• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

DX10.1: impact on game performance

Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
242 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Antwerp, Belgium
Processor Intel Xeon X5650 @ 3.6Ghz - 1.2v
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Assassin
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 120
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ PC1600
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce GTX 780 3GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro + 3TB + 3TB + 2TB
Display(s) HP ZR22w
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Antec HCG-620M
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#2
if its not dx10.1 soley .. meh ..
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#3
The title should be "DX10.1: impact on Assasins Creed performance".
And even then there's no real proof that the improvement is not due to SP1, they didn't include Nvidia hardware and only tested HD2900 XT to conclude it's not due to SP1. IMO there's still a lot to be known before we can make any conclusion.

But I quess that DX10.1 when it comes to custom AA is faster than DX10. Indeed is one of the new features. But I can assure you that the difference in AA quality shown in the screenies in that link are not common to other games. My card does AA as good as the DX10.1 in the review. IMO it's not that in Assasins Creed DX10.1 AA is better but that non DX10.1 AA sucks. Compare it to no AA screen if you don't believe me.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#4
Yeah a on Fudzilla they had a thing linking to a review between DX10 and DX10.1 of Assassin Creed and they found that DX10.1 had a 20% increase in FPS over DX10.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#5
Yeah a on Fudzilla they had a thing linking to a review between DX10 and DX10.1 of Assassin Creed and they found that DX10.1 had a 20% increase in FPS over DX10.
It's the same. :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
242 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Antwerp, Belgium
Processor Intel Xeon X5650 @ 3.6Ghz - 1.2v
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Assassin
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 120
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ PC1600
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce GTX 780 3GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro + 3TB + 3TB + 2TB
Display(s) HP ZR22w
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Antec HCG-620M
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
I'm not saying the review is FACT.
But it's still very intresting!
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#7
I don't see how it would be DX10.1 that caused the performance discrepancy as the game is DX9/10-only.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
242 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Antwerp, Belgium
Processor Intel Xeon X5650 @ 3.6Ghz - 1.2v
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Assassin
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 120
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ PC1600
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce GTX 780 3GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro + 3TB + 3TB + 2TB
Display(s) HP ZR22w
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Antec HCG-620M
Software Windows 7 x64
#8
Well this is interesting:
http://www.computerbase.de/news/software/spiele/actionspiele/2008/april/ati_assassins_creed_d3d_101/

Translated:
http://www.google.com/translate?u=h...s_creed_d3d_101/&langpair=de|en&hl=en&ie=UTF8

Specially this part:
'Compared to a GeForce 8800 GTX, we can confirm that the anti-aliasing at exactly the same place on a Direct3D 10-graphics card is not working.'

I think this would explain why they are not advertising DX10.1 support:
http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_twimtbp_gameslist.html

Well it's a 'The Way It's Meant To Be Played' game ...
For sure nVidia won't allow DX10.1 support to overshadow TWIMTBP!
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#9
Well this is interesting:
http://www.computerbase.de/news/software/spiele/actionspiele/2008/april/ati_assassins_creed_d3d_101/

Translated:
http://www.google.com/translate?u=h...s_creed_d3d_101/&langpair=de|en&hl=en&ie=UTF8

Specially this part:
'Compared to a GeForce 8800 GTX, we can confirm that the anti-aliasing at exactly the same place on a Direct3D 10-graphics card is not working.'

I think this would explain why they are not advertising DX10.1 support:
http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_twimtbp_gameslist.html

Well it's a 'The Way It's Meant To Be Played' game ...
For sure nVidia won't allow DX10.1 support to overshadow TWIMTBP!
DX10.1 will be the future if ATI properly promotes it to other gaming developers. We just need to see it in more games.

Side note, there is already a thread about it here
 

warhammer

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
204 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
Processor Q6600@3.6
Motherboard Evga 680i
Cooling H20
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 8800GTS 512 SLI
Storage 4x320gig
Display(s) 21CRT
Case ARMOR
Audio Device(s) SB
Power Supply 750W
Software VISTA ULTIMATE
#10
Its all a scam to get you to spend $$$$$$
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#12
y'know we love the reviews because it makes us feel like we all need it.


damn . . . time to go listen to some Manson.
 

Megasty

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
1,263 (0.35/day)
Likes
81
Location
The Kingdom of Au
Processor i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz (4.0 when gaming)
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme - Yeah I Bought It...
Cooling Swiftech.
Memory 12 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - I Love Red
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870X2 - That Fan Is...!?
Storage 4 WD 1.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Sceptre
Case TT Xaser VI - Fugly, Red, & Huge...
Audio Device(s) The ASUS Thingy
Power Supply Ultra X3 1000W
Software Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit
#13
y'know we love the reviews because it makes us feel like we all need it.


damn . . . time to go listen to some Manson.
I didn't know it was that bad to be stuck in a scam :D

The game itself is a buggy mess with the keyboard & mouse on my DX10.1 ATI system. I used a logitech gamepad to get it to play as sweet as sugar - no lag, pov bugs, or nothing. With my DX10 Nvidia setup, it lagged like crazy even with 2 8800GTS's. The new patch kills the DX10.1 which made a complete difference on the Nvidia system. Its a shame that my x2 alone could outplay 2 8800GTS's just because of DX10.1, but I'm not complaining...too much :D
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#14
I would say its the fact that DX10.1 has global lighting enabled; this makes the game coding more streamlined (as in they don't have to manually program each object to be affected by a lighting source-afaik it would probably put an increased load on the GPU itself).
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#15
I run it on dx9, seems a bit smoother.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#16
I read that Ubisoft will be patching the game to disable the 10.1 features and the performance benefits that come with the newer ATi cards. Would this have anything to do with the fact the game is a TWIMTBP title?