• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

DVD Drive doesn't read all DVD/CD's -- why?

viczulis

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
887 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Ohio
System Name Bandit 7
Processor Intel I7 920 (Havent OCd yet)
Motherboard MSI X58 Pro
Cooling Air Black Knight
Memory 6 Gbs of something
Video Card(s) 2 - XFX 5770s 1 Gb (waiting for a price drop to go higher)
Storage 1 - TB Sata Seagate
Display(s) 28" LCD
Case CM HAF , G-5 mouse, Saitek Cyborg Keyboard
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX 2 Audio Card
Power Supply ABS Tagan BZ Series 900 W Modular
Software 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium
#26
I had a problem in XP with drives not being noticed. After switching out new drives. I fixed it by changing from master and slave to cable select. And then in bios had to put in cd-rom/dvd instead of auto find. Its been working every since with no issues.

Hopefully it could be that easy for you.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#27
I had a problem in XP with drives not being noticed. After switching out new drives. I fixed it by changing from master and slave to cable select. And then in bios had to put in cd-rom/dvd instead of auto find. Its been working every since with no issues.

Hopefully it could be that easy for you.
That is different. I once had a similar problem when I changed dvd drives on work pc's, and I had to change the jumper from master to slave etc. But in that case the dvd-rom wouldn't even work. In my case it works perfectly, it just doesn't accept blank disks or rewritable disks.

I'm thinking it's some anti-piracy software which got installed in a game.

Btw, I did try another IDE slot. I even tried out a brand new IDE cable which I had in a box.

Now, if I'm right and it is anti-piracy software, it's easy because on this pc I've only ever installed 2 games. Which are The Sims 2 and Oblivion + Shivering Isles.

I'm sure it can't be The Sims, because I've got it on the other pc and the dvd-rw there works perfectly.

On the other hand, I'm wary of Shivering Isles. I had read on the Oblivion forums that it's got SecuRom which 'creates a lot of problems' but I've never gone into detail reading the posts, since I had been thinking that SecuRom never created any problems for me...

I'll do some searches on SecuRom and how I can remove it. Hopefully it is the culprit. And hopefully I'd still be able to play Oblivion without it...

Edit: Look what Wikipedia says on SecuRom (also called SuckUrom by some people):
"Some users have been reporting problems with launching the game, CD-burners or anti-virus protection, due to SecuROM."


Another question: Optical drives are relatively cheap. Do you think that if I buy a second one and install it on my rig it will also be affected by this problem? Obviously I'll buy it a different brand, just in case. It's not worth tearing my hair out if a solution could be that simple.

Edit(2) Duh wait a sec... I guess I can try that out myself by installing the MSI DVD-RW from the old pentium 4 into my rig, and see if the burner works on my pc... :)
 
Last edited:

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#28
It isn't Securom's fault. I deleted Securom from the registry yet the problem remains.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#29
I've discovered that if I modify the value here HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CD Burning\Drives\Volume{bc1eb9fa-d7ec-11dc-9722-806d6172696f} to read 2 instead of 3 I can arrive to here.



And stop there...

Well it's always a step forward, somewhat. But value 2 is for CD-RW (1 for CD-R) and 3 which was the number I had is for standard CD-Rom.
What value must I be putting there for a DVD-RW?

I made sure the IMAPI service is running.
 
Last edited:

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#30
I ran a Windows Autofix (Autoplay repair wizard).

Here's the log:

AutoFix [V5.2.3790.67]
Time [2008-02-12 21:17:30]
Microsoft Windows Version [5.1 (Service Pack 2) <2600>]

Test [The Shell Hardware Detection service is running.] - Instance [N/A]:
Result [AutoStart Setting]: OK
Result [The Shell Hardware Detection service is running.]: OK

Test [Policies] - Instance [D:\, Drive Type: 5]:
Result [HKCU\...\Policies!NoDrives]: OK {Absent}
Result [HKCU\...\Policies!NoDriveAutorun]: OK {Absent}
Result [HKCU\...\Policies!NoDriveTypeAutorun]: OK {Present}
Result [HKLM\...\Policies!NoDrives]: OK {Absent}
Result [HKLM\...\Policies!NoDriveAutorun]: OK {Absent}
Result [HKLM\...\Policies!NoDriveTypeAutorun]: OK {Absent}
Result [Driver level policies]: OK {
HKLM\...\Services\cdrom!Autorun (Present) <Allows>
HKLM\...\Services\cdrom\Parameters!Autorun (Absent) <Allows>
HKLM\System\CCS\Enum\...!AlwaysEnable (Absent) <Not set>
HKLM\System\CCS\Enum\...!AlwaysDisable (Absent) <Not set> }

Test [Drive Notification] - Instance [D:\, Drive Type: 5]:
Result [Legacy Notification]: OK
Result [AutoPlay V2 Notification]: Problems {
Service (Silent)
Shell (Deaf) }
>> Repair << [Autoplay V2 Event]
Step: No steps to take.
Result: This AutoPlay setting cannot be fixed. Either the device is malfunctioning, or the wizard cannot determine the problem.

