• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual channel with 1x2GB + 1x4GB sticks?

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,323 (2.08/day)
Likes
9,178
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#1
Didn't know you could have dual channel with this setup!!
I'm not complaining though! :D:D

Capture.PNG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,246 (4.77/day)
Likes
1,451
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
778 (0.30/day)
Likes
855
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Saving for a Linux based Ryzen PC.
#3
I've never given a lot of thought to how I run my memory in dual channel. I guess my own assumption is/was that you add two memory sticks of the same size/speed in the proper slots depending on the motherboard...and you enable dual channel mode. If one of the sticks is of a slower speed, it will still work, but default to the slower speed. I've never thought about using mis-matched size memory sticks. I thought they had to be the same size?

If you want Wtf....I'll oblige you.

nosticks.png


:),

Liquid Cool

P.S. The picture is from Speccy when viewing the memory on my little HP Spectre x2 12. Perhaps it is soldered on in dual channel mode? I LOVE this little machine!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,246 (4.77/day)
Likes
1,451
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#4
On my old 775 system I had 1x1gb and 1x2gb sticks and dual channel mode would not activate. Later I replaced the 1gb with a 2gb one and it did work.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,323 (2.08/day)
Likes
9,178
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#5
I've never thought about using mis-matched size memory sticks. I thought they had to be the same size?
On my old 775 system I had 1x1gb and 1x2gb sticks and dual channel mode would not activate.
Thats was my thinking as well!
It's my new HP 14" Kaby Lake laptop, you learn something new everyday!:D
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
194 (0.19/day)
Likes
394
System Name The Banshee
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8GHz 1.37V
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling CPU + 1st GPU Custom loop
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB B-Die @ 3466 CL14 1.4V
Video Card(s) Zotac & Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti's in SLI @ 1100/1250 1.063V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
#6
The size of modules and their rated freq. & timings are irrelevant for dual channel. As long as they are installed in the proper slots they will be in dual channel.

Of course some memory controllers are picky about this though, so it may refuse to work.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,777 (5.46/day)
Likes
11,059
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Modern memory controllers support asynchronous dual-channel, so the modules don't have to match. In a situation where you have a 2GB and a 4GB stick, you end up with 4GB that will perform at dual-channel speed, and once that 4GB is filled, the last 2GB will perform at single-channel speed.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,099 (1.05/day)
Likes
1,166
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
Perhaps my thinking is stuck in the days of the LGA 775 socket?

:),

Liquid Cool
Very well might be if that's where you started with computers. A bit before 775 was nVidia's nForce 415 and 420 chipsets (2001) with TwinBank. You could fill all 3 slots found on most boards with 3 different sizes and still have "dual channel".
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,495 (3.48/day)
Likes
7,257
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#10
asynchronous dual channel
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,800 (2.11/day)
Likes
4,132
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T/ Xeon E3-1290 / Dual Xeon X5675's
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming / Asus Sabertooth Z77 / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling TRUE 120 / Deep Cool Assassin / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#11
Very well might be if that's where you started with computers. A bit before 775 was nVidia's nForce 415 and 420 chipsets (2001) with TwinBank. You could fill all 3 slots found on most boards with 3 different sizes and still have "dual channel".
On the nforce 2 ultra usually was like 2 x512 and 1 gig stick if you had 3 slots.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,099 (1.05/day)
Likes
1,166
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
On the nforce 2 ultra usually was like 2 x512 and 1 gig stick if you had 3 slots.
Probably so. I was getting out of selling computers right around the time nForce 2 came around, and sold only a fraction of them compared to nForce. In other words, while I still have nForce whitepapers burned into memory, I don't recall as much about the nForce 2.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
3,080 (0.83/day)
Likes
2,123
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#13
On the nforce 2 ultra usually was like 2 x512 and 1 gig stick if you had 3 slots.
Can confirm. I had 3x512GB on my NF7 and it still goes dual channel. I miss nvidia chipsets, overclocking was good and features were ample.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
985 (0.54/day)
Likes
432
#14
I thought this was well known, I've tried 1/2/4/8GB in any number of slots & any combination. DC always worked for me.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,941 (2.61/day)
Likes
6,292
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (2000/11100)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#15
Multichannel configurations literally only care that slot required for DC or QC is populated. It needs an electrical connection. If it does, you'll have it, if not, you won't. Capacities, frequencies and timings literally make no difference.

Having some sort of symmetry with clocks and timings also get dragged along with capacity and that may affect overall stability, but as far as multi channel memory goes, you just need to have something in there.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
985 (0.54/day)
Likes
432
#16
Multichannel configurations literally only care that slot required for DC or QC is populated. It needs an electrical connection. If it does, you'll have it, if not, you won't. Capacities, frequencies and timings literally make no difference.

