• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

DX10 for XP ?!?!

Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
423 (0.10/day)
Likes
10
Location
Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
System Name NINJA ASSASSIN
Processor Intel Core i5 2500 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asrock H61M/U3S3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 760 4GB
Storage WD Green 1TB :: WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 32" Teac LED TV
Case BitFenix Shinobi w/ Window
Audio Device(s) Creative SB VX 5.1
Power Supply XFX PRO 650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
#1
Hey guys

Stumbled across this while looking for some Crysis vids.

Install DirectX 10 on Windows XP

Do you think it would work :confused:

I particularly don't care coz I'm using Vista anyway but it may be interesting to test out :confused:

*shrugs*

:rockout:
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#2
I am testing it as we speak, I used the same installer. So far its ok, the only crash I had was with Assassin's Creed, and that was with its controller setup features.

EDIT: But I think it had nothing to do with the DX10 installer or DX10 in itself.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
423 (0.10/day)
Likes
10
Location
Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
System Name NINJA ASSASSIN
Processor Intel Core i5 2500 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asrock H61M/U3S3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 760 4GB
Storage WD Green 1TB :: WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 32" Teac LED TV
Case BitFenix Shinobi w/ Window
Audio Device(s) Creative SB VX 5.1
Power Supply XFX PRO 650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
#3
I am testing it as we speak, I used the same installer as we speak. So far its ok, the only crash I had was with Assassin's Creed, and that was with its controller setup features.

EDIT: But I think it had nothing to do with the DX10 installer or DX10 in itself.

:D SHHWEET
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#4
I hope it actually works out...I'm sure the performance dedredation would be worse than Vista...but could be promising for at least messing around with if it works!

:toast:
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#5
So far it does work. I noticed some minor visual differences in Assassin's Creed. I don't play Crysis, but I wouldn't be able to truly utilize it due to my video card. I doubt I can run Very High settings.

The Witcher looks very good with it, before with DX9 looked like utter crap.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#6
mmm... i wonder if my card will do DX10... with like 2 shaders... I sense some fail.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#7
Sweet man! Well get the word spread...a working DX10-ish implementation for XP! Awesome!
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#8
At the best ya can get near dx10 under xp its been covered a few times
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#9
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#10
has it affected any other aspects of your computing experience?

this would be nice considering i just picked up that 3850 and i dont particularly like Vista and i dont think it would run on my PC

thnx for being the "guinea pig" :p jR

:toast:
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
423 (0.10/day)
Likes
10
Location
Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
System Name NINJA ASSASSIN
Processor Intel Core i5 2500 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asrock H61M/U3S3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 760 4GB
Storage WD Green 1TB :: WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 32" Teac LED TV
Case BitFenix Shinobi w/ Window
Audio Device(s) Creative SB VX 5.1
Power Supply XFX PRO 650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
#11
Awesome ... Finally I found something of use LOL

I wonder if any of the mad scientists of TPU can fiddle with it to get it working better :confused:
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#12
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#13
jR have you tried playing any older games DX9 with that patch installed? any problems?

i have a feeling that M$ will be implementing DX10 into a later Xp update just that it will take some time

:toast:
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#14
Yeah, PVT, unfortunately the drivers for the 7 series cards will not extend DX10 to them.

I try my best, intel, I should try out a few more DX10 games. Is Rainbow Six:Vegas DX10 ready?

EDIT: No problems at all with DX9. Although, Bioshock doesn't work at all. I should try installing it on rig 2 tonight and see if it just isnt a disc problem.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#15
Ill give it a go when I get my 3850
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#16
sounds like a scam i think it will be like that cryis directx 9 ultra settings thing

NO WAY can they get directx 10 on xp its built into the os core

if they can get directx 10 to work on xp why not linux or Mac OS EH?

see its utter mince
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#17
if they can get directx 10 to work on xp why not linux or Mac OS EH?
You honestly can't figure out why Vista is more like XP than it is like Linux or MacOS? Ever noticed how programs run on both Vista and XP while they don't on Linux or MacOS? They must have something in common...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Saakki

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
301 (0.08/day)
Likes
24
Location
Finland
System Name JGG
Processor Q6600 @ 3,4ghz
Motherboard Rampage Formula
Cooling Xigmatek, Nexus
Memory 1100 mhz Pi
Video Card(s) 6950 + Accelero Xtreme Plus
Storage 1tb+1tb
Display(s) Acer 19" LCD 5ms + 17 " Hitachi
Case Fractal Design Define R2
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply XFX Core 650
Software Win 7 ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Q6600 @ 3.5 ghz + and 6950 @ 6970 +
#18
i think that is just a latest DX9 patch with crappy text changes? :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#19
Surely the graphics drivers from nvidia/ati, etc would have to support it though?? The XP drivers arent going to have DirectX10 coding in them right?
 

Saakki

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
301 (0.08/day)
Likes
24
Location
Finland
System Name JGG
Processor Q6600 @ 3,4ghz
Motherboard Rampage Formula
Cooling Xigmatek, Nexus
Memory 1100 mhz Pi
Video Card(s) 6950 + Accelero Xtreme Plus
Storage 1tb+1tb
Display(s) Acer 19" LCD 5ms + 17 " Hitachi
Case Fractal Design Define R2
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply XFX Core 650
Software Win 7 ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Q6600 @ 3.5 ghz + and 6950 @ 6970 +
#20
i highly doubt that this is better than up to date dx9 ..but if someone rly has some positive results..please let us know :toast:
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#21
As expected this is fake. It does let dxdiag show DX10, though nowhere in the filelist I can find DX10 files. So I downloaded the Cascades demo, and it doesn't start at all due to lacking DX10 files. Besides, during the installer I noticed some DX9 files being copied.

If there actually is a working version ever, I'm pretty sure every major site will tell you.
 

Saakki

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
301 (0.08/day)
Likes
24
Location
Finland
System Name JGG
Processor Q6600 @ 3,4ghz
Motherboard Rampage Formula
Cooling Xigmatek, Nexus
Memory 1100 mhz Pi
Video Card(s) 6950 + Accelero Xtreme Plus
Storage 1tb+1tb
Display(s) Acer 19" LCD 5ms + 17 " Hitachi
Case Fractal Design Define R2
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply XFX Core 650
Software Win 7 ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Q6600 @ 3.5 ghz + and 6950 @ 6970 +
#22
"knew it" :banghead:
 

SiCk

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD 4200+ X2 E6 S939 @2,6Ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8R-MVP
Cooling Freezer Pro 64
Memory 2GB RAM DDR400
Video Card(s) Club3D 8800GTS 320 @ 680/1600/2000
Power Supply Tacens 460w
#23
Then works or not?
Proofs?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,088 (0.23/day)
Likes
360
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#24
Yeah, PVT, unfortunately the drivers for the 7 series cards will not extend DX10 to them.

I try my best, intel, I should try out a few more DX10 games. Is Rainbow Six:Vegas DX10 ready?

EDIT: No problems at all with DX9. Although, Bioshock doesn't work at all. I should try installing it on rig 2 tonight and see if it just isnt a disc problem.

i had this installed a few weeks ago and killed bioshock;only a fresh xp install will make it work;sys restore don't help:laugh:;i\ve noticed a few things on crysis so it may work but in dx test you don't have the dx10 test even it show that you have dx10:D

ping pong test don't work i forget to mention ...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#25
It doesnt no suprise there alky project or whatever hacks are just fakes and wont werk dx10 is Vista exclusive end of story.