are yes, it can work, but most likely, you'll either have to relax timings, or lower frequency.

I just RMA'ed some Corsair sticks because one set worked...and the other didn't...but swap to a different board, the other set would work, and first would not...

Normally, you'd expect both kits to just work...same model, same specs, same board, same CPU, one kits works...and one does not, even when the kits are used on their own!

Then, when used together, certian sticks need to be put into a certain slot...and forget about trying to make a kit with one stick form each set.

Technically, you should nto have these issues with a real quad-channel kit. You are better off to buy a currently available kit that has four sticks than making a quad kit with two sets.

There is a godo cahnce things will jstu work, sure, but it's very possible that you may have some sort of issue. You'll find any ram company will inform you of the same...it might work, but it might not.
 

Huddo93

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
299 (0.13/day)
Likes
57
Location
Perth, WA, Australia
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus Z77 Deluxe-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory RipjawsX 8GB @ 2133MHz 11-11-11-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SC @ 1300MHz core
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 256GB + 1TB Samsung HDD
Display(s) 23" LG W2343T
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply Corsiar AX-850
#4
Yeah, I ask this question mainly due to the fact I'm not much of a RAM overclocker, so I really wasnt sure how placing two high end kits would work, and what your saying makes sense.

Guess I'll just wait and see what companies bring out in terms of quad channel kits.

Mainly after seeing the $999 quad channel kit from corsair, I'm hoping that companies wont put prices up to highly to take advantage of a the new quad channel ram market >.<
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#5
Cadaveca said it well. Basically, with a quad channel kit, all the sticks are guaranteed to be intercompatible. Using two dual channel kits may work, but you're not guaranteed that both sets will be identical because the manufacturer could have changed some components without changing the model number (*cough* *cough* OCZ Vertex 25nm vs. 34nm SSDs *cough*). :)

Yeah, I ask this question mainly due to the fact I'm not much of a RAM overclocker, so I really wasnt sure how placing two high end kits would work, and what your saying makes sense.

Guess I'll just wait and see what companies bring out in terms of quad channel kits.

Mainly after seeing the $999 quad channel kit from corsair, I'm hoping that companies wont put prices up to highly to take advantage of a the new quad channel ram market >.<
I saw a 16GB G.Skill 4 stick kit for $199 (2133MHz too). Timings suck though. G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DD...
 

Huddo93

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
299 (0.13/day)
Likes
57
Location
Perth, WA, Australia
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus Z77 Deluxe-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory RipjawsX 8GB @ 2133MHz 11-11-11-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SC @ 1300MHz core
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 256GB + 1TB Samsung HDD
Display(s) 23" LG W2343T
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply Corsiar AX-850
#6
But those timings are crap mainly because it's trying to keep all 4 dimms stable at 2133Mhz? So if I put them into a Quad channel mobo do u think it would be possible to reduce those timings a bit?