1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DX10 - the latest version?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Black Panther, Jul 31, 2009.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    The latest version is 10.1 or is there another one?

    I checked out my dxdiag report and it doesn't say 10.1 but only 10.
    Now I checked on the net and read that 10.1 was supposed to be automatically installed with SP1 of Vista.... I have Vista SP2... :wtf:

    Any idea from where I can get the latest version? Which date is the latest version?

    I googled to find it but only found the 'regular' DX10 :ohwell:
     
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,942 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,189
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Windows XP = DirectX 9.0c
    Windows Vista = DirectX 10.1
    Windows 7 = DirectX 11


    Running dxdiag will tell you what version is installed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    On my DXDiag, It says on the System Tab DirectX Version: DirectX 10, but on the Display Tab it says Version 10.1
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,942 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,189
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Heh, that could be it. DirectX as a whole is still 10 but Direct3D has been incremented to 10.1.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    686 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    why microsoft don't update DX10 like DX9 every three months there is update for dx9 but nothing for dx10
     
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,942 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,189
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Maybe no reason to. Most of the updates for DirectX 9 was fixing obscure little bugs rather than adding new features. DirectX 10 is apparently much more streamlined so little bugs are much less likely to happen. The more mature it gets, the more it will resemble DirectX 9 (requiring constant patching to