>> Required action: The wizard found problems but cannot fix them -> None

Now I'm sure the device isn't malfunctioning because I'm not even using the same device because I switched odd's from another pc.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#31
format and reinstall.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
526 (0.15/day)
Likes
55
#32
My current DVD drive wouldn't read most (any? I forget) DVDs. IDE. If I recall, it's that it didn't install properly. I went into device manager and uninstalled all the IDE drivers. They weren't under the DVD or drives, they're under the IDE/ATAPI section. Then rebooted and everything worked.

You can google for more info on that if you're worried about trying it, but all PCs should automatically reinstall the IDE drivers upon reboot when it finds the hardware.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#33
Mussels, I'm 99% sure that a format and clean windows install wouldn't be solving the problem.
This problem has been present from the very beginning, when I assembled the pc and installed windows the first time last June. I had been thinking that it was the brand of diskettes or something, or because the cd's were old... anyway I didn't bother then because I used my other pc for burning. But now my old P4 has one foot in the grave, and I've tested various cd's, and now I'm sure there is a problem.

Deusxmachina, thanks for that advice, I'll be trying it out. However my problem is that it doesn't want to burn, not that it doesn't read cd's or dvd's. :ohwell:
Edit: in fact I just tried it and it didn't work either. I even uninstalled the IDE's as a hardware.
 
Last edited:

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#34


Anyone? :ohwell:

Please? :respect:
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.30/day)
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#35
have you tried another burning program like nero?
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#36
Sounds like your Windows XP drivers for CD/DVD Rom's are bodged.
If your copy of XP is pirated, that may explain why.

Pirated OS's can often get corruptions in certain files.

Try it in another OS maybe?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#37
Sounds like your Windows XP drivers for CD/DVD Rom's are bodged.
If your copy of XP is pirated, that may explain why.

Pirated OS's can often get corruptions in certain files.

Try it in another OS maybe?
I'm 100% sure that my XP is legal.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#38
I've been researching this since you started this thread; The only solution I can come up with is to remove all DVD divers and all applications that use DVD.

Then, let windows install DVD drivers, update - including firmware.

Re-install applications that use DVD's (nero etc)
Do not let these applications be the "Default Application", just say "NO".

If that doesn't do it then the Drive is probably bad.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#39
I've been researching this since you started this thread; The only solution I can come up with is to remove all DVD divers and all applications that use DVD.

Then, let windows install DVD drivers, update - including firmware.

Re-install applications that use DVD's (nero etc)
Do not let these applications be the "Default Application", just say "NO".

If that doesn't do it then the Drive is probably bad.
Thanks for following up Namslas.

I already uninstalled dvd (and IDE) drivers, let windows install them and updated the firmware. The only application I have which uses dvd's is windows media player... I don't have Nero. Actually I was planning to install it to see if it improves things...

I don't think the drive is bad. I swapped it with another LG H44N from another pc, and my drive works in the other pc... and the other pc's drive doesn't burn in mine! It has to be something inside my computer... some software... some incorrect registry setting...
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
1,455 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Location
The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
Processor custom dupont risk chip cpu prototype
Motherboard custom ibm x5 solid state carbon mainboard
Cooling industrial technologies prototype dupont custom heat transfer unit
Memory 6x 2gig prototype ecc hnc ddr4
Video Card(s) prototype low energy version nvidia 9 series unnumberd card
Storage 1tb solid state hdd
Display(s) 44 inch samsung plasma screen tv/monitor
Case custom ibm mobile home server case
Audio Device(s) custom Yamaha sound processing processor in spm format
Power Supply 1200watt deli cord custom made dupont type psu
Software sun unix/windows type v
#40
I has the same problem just after the guarantee ended and as a result I no longer by LG drives.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#42
I tried the upper/lower filter thingie but they are not to be found in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}.

Does all of this look OK for my drive?

Property Value
Device ID SCSI\CDROMVEN_HL-DT-STPROD_DVDRAM_GSA-H44NREV_RB01\514880C4E0000
Status 0x0180200a Started
Problem 0x00000000 (0)
Service cdrom
Capabilities 0x00000060
Config Flags 0x00000000
Class CDROM
Manufacturer (Standard CD-ROM drives)
Hardware IDs SCSI\CdRomHL-DT-STDVDRAM_GSA-H44N_RB01
SCSI\CdRomHL-DT-STDVDRAM_GSA-H44N_
SCSI\CdRomHL-DT-ST
SCSI\HL-DT-STDVDRAM_GSA-H44N_R
HL-DT-STDVDRAM_GSA-H44N_R
GenCdRom
Compatible IDs SCSI\CdRom
SCSI\RAW
Class GUID {4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
Location Bus Number 0, Target ID 0, LUN 0
Enumerator name SCSI
Description CD-ROM Drive
Friendly name HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H44N SCSI CdRom Device
Driver {4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0004
Physical Object Name \Device\Scsi\JRAID1Port4Path0Target0Lun0
Install State 0x00000000
Device Address 0x00000000
Device Configuration File c:\windows\inf\cdrom.inf
Used Files C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\cdrom.sys
C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\redbook.sys
C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\imapi.sys
C:\WINDOWS\system32\storprop.dll
EnumPropPages32 storprop.dll,DvdPropPageProvider
InfPath cdrom.inf
InfSection cdrom_install
ProviderName Microsoft
DriverDateData 00 80 62 C5 C0 01 C1 01
DriverDate 7-1-2001
DriverVersion 5.1.2535.0
MatchingDeviceId gencdrom
DriverDesc CD-ROM Drive

