• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

DVI(f) to VGA(m) adaptor?

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#1
I am in need of a DVI to VGA adaptor. I use DVI, and yes, my TV does have vga, but it's far more of a pain in the ass to dig that cable out every damn time rather than use an adaptor. I saw one on this website (dealextreme.com) where I bought a universal remote, but it didn't work.

Does such a thing exist? Where can I get one that works?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3


I ended up buying that adaptor and it came today. It didn't work, just like the one from dealextreme didn't work.

What's the deal here... do DVI to VGA adaptors simply not work? Are they a scam through and through? Or am I such a cursed, unlucky soul that I ordered 2 adaptors, both from different places, and niether of them work? Am I somehow doing something wrong?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,281 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,190
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
That's great... but I don't want to buy a third adaptor...
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,911 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,004
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#6
I am in need of a DVI to VGA adaptor. I use DVI, and yes, my TV does have vga, but it's far more of a pain in the ass to dig that cable out every damn time rather than use an adaptor. I saw one on this website (dealextreme.com) where I bought a universal remote, but it didn't work.

Does such a thing exist? Where can I get one that works?
Sounds to me like you are using the DVI-D cable that came with the monitor so those DVI-A adapters won't work (all the pins may be there but they don't have signals). You need to replace that DVI-D cable with a DVI-I cable which has all the pins running through it, not just the pins necesssary for digital. Anyone of these should work (male to male, DVI-I cables) + one of those adapters you already got:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2E16812119047,N82E16812119048,N82E16812119046

Correct me if I am wrong but this is what I assume you are trying to do:

Video card (DVI-I female) -> LCD (DVI-D female)
AND
Video card (DVI-I female) -> adapter (DVI-A female TO VGA male) -> TV (VGA female)


DVI-I = digital and analog
DVI-D = digital
DVI-A = analog
 
Last edited:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#7
The VGA pins on the card are fine, as I am using the pc right now with a vga cable. The card doesn't have dvi, that's the problem. I use DVI, but this card is VGA only, so I need an adaptor that goes from dvi female to vga male.

My tv doesn't really have DVI, it has HDMI, and my cable is HDMI on one end and DVI on the other. The DVI end has all the pins though.

Correct me if I am wrong but this is what I assume you are trying to do:

Video card (DVI-I female) -> LCD (DVI-D female)
AND
Video card (DVI-I female) -> adapter (DVI-A female TO VGA male) -> TV (VGA female)
No. I am using this between different computers... I keep the same setup, it's just that I tack the adaptor on the end of the cable when I am using the computer that doesn't have dvi.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#8
They work fine if you use a VGA cable to connect to the TV. Adapter lowers quality to VGA level, anyways.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,911 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,004
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#9
No. I am using this between different computers... I keep the same setup, it's just that I tack the adaptor on the end of the cable when I am using the computer that doesn't have dvi.
So you are doing:
Video card (DVI-I female) -> LCD (HDMI male)
OR
Video card (VGA female) -> adapter (VGA female TO DVI-A male) -> TV (HDMI male)

That won't work. HDMI is digital only and VGA is analog. You would need to replace the video card in that computer or do everything in analog. The DVI pin outs drop the analog signal in adapting to digital.


I'll try to put this simply...

DVI-I to DVI-D/HDMI -Good
Analog RGB -> dropped
Digital RGB -> Digital RGB

DVI-I to DVI-A - Good
Analog RGB -> Analog RGB
Digital RGB -> dropped

DVI-A to DVI-D/HDMI - No signal - here's your problem
Analog RGB -> dropped
Digital RGB -> not present
 
Last edited:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#10
Ah, so my HDMI cable carries digital only. Replacing the video card... problem is, that I end up with a ton of computers with vga only. Thoroughbred for one, my mom's pc for another, and I just worked on one for my aunt that was like that... I guess I'll have to put up with the vga cable then.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,911 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,004
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#11
I have a DVI-D + VGA KVM and have a DVI-D and VGA cable going to my monitor. It was over $400 for everything (switch plus KVM cables) and switching between VGA and DVI-D sources is a pain because the monitor has to loop through them all (including HDMI) to find the right one.

90%+ of the time though, I only have two DVI-D computers plugged in so it isn't a problem. The cheapest solution would be VGA for everything. You can get VGA KVMs for pretty cheap if you don't have one.
 

adcom32

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
547 (0.18/day)
Likes
28
Location
macon,GA
System Name new build
Processor INTEL E4300 @ 3.01GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E P35 WIFI EDITION(ATX)
Cooling ThermalTake BigTyp 14Pro
Memory Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 9600GSO
Storage 61.4gb hard drive
Display(s) CRT COMPAQ
Case COOLERMASTER ELITE 310
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD-ADI AD1988B 8-CHANNEL HIGH DEFINITION
Power Supply coolermaster 460w
Software WINDOWS 7 64BIT
#12
i have a HDMI to VGA adapter if you want it.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#13
I have a DVI-D + VGA KVM and have a DVI-D and VGA cable going to my monitor. It was over $400 for everything (switch plus KVM cables) and switching between VGA and DVI-D sources is a pain because the monitor has to loop through them all (including HDMI) to find the right one.

90%+ of the time though, I only have two DVI-D computers plugged in so it isn't a problem. The cheapest solution would be VGA for everything. You can get VGA KVMs for pretty cheap if you don't have one.
I only use one pc at a time, hell, they're all in sperate rooms, so using a kvm switch really isn't a good option
i have a HDMI to VGA adapter if you want it.
Thanks for the offer, but that would still require switching cables and buying more stuff... I think I'll just stick with what I have now
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,911 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,004
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#14
i have a HDMI to VGA adapter if you want it.
That's an idea. If you get something that takes an analog signal and converts it to digital, it would work. It wouldn't be cheap though and most likely, it would have a delay.

...

I found a few but as I thought, not cheap:
http://www.dvigear.com/vgatodvicosc.html $400
http://www.svideo.com/vga2dvi.html $300
http://www.vpi.us/dvi-scaler.html $400
http://www.startech.com/item/VGA2DVII-VGAHDTV-to-DVI-I-Scaler-Converter.aspx $260