1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

dumb HDD question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Easy Rhino, Dec 1, 2006.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,301 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,196
    so with RAID do i need identical drives (size, manufacturer, speed) or can they be different?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,743 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    it is best if they are exact
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,728 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,713
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Dude, not dumb at all - I always assumed they had to be EXACT...

    For instance, I have two WD 250GB SATA drives, but one is the JD model, the other the KS model... I always assumed I would not be able to create raid betweent the two... but always wondered. In other words, I don't know!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  4. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    i tried raid, didnt notice the difference
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,301 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,196
    hrm

    so gathering from some information the best peformance increase comes from similar drives
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    As AthlonX2 said it is best if they are exact, but a RAID can be created with any two drives of the interface (IDE or SATA). Not sure if you can RAID SATA150 and SATA300.

    Again, you CAN RAID with two different HDD's, but if one is 80 and the other is 120, it won't use 40GB of the 120 (RAID 0 = 160GB (80+80), RAID 1 = 80GB)

    RAID 0 is a HUGE difference when loading/saving games/maps/large files.
    RAID 1 will have no positive speed difference.

    Love my RAID...Even with my old Skt 754 AMD 64, it was faster than most Skt 939's w/o RAID. Now with the Conroe, I am the first one into BF2/BF2142 maps.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,301 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,196
    sounds good to me. thanks!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. p-jack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    334 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arheilgen
    afaik the discs have to be the same size, other specs don´t matter...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Also, I think if one HDD is 10ms and the other is 8ms, I think it has to wait that extra 2ms. Not sure if it would cause trouble (BSOD's etc..).

    Anyone know what happens if the drives have different amounts of cache? Not sure if that would work...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    NOPE, sorry...

    They DO NOT have to be the same size. I've done it with an 80 and a 120. It literally didn't use 40gb of the 120 drive tho, so it is a waste if they aren't the same size, but the don't HAVE to be
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. p-jack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    334 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arheilgen
    and once again i learned something ´round here... :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    same size = easiest to set up
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,728 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,713
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    So you are saying size does matter?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,301 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,196
    size of the disk is relative to the size of the box you put it in :laugh: :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,728 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,713
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I was just thinking - who knows how old these folks are, we could now be considered on-line predators. :wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH


    What happened to this thread...it went down the toliet in like 30 minutes

    LoL
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,301 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,196
    ugh

    it's friday and im out of here in less than 2 hours. :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)