Class CDROM
DVD/CD-ROM drives
EnumPropPages32 MmSys.Cpl,MediaPropPageProvider
Installer32 storprop.dll,DvdClassInstaller
SilentInstall 1
NoInstallClass 1
TroubleShooter-0 hcp://help/tshoot/tsdrive.htm
Icon -51


Property Value
Type DVD
Vendor LG Electronics
Model HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H44N SCSI CdRom Device
Interface SCSI
Removable Yes
Location Bus=0, Logical Unit=0, Port=4, Target Id=0
Drive letter D
Controller Buffer Size on Drive 8467 KBytes
SMART Support No


EDIT: I've edited post #1 of this thread to summarise what I have done so far.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#43
well i guess its simple:

Problem burner: If it works in your system but not others, its most likely that drive.

Alternate burner: if other burners dont work in your system either, you could have a compound problem - who's to say a software bug/bad driver didnt START this, and then the drive conveniently died at the same time. Its coincidental, but entirely possible. If this is the case, a format AND a new drive would be my reccomendaton.
 

Skrabrug

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
608 (0.16/day)
Likes
33
Location
Australia
System Name DU45 MkII
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
Motherboard eVGA nForce 780i
Cooling Coolermaster Aquagate MAX, 2x 230mm fans, 1x 140mm fan
Memory Crucial Ballistix TRACER 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin 800 (PC2 6400) DDR2
Video Card(s) Galaxy GeForce 8800GT HDMI
Storage 750GB Seagate (SATA2), 400Gb Samsung (SATA2), 1 TB Seagate
Display(s) Acer 22" WS X223w & CMV CM-922D 19" LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio Card
Power Supply 750w Zalman
Software Microshaft Winblows XP - Pro (SP2)
#44
Could be the firmware.. have you updated the firmware? (and i don't mean installing the firmware off of the disc that came with it but actually looking for and downloading the latest firmware)
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#45
Are your motherboard's chipset drivers up to date?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#46
Well I'll be damned.

I downloaded a free utility called IMGBURN from here http://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download and it allowed me to burn a photo on a cd! It's the first time that my drive really used its burning function!

I still have the nagging thought as to why the normal Windows 'paste' and 'copy files on cd' doesn't work on my pc but works on my same drive installed on another pc, but well as long as it works I'm not going to worry my head off now, whether it works with XP software or with a third party program.

:nutkick:

:rockout:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#47
Well I'll be damned.

I downloaded a free utility called IMGBURN from here http://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download and it allowed me to burn a photo on a cd! It's the first time that my drive really used its burning function!

I still have the nagging thought as to why the normal Windows 'paste' and 'copy files on cd' doesn't work on my pc but works on my same drive installed on another pc, but well as long as it works I'm not going to worry my head off now, whether it works with XP software or with a third party program.

:nutkick:

:rockout:
the windows one relies on the IMAPI (sounds like i'm happy lol) burning service to be enabled - i never use that, only nero so i cant help.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#48
I checked the IMAPI service and it's on manual as it should be. In the services log it says (when using the windows burner)
- The IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service service was successfully sent a start control.
- The IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service service entered the running state.
- The IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service service entered the stopped state.

Obviously it stops because I stop it. It keeps asking me to put a cd-r in the drive when there is already one empty cd-r, and I have to press cancel.

I think if I get Nero it'd be working as well.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#49
I checked the IMAPI service and it's on manual as it should be. In the services log it says (when using the windows burner)
- The IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service service was successfully sent a start control.
- The IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service service entered the running state.
- The IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service service entered the stopped state.

Obviously it stops because I stop it. It keeps asking me to put a cd-r in the drive when there is already one empty cd-r, and I have to press cancel.

I think if I get Nero it'd be working as well.
my opinion would be that something is casuing a problem with the XP impapi service, stopping it from seeing blank disks.

One idea: you dont have alcohol 120% do you? it has an anti-security option to 'hide CD-R media' or the like, to prevent games from seeing that disks were burned and not printed. Its a possible culprit for this situation.

(Deamon tools and other apps that have anti-security measures may have options like this, try disabling them all one by one)