• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Dual monitor problems in games

Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Hi!

Looted a condensator problem LCD out of the trash and repaired it and now its connected as second screen to my rig. It´s a 19" Viewsonic 1280x1024 and my main screen a Benq 1920x1080.
On the Viewsonic i´d like to keep MSN and Skype and system monitoring apps open when gaming on the main screen on full-screen but with the games I have installed there is a big problem with dual monitoring and I dont know if its the settings or the old games I play.
Games are Diablo II and Planescape Torment - problem goes like this:

When I open the games and have all apps I need on the second one it looks like the game changes also the resolution of the second monitor first then distorts the wallpaper on the Viewsonic sceen and finally the apps disapear.

Any idea how i can force the second LCD to stay 1280x1080 or any other suggestion?

thx
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,631 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,356
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
mine always shifted to the right during some games. What I did was keep moving the apps left until the shift positioned it right in games.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Ok some improvement - changed the refesh rate on the ViewSonic from 75 to 60Hz like the main monitor - no more distorted wallpaper and resolution changes but the apps still disapear.

Edit: Ok more improvement - with UltraMon I get the apps to stay visible on the second LCD but the shortcut to move the mouse to the other LCD and back doesnt react in any game I tried :C
 
Last edited:

becandl

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
System Name Antec 900
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz - OCed to 3GHz
Motherboard eVGA 750i FTW SLI Mobo
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 w/ Arctic Silver 5
Memory 4GB (2 x 2GB) OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 800MHz - OCed to 1200MHz
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX260 Core 216 - OCed to 662/1427/1260
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB + 160GB
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 21" Widescreen x2
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 750watt
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
#4
What OS are you using? Seems to me like I used to have this problem in XP, but not in Windows 7. Might be the older games too. When I play games like WoW and I play it in full screen windowed mode I never seem to have problems with my second monitor, but that could be just because WoW is able to do that.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#5
this happens to me if i'm not running a game at the windows chosen resolution. For example if the windows resolution for my main monitor is 1920x1080 and i play a game at 1280x1024 it a: looks like crap.. but more importantly b: it slides all the stuff on the second monitor over as it changes it's resolution as well. Check for that.. it could be the issue.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
What OS are you using? Seems to me like I used to have this problem in XP, but not in Windows 7. Might be the older games too. When I play games like WoW and I play it in full screen windowed mode I never seem to have problems with my second monitor, but that could be just because WoW is able to do that.
I use Win7 Ultimate 32x and still got the problem that the mouse is stuck on the main monitor while gaming.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
321 (0.11/day)
Likes
48
System Name First Build 2.0
Processor AMD FX-8320 Eight-Core @3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev. 4
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB (4x4GB) G.Skill
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 1 GB
Storage SSD- Seagate 600 Series ST240HM000 240 GB
Display(s) Asus VE248H / ViewSonic VA1912wb
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX550M
Software 7 Ultimate 64
#7
I use Win7 Ultimate 32x and still got the problem that the mouse is stuck on the main monitor while gaming.
i use xp 32 bit and use 2x viewsonic 19" @1440x900 and at first i had the same problem as you but i just witched all my games to windowed mode then maximized the window. has been working ever since then.