• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dual Monitor Extra GPU worth it?

Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name CORSAIR
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz OC @ 4.50GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling H100i Extreme Performance CPU Cooler
Memory RipjawsX Series 8 GB PC3-12800/17000 Dual Channel DDR3 Kit (2x4GB)/(2x4GB) 16GB
Video Card(s) N760 TF 2GBD5/OCN760 TF 2GBD5/OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Evo 120GB X2 WDC 2TB HDD
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Vengeance® C70 Mid-Tower Gaming Case — Arctic White
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board
Power Supply Corsair
Software Windows 10
#1
I have the 760 but it's only has 2gbs of vram thus causing some delay when I add a second monitor.
My question is, would it be worth it to add my spare 470 for the second monitor even though it draws more power and creates so much heat?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.26/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#2
What power supply do you have?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,484 (4.35/day)
Likes
5,689
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#3
you cant SLi them in the first place...

There are 2 options here. 1. you could sell both cards and pick up a 4GB GTX770, 780 or AMD 290X. 2. sell the 470 and buy another 760 for SLi
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.26/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#4
you cant SLi them in the first place...

There are 2 options here. 1. you could sell both cards and pick up a 4GB GTX770, 780 or AMD 290X. 2. sell the 470 and buy another 760 for SLi
I dont think hes talking about SLI, I think he wants to run a second card just to output to another monitor. Heck he could run Physx off of it too, but it would be power hungry.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name CORSAIR
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz OC @ 4.50GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling H100i Extreme Performance CPU Cooler
Memory RipjawsX Series 8 GB PC3-12800/17000 Dual Channel DDR3 Kit (2x4GB)/(2x4GB) 16GB
Video Card(s) N760 TF 2GBD5/OCN760 TF 2GBD5/OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Evo 120GB X2 WDC 2TB HDD
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Vengeance® C70 Mid-Tower Gaming Case — Arctic White
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board
Power Supply Corsair
Software Windows 10
#5
What power supply do you have?
I have the Antec 750W PSU

I dont think hes talking about SLI, I think he wants to run a second card just to output to another monitor. Heck he could run Physx off of it too, but it would be power hungry.
And yes I wasn't thinking of putting them in SLI due to the fact that's it's not possible. Like you said I just want to run the second card to output it to the second monitor.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,484 (4.35/day)
Likes
5,689
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#6
Well, Ive tried running a monitor off my second 680 and it wont let me - the only thing i can do is plug it into the first card. it doesnt give me any other choices.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,623 (4.66/day)
Likes
5,739
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#7
Well, Ive tried running a monitor off my second 680 and it wont let me - the only thing i can do is plug it into the first card. it doesnt give me any other choices.
Maybe it's a nVidia thing but I can say that isn't the case for me and AMD cards. I can run displays off my 6870 just fine but the cards can't be in crossfire while I do it.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.56/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#8
Well, Ive tried running a monitor off my second 680 and it wont let me - the only thing i can do is plug it into the first card. it doesnt give me any other choices.
With SLI disabled?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
3,951 (1.46/day)
Likes
2,293
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666MHz 15-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
#9
About the current draw... it could be debatable really... Cards clock higher when two outputs are used usually...

680 does not allow other GPU's to be used...? That is really odd, against WDDM policy and whole idea as such... never had this problem with older cards, I am multi monitor junkie myself...

EDIT.

With SLI one can only use primary card, yes. Had also this with my old GTX280 pair.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,777 (5.46/day)
Likes
11,059
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
I don't think it would be worth it with the GTX470. I'd sell the GTX470 and pick up something like a GTX650 or GTX650Ti to run the second monitor.

And nVidia has no problem doing this, as long as they cards aren't in SLI, which obviously they wouldn't be since they aren't matched. I've got 3 monitors running off my GTX650Ti and GT640, my primary monitor on the GTX650Ti and the other two on the GT640.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
3,951 (1.46/day)
Likes
2,293
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666MHz 15-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
#11
I remember I used some older 8th series slow crap card for additional third screen 7400?, I made an overkill... the mouse lagged so much switching to that screen, I had to overclock it, as it didn't handle windows animations xD and obviously it helped. I guess those old times are gone... I hope so...
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name CORSAIR
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz OC @ 4.50GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling H100i Extreme Performance CPU Cooler
Memory RipjawsX Series 8 GB PC3-12800/17000 Dual Channel DDR3 Kit (2x4GB)/(2x4GB) 16GB
Video Card(s) N760 TF 2GBD5/OCN760 TF 2GBD5/OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Evo 120GB X2 WDC 2TB HDD
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Vengeance® C70 Mid-Tower Gaming Case — Arctic White
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board
Power Supply Corsair
Software Windows 10
#12
Thanks for the help, though I don't see getting much for an old 470, though buying a 650 seeks like a good idea. Would there be much of a benefit between the 470 and the 650 even though it's just going to be for a second monitor?