Having some sort of symmetry with clocks and timings also get dragged along with capacity and that may affect overall stability, but as far as multi channel memory goes, you just need to have something in there.
There are some ULV kits though, which may not work with regular memory ~
Voltage 1.25V
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231461
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231466
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
778 (0.30/day)
Likes
855
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Saving for a Linux based Ryzen PC.
#17
Very well might be if that's where you started with computers. A bit before 775 was nVidia's nForce 415 and 420 chipsets (2001) with TwinBank. You could fill all 3 slots found on most boards with 3 different sizes and still have "dual channel".
Unfortunately...I started with this in the 80's.


Sx-64_build_crop.jpg


Although....I only remembered dual channel being used back to LGA 775. I owned many AMD computers before that during the early 2000's period(member of AMDMB), with the Nforce2 chipset being my favorite....I was also a big fan of A-Bit. I still for the life of me can only vaguely recall doing something with three slots on the board around that era. I recall thinking it was unusual. Was the first slot a standalone that was gapped away a little distance from the other two?

I'm also having trouble recalling my favorite motherboard from that era...overclocked like a monster, I told myself I'd never forget it....but it's definitely slipping my mind. The NFS-2 from A-Bit? Someone help me....I think I'm getting Ol's-Timers....:).

Best,

Liquid Cool
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
3,080 (0.83/day)
Likes
2,123
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#18
Dual Channel:

A+B
A+C
A+B+C

Single Channel:
A
B
C
xzdK2cA.png
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,345 (4.07/day)
Likes
6,898
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#19
Didn't know you could have dual channel with this setup!!
I'm not complaining though! :D:D

View attachment 93098
Yep... its a mixed mode. The first 2GB on each stick are dual channel while the last 2GB on the 4GB stick is single. Well known to occur in modern(ish) platforms. I recall this to AT LEAST the Sandybridge days, if not earlier (X58?)...
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,099 (1.05/day)
Likes
1,166
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#21
Unfortunately...I started with this in the 80's.


View attachment 93102

Although....I only remembered dual channel being used back to LGA 775. I owned many AMD computers before that during the early 2000's period(member of AMDMB), with the Nforce2 chipset being my favorite....I was also a big fan of A-Bit. I still for the life of me can only vaguely recall doing something with three slots on the board around that era. I recall thinking it was unusual. Was the first slot a standalone that was gapped away a little distance from the other two?

I'm also having trouble recalling my favorite motherboard from that era...overclocked like a monster, I told myself I'd never forget it....but it's definitely slipping my mind. The NFS-2 from A-Bit? Someone help me....I think I'm getting Ol's-Timers....:).

Best,

Liquid Cool
I can go back to about 1999, though no knocks to your noggin for not knowing this nugget of knowledge. Micron's successor to their Samurai chipset was the Samurai DDR. If it had a commercial release, we would have seen multi-channel DDR before single channel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!*

There is of course, an asterisk to that statement. The north bridge was of a modular design. Connect two and you had two channels, connect another there was a 3rd, and so on. This gets expensive quickly. Most consumers would have only seen a single north bridge/memory channel, however, that single channel still performed very well.


(pssst Rambus, I still hate you)

Single north bridge, single channel DDR, two Pentium slots, one installed. This would have been my jam (with the second CPU installed)!


Close up of two north bridges and a Xeon.


The two north bridges, two Xeons, two channels of memory... and oh yeah, TWO AGP SLOTS (years before the AGP 3.0 spec which allowed for multiple slots). This was accomplished by each AGP slot being wired to one north bridge and memory.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
854 (0.58/day)
Likes
274
Location
Grunn, Holland
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor i7 4790k Delid 4.7@1.28
Motherboard Asus Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x8GB 1866MHz C10
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 670 FTW
Storage MX100 256GB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, LG 24 inch LED IPS thing
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win7 x64/Ubuntu
#22
Guess it's not exactly the same scenario, but two 775 boards I had ran 2x1+2x0.5 without any trouble...
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,411 (3.63/day)
Likes
4,033
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#23
Can confirm. I had 3x512GB on my NF7 and it still goes dual channel. I miss nvidia chipsets, overclocking was good and features were ample.
Lots of ram there.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
3,080 (0.83/day)
Likes
2,123
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#24
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
949 (0.36/day)
Likes
593
Location
Romania
Processor Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard MSI B350 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling be quiet dark rock pro 3
Memory G.Skill Trident Z , 8x2 GB DDR4-3200 Mhz , CL14-14-14-35 1.35v.
Video Card(s) MSI GAMING RX 480
Storage Seagate Barracuda SATA-II 1TB , HyperX Savage 240GB SATA 3
Display(s) Samsung S24E370D AMD FreeSync
Case Be Quiet! Dark Base Pro 900
Audio Device(s) Creative audigy 2
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Natec Genesis G66 Silent Buttons
Keyboard Microsoft Wired Keyboard 600
Software Windows 10 Pro
#25