• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual loop in a aurora 570. Help please =[

diablo170

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Buckinghamshire, England
System Name Home
Processor Q6600 G0 3650Mhz at 1.52v
Motherboard eVGA 780i A1
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Galaxy 2 (CPU only)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1100 ddr2
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800gts 512 g92
Storage 36gb Raptor system, 250gb +1tb storage
Display(s) 20" Samsung HDTV
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP 750w
#1
I recently got a EK graphics water block (EK FC88 G92) for my evga 8800gts 512. I was looking to watercool the thing but already have a 3D Galaxy 2 kit installed in the Gigabyte 3d aurora 570 case. I would have just hooked up the waterblock to the orignal loop but the block from what I have heard is restrictive and the pump is rated at 400 l/ph so I was going to use a XSPC 750 Reservoir + Pump (http://www.watercoolingshop.co.uk/store/p27-pumps/X2O-750-Dual-5.25-Bay-Reservoir-Pump.cfm) mount it at the front and install a slim magicool rad or fat pa120.2 on top of the 2 120mm exhaust fans so internally depends really on space. It maybe overkill for just gpu but I was planning to add a northbridge block and a second gpu at christmas (ill have the money). I wanted to stick with 1/2" tubing but don't mind im basically going to try and haved the same colour scheme as the galaxy 2 kit.

So really my questions are is the pump/reservoir combo any good? Any other way to mount the radiator or is even possible to mount it on those dual exhaust fans (directed more to owners of the case.)? Any other ideas I have not thought of I am willing to mod if necessary?

System Specs:
Cpu: Q6600
Mobo: Evga 780i A1
Ram: OCZ Reaper PC 8500 4gb
Gpu: Evga 8800gts 512mb (g92)
Harddrive: 36gb Raptor, 250gb and 1tb 7200rpm storage
PSU: Xigmatek NRP 750
Case: Gigabyte Aurora 570 (Black)
5 5.25" bays top 2 used, space for 3 maybe 4 as fan controller can be relocated.
Cooling: Gigabyte 3D Galaxy 2 Kit

Any help appreciated =]
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#2
TBH I think it would be better if you invest in replacing the gigabyte kit w/ a true custom kit. That way you can run it off one loop (w/ the hardware you have).

I don't hear many good things (mostly mediocre) in regards to the builtin XSPC res/pump combo, I rather get a MCP355 and the XSPC res top for it.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,163 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#3
TBH I think it would be better if you invest in replacing the gigabyte kit w/ a true custom kit. That way you can run it off one loop (w/ the hardware you have).

I don't hear many good things (mostly mediocre) in regards to the builtin XSPC res/pump combo, I rather get a MCP355 and the XSPC res top for it.
Exactly... this is a great suggestion...

Also post some pics and ideas you might be having as to how you would like to mount the rad...

Some questions:
Do you have a current picture of your setup?
How comfortable are you with a dremel/Nibbler? Would you be willing to drill a 2x120MM space for a rad mount in the top of the case?

If the second answer is yes, then you can easily put a 2x120MM intake rad right after the PSU

As far as mounting rads goes - there are alot of ppl here who can help you 'find' space :D

Here is my midtower with a Swiftech MCR220 and MCR320 in the same case:



You can always just hang a triple off the back if you don't care about squeezing it all inside...

Something like this, but with the rad inside and with a radgrill... that leaves space for a big dualie at the back. You would lose 2 5.25" bays, but seriously, how many DVD rom drives do you have?



And then one like this

 
Last edited:

diablo170

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Buckinghamshire, England
System Name Home
Processor Q6600 G0 3650Mhz at 1.52v
Motherboard eVGA 780i A1
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Galaxy 2 (CPU only)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1100 ddr2
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800gts 512 g92
Storage 36gb Raptor system, 250gb +1tb storage
Display(s) 20" Samsung HDTV
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP 750w
#4
Sorry for the late reply. The reason I was looking at getting a second loop was really the cost, it would have been cheaper to get a basic loop then get a complete custom loop. But after looking around my case felt it would not be practical trying to fit it all in especially with my poor cable management so im going to save a bit extra and get custom kit to watercool gpu, cpu and northbridge (maybe southbridge) in one loop. As for use of a dremel I know someone that could do that for me so no problems with that. So here is what I have for it so far a EK Full cover gpu block, tubing (1/2" ID), Barbs and led fans (so not much). I was going to order a d5 pump then mount it in a typhoon iii reservoir as i like having the pump and reservoir together, EK supreme waterblock, ek clear 780i northbridge block or a bitspower freezer 780i full motherboard kit (really depends on price of importing from america) as for the rad i was looking at a rx240 and would use the mounting method shown by phanbuey but mounting on the inside using the 2 exhaust slots. My loop would probably go Pump > Rad > Cpu > Gpu> northbridge > Pump. As for a picture I will upload a couple tommorrow

So my questions are really is the rad strong enough? Is the loop setup ideal? Are there better waterblocks I can use? Or any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#5
I'm going to be using a XSPC RX240 in my latest built w/ a Phenom II 720 (currently 3.6 on stock volts on air test bench) and a highly oc'ed/overvolted 4850. I think one of these nights I'll get to starting the worklog for it.

It's a thick rad with a low fin/inch count, so you don't need to have super high RPM fans to get good results! If you can... put a shroud to space the fans a little further to get rid of dead spots!

The radiator shouldn't be a problem for the CPU + GPU, but once you start putting in those NB blocks the heat starts adding up. That radiator is no slouch however if you're not going to be big w/ overvolting the CPU you should be fine (as the 6600 gets pretty hot)

If you get the EK Supreme you should get the "Light" version as it chokes flow less and performs pretty much the same.

