• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Duct tape an zipties

Durkhead

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2019
Messages
23 (0.08/day)
I have 2 desktops one is a optiplex 745 with qx6800 8 gb ddr2 667 mhz ram and a gt1030. The other is an old built PC with a an Intel dg41rq motherboard q6600 tape moded to 2.9 ghz an 4gb 800mhz ram and GTX 760 my question is should I switch the processors and tape mod the qx6800 in dg41rq and put the q6600 in the optiplex would it be worth the effort and time for the .6 ghz increase
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
218 (1.12/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory Patriot Viper 16gb ddr4400
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1070 HB SLI
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
If you have good cooling a 600mhz boost is pretty good, I say go for it.
 

Durkhead

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2019
Messages
23 (0.08/day)
That's the other prob it's a stock Intel cooler an all I have is an old heatsink from a dell which I only way I could find to attach it is zip ties im slowly Gona build a new machine an wasn't sure if u could use a cooler on lga775 and then move it to lga 1151socket later
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
531 (0.30/day)
System Name open air
Processor Ryzen R7 1700 Stock
Motherboard Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Scythe Fuma
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 X 16GB) DDR4 DRAM 3466 (PC4-27700) C16 for Intel 100 Series - Red PC M
Video Card(s) XFX RX460 4GB SINGLE SLOT
Storage Crucial Mx100 256GB & Sandisk SSD Plus 480GB
Display(s) NOW LG 27MP38 1980X1080 IPS/OLD Philips Brilliance 220CW 1680x1050 CCFL Monitor ( DEFUNCT)
Case NOTHING no case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR SF450 PLATINUM
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Mk240 Nano Wireless Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro/Enterprise
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
I would say why not? The cpu prices for those really have plunge in prices. I have been wanting to buy one myself but I don't have time yet.
 

Durkhead

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2019
Messages
23 (0.08/day)
The reason why not is it probably take me all day to switch the processors the optiplex is a sff an is stuffed with hardrives an other dodades an pin mod isn't that easy either prob take me all day to do the ques is is it worth th effert an will pin mod even work on dr41rq board with qx6800

I would say why not? The cpu prices for those really have plunge in prices. I have been wanting to buy one myself but I don't have time yet.
Don't waste ur money on either of these processors if u want something cheap go at least i3, an optiplex with i3 are like 70 80 bucks or an 15 4570 processor is like 30 bucks by itself on eBay
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
4,260 (0.88/day)
Location
Hurst, Texas
System Name The86
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 2x8gb Patriot DDR4 2666 @ 2933
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX570 Pulse 4gb
Storage Samsung PM841
Display(s) HP 27in
Case Raidmax Alpha Prime
Power Supply 700W Thermaltake Smart
Mouse Logitech Mx510
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2012
Software Windows 10 Professional
I agree core 2 isn't worth it anymore, even at 4ghz it's pointless. These days an i3 3rd gen is better, heck I bought an Optiplex 980 with an i7 870 for $30 that would destroy a core 2.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,357 (3.04/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080// EVGA GTX 980 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
You should be slapped for even thinking about duct tape.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
533 (0.94/day)
Processor 3770K @ 4700MHz 1.375v
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Le Grand Macho RT, TY143
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill TridentX, 2x2GB G.Skill Perfect Storm @ 1000 8-9-8-24 1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified @ 1495/2001
Storage Crucial M4 256, WD 1TB Black, and some misc spinners.
Display(s) Hisense 55"
Case Fractal Design Meshify C TG, White
Audio Device(s) NAD T748, Mission M something, Monitor Audio FB-210, Monster HDP 1800
Power Supply CM Silent Pro M2 850
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Ask your mom.
Why should he be slapped? It’s an old junker anyways, the only thing it will cost is some tape and ties. I have to admit though, duct tape is a little ghetto, but if you can make it work I want to see those pics in the ghetto mod thread :rockout:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,357 (3.04/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080// EVGA GTX 980 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Why should he be slapped? It’s an old junker anyways, the only thing it will cost is some tape and ties. I have to admit though, duct tape is a little ghetto, but if you can make it work I want to see those pics in the ghetto mod thread :rockout:
Some duct tape is metallic. It comes off, shorts out the board, burns house down
 

Durkhead

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2019
Messages
23 (0.08/day)
The overloaded psu is probably the most unsafe part of my ghetto rig an I used electrical tape to block one pin on the CPU I just thought duct tape sounds funnier
 
Top