• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Dual Monitors Idle Temperatures

Raven.7

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Ok...I'm running out of patience with this and Google has been absolute useless.

This pathetic and from my understanding, it is an ongoing issue that has yet to be resolved. Why the hell doesn't AMD solve this problem? I'm sick and tired of having to browse the web in the middle of a lava pit! There is no reason why my room should be 95F when I'm sitting on my PC browsing the internet or working on a paper.

Before when I had two HD 6870s in crossfire mode, they would both run at 60C IDLE powering up two simple monitors. Now, I have an HD 7950 which idles at 56C while running two monitors. 56C, with a single monitor, is GAME RUNNING TEMPERATURE for my 7950.

My room temp is 26C, I have a MASSIVE case with good airflow (HAF 932) and my CPU runs very cool 30C.

Yesterday, I figured I'd run CompUSA and purchase a second video card (HD 5450) to run the second monitor...that ought to bring down my card to it's single monitor idle temperatures of 36C.

Guess what...



Someone please help me out before I throw this second monitor out the window.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#2
Ok...I'm running out of patience with this and Google has been absolute useless.

This pathetic and from my understanding, it is an ongoing issue that has yet to be resolved. Why the hell doesn't AMD solve this problem? I'm sick and tired of having to browse the web in the middle of a lava pit! There is no reason why my room should be 95F when I'm sitting on my PC browsing the internet or working on a paper.

Before when I had two HD 6870s in crossfire mode, they would both run at 60C IDLE powering up two simple monitors. Now, I have an HD 7950 which idles at 56C while running two monitors. 56C, with a single monitor, is GAME RUNNING TEMPERATURE for my 7950.

My room temp is 26C, I have a MASSIVE case with good airflow (HAF 932) and my CPU runs very cool 30C.

Yesterday, I figured I'd run CompUSA and purchase a second video card (HD 5450) to run the second monitor...that ought to bring down my card to it's single monitor idle temperatures of 36C.

Guess what...

http://i.imgur.com/K3Zd0.jpg

Someone please help me out before I throw this second monitor out the window.
What clock is the card running at when you have it hooked up to dual monitors, and is it stock cooling or custom? 40-50 idle is pretty normal, as ATI cards run max memory clocks and higher core when you have a second monitor hooked up, even my ASUS 7970 DCII idled in the 40-50 when it was summer here in Australia.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#4
Try ATTray tools and make a profile for 2d browsing and 3d gaming.

This should stop them from 'spooling' up whenever they feel like it.
 

Sadasius

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
263 (0.08/day)
Likes
139
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
System Name "White Ghost"
Processor i7 970 watercooled
Motherboard Rampage III Extreme all watercooled
Cooling Custom Water Cooling. You have to see it. Too many parts to list here!
Memory 12GB Corsair Dominator GT's watercooled
Video Card(s) HD 5850....watercooled!
Storage Gskill Phoenix Pro 120gb and several 500gb and 1 tb hdd's.
Display(s) Dual 24" Asus VW246H mounted to the wall
Case CM Storm
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Ultra X3 1000
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://valid.canardpc.com/2551267
#5
I never noticed a temperature change going form one monitor to two. I find this weird.

 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#6

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
You shouldn't. Has been this way since 5-series cards.

First, lowered clocks gave huge cursor corruption, and flickering monitors. The fix was a clock increase.


This, of course, leads to the higher temps. Then, the flicker wasn't truly fixed for everyone...


then the cursor corruption came back...


I used to get tonnes of comments on how my temps were high...blah blah...that's part of the reason they were recognized as "high". Nobody caught on about that though.


the 5850 i ahve left here, and both my 7950s do teh same, high temps at idle, becuase clocks do nto sit at 300/150...they sit at 500/1250, with UVD voltage. :p
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#8
Hmm. Nice to know, I have never noticed temps, but I have wondered why my clocks sometimes don't idle down as much. My Cards are sitting at 22 and 26 degrees, respectively with two monitors. I guess that's what blocks are for;)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
858 (0.33/day)
Likes
218
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
#10
Nvidia cards used (may still, I haven't really checked) to do this as well, they wouldn't down clock all the way when multiple monitors were connected.