I'm going to be using a Heatkiller 3.0 in my setup as a CPU block and will be using the MCW60-4870 block for my gpu. FYI

BTW the typhoon res is sexy... but I have an obsession with tube res's LOL
 

diablo170

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Buckinghamshire, England
System Name Home
Processor Q6600 G0 3650Mhz at 1.52v
Motherboard eVGA 780i A1
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Galaxy 2 (CPU only)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1100 ddr2
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800gts 512 g92
Storage 36gb Raptor system, 250gb +1tb storage
Display(s) 20" Samsung HDTV
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP 750w
#6
The thing is i have a fairly poor overclocking q6600 which is eatin a lot of voltage to stay stable at 3650mhz (8x multiplier) about 1.52v. So judging from your comments a triple rad would be a gd idea so i was thinking a thermochill pa120.3 and mounting it on top of the case as phanbuey picture suggests and just turn the psu around so it is intake from above. What do you think?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.22/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#7
Be sure you get some decent fans, otherwise rad size won't help as much as it can. On my Core i7 at 1.43v, with a 4x120mm rad and 2x120mm rad in the same loop with various fans, the temps would still get to the 80c range. Switch to all 133CFM fans and that drops 20c.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#8
The thing is i have a fairly poor overclocking q6600 which is eatin a lot of voltage to stay stable at 3650mhz (8x multiplier) about 1.52v. So judging from your comments a triple rad would be a gd idea so i was thinking a thermochill pa120.3 and mounting it on top of the case as phanbuey picture suggests and just turn the psu around so it is intake from above. What do you think?
You're better off w/ the RX360 or the TFC 360 rad... the thermochill is overpriced and the odd fan spacing and barb thread size makes it not worth the hassle.

and ouch on need 1.5V just for 3.6ghz :banghead:
 

diablo170

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Buckinghamshire, England
System Name Home
Processor Q6600 G0 3650Mhz at 1.52v
Motherboard eVGA 780i A1
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Galaxy 2 (CPU only)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1100 ddr2
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800gts 512 g92
Storage 36gb Raptor system, 250gb +1tb storage
Display(s) 20" Samsung HDTV
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP 750w
#9
The only reason I was going for the thermochill is it well stocked in the uk and fairly cheap at about 55 pounds. RX360 costs about 70 here and the tfc is about 65. The tenner i save can buy me the fans.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,163 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#10
The only reason I was going for the thermochill is it well stocked in the uk and fairly cheap at about 55 pounds. RX360 costs about 70 here and the tfc is about 65. The tenner i save can buy me the fans.
those are thick rads, and take up alot of space - in reality they only perform a few degrees better than similar thin rads. The Magicool elegant series and Swiftech MCR would be my recommendations.

Ive had the EK supreme LT (you can see it in the picture of my case) and it is has massive impingement - too much for a multi-block set-up. Much better to get the enzotech sapphire block.

Personally, I can tell you that water cooling your GPU is really not worth it. I have water cooled GPU's and I'm telling you this lol. Better to set up some sort of airflow direct to the card(s) by taking out the hard drive cage and putting the drives in the 5.25" bays and have the temps dropped like that.

Here is a rad review http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/showthread.php?t=220593
 
Last edited:

diablo170

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Buckinghamshire, England
System Name Home
Processor Q6600 G0 3650Mhz at 1.52v
Motherboard eVGA 780i A1
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Galaxy 2 (CPU only)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1100 ddr2
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800gts 512 g92
Storage 36gb Raptor system, 250gb +1tb storage
Display(s) 20" Samsung HDTV
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP 750w
#11
If I had got a picture to show you I have strung up a 80mm fan to the grill on the side panel above the gpu to blow more air but still my gpu idles at about 70C (silent). Anyways I already have the gpu block so i may aswell not waste money and use it. I have just bought a d5 pump and ek 780i northbridge block. What is left to buy is mainly a cpu block and radiator(s).

So im pretty much set on a custom loop. Now from your pictures phanbuey I can easily do both 570 mods but would the pump be strong enough to push through two 240mm rads a cpu, gpu and northbridge? Also from the review you linked if I am going for a multi block setup then I will need best flow so from your recommendations the swiftech would be best only problem is the best price i can get one for around here is 55 delivered so 110 for two also I can't seem to find any reliable stockist of enzotech in the UK :banghead:
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,163 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#12
Ok after doing some thinking, i came up with this design for two loops, this would be less crowded, and offer better temps than a single loop with the same amount of rad.

First get one of these radiators: Its an mcr 220 with a built in resevoir...



It will mount on the back of the case where the double fans are - it has a built in rez, so you don't need one for the inside of the case. This will be the loop that cools the GPU's and NB since it has hot air going through the rad so its just slightly less effective than the first.

Second... get a normal MCR 220... - this will be the rad that goes on top above the first drive bay. This dual will be dedicated solely to the CPU - giving you good temps even with silent fans. get the xspc 750 bay pump radiator to conserve some space, and viola... two loops in a super mid tower (or a small tower w/e)... This way you can even use the EK or the HK block without having to worry too much about flow - since you only have one block and one rad, even the dinkiest pump will work. Plus the EK block is not sensitive to flowrates - it performs well regardless - the Swiftech GTZ is another story.



Another thing you can do is use a fan splitter and wire the two CPU rad fans - say a couple of 90CFM cooler master R4's to the CPU fan header... (they dont eat too much power) and set it so that the fan speed is dynamic with the CPU speed - once the CPU breaks 50 or whatever temp, the fans kick in to keep it there. At idle, your setup will be silent... during load - it will be as loud as it needs to be.



lemme know what you guys think. :toast:
 
Last edited: