• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

DVD ROM drive, flash card reader, and hard drive slowing data transfer speed

Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello!

I need help with three issues, but they might be related.

Issue A: When I put a CD/DVD into my DVD, the system (My Computer/Properties) recognizes the hardware, but it will not play. (Drive letter "D".)

Issue B: My computer will not recognize my data (flash?) cards from my digital camcorder/camera.

Issue C: My computer's hard drive (Drive letter "C") once accepted my Firewire uplink (1333). Now, my NLE (Pinnacle Studio 9 Plus) give the error message "Drive C is not capable of capturing DV data", meaning it's date transfer rate is too slow.

How can I fix these issues? Do I have to buy a new hard drive? Please help me. :(

Here are my computer's specs:

*Motherboard - L4S5MG
*800MHz Front Side Bus System Board w/Intel 865PE Chipset
*Intel Pentium 4.266 GHz HyperThreading Processor.
*It's made by Viscom (V2 Premier).
*120GB Western Digital 5400RPM EIDE Hard Drive
*SIS 64MB AGP Video
*Creative Sound Blaster Live 24 bit sound card
*DVD-RW/CD-RW Drive (working fine)
*DVD Drive (being fickel, as well as my floppy disk drive)
*PRO-9 Compact Flashcard Reader with Memory Stick, Memory Stick Pro, SmartMedia, MicroDrive, Multimedia, Secure Digital, xD, and FireWire ports
*OS is Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
*NLEs are Adobe Premier 7.0, Pinnacle Studio Version 9 (the program where I do my data rate test), and Sony Vegas
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#2
1st ? What wattage is the power supply
assume that all work well untill recentlly or have you installed any new hdware?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#3
Start-->Control Panel--> Performanca & Maint-->System-->Hardware Tab-->Device Manager


In the new window that opens click the + sign next to the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers. In the listing below double click the Primary IDE channel. In the new box that opens select Advanced Properties.


Now either you can type out what is in the Current Transfer Mode boxes or use Shift then Print Screen to create a screenshot. YOu paste that in Paint and save as a .JPG file and post that.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#5
I believe it's like a 520 PSU, but that's off the top of my head.:eek: (I'm not at home right now).
520??? on that rig more likely 220/320 but if not the psu prob the ECS motherboard .the 5400 speed hdd should be alright >>IF its not too full ie.90+gb
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Start-->Control Panel--> Performanca & Maint-->System-->Hardware Tab-->Device Manager


In the new window that opens click the + sign next to the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers. In the listing below double click the Primary IDE channel. In the new box that opens select Advanced Properties.


Now either you can type out what is in the Current Transfer Mode boxes or use Shift then Print Screen to create a screenshot. YOu paste that in Paint and save as a .JPG file and post that.
I'll give that a try. I have gone into the Device Manager and changed it from DMA to PIO Only and then back. But I'll try this method, too.

Wondering (and anyone reading this can answer, because I need help!), is there anyting in BIOS that I need to change to make the data transfer rate on my hard drive read the correct speed of 7200MPS?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#8
I believe you mean 7200RPM. If the BIOS stated 5400RPM then it truly might be.


Western Digital did make some high capacity drives with the older 5400 spec.



And your system specs are abit strange. 800MHZ on a 865 chipset was about 4 years ago. And unless your CPU was upgraded or you have overclocked then 4+Ghz is not true. Possibly a HT chip that is 2.4 X or a 2.0 X 2.


The reason I was having you check your transfer mode is a PIO (Parented Input-Output mode, the CPU is part of the transfer equation,) as opposed to DMA (Direct Memory Access) that has no CPU load and allows independant timing and high speed read and writes directly to system memory. And the DMA mode will determine if there are or have been errors during the read and write process.


Windows will automaticly drop the read-write speed if the drive or controller reports errors or if the data transfered is corrupt. It does this with no user input, and the only way to tell is to check or to look it up in the registry.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#9
old mb 2002 mdl
spec:CHIPSET
SiS®650 & SiS®961 Chipset
SiS®650 Host/Memory controller with AGP4X North Bridge Single Chipset
Built-in High Quality 3D Accelerator
SiS®961 MuTIOL Media I/O
LPC I/O - IT8705F
System Hardware Monitor: Built-in IT8705F
LAN: RealTek 8100/B (Optional)
AC97 Audio Codec
Compliant with AC97 2.1 specification
prob reached end of life ...fast way back when...:)
but from Issue A B &C prob south or north chipset starting to fail.. p4@2.66 Ghz most likely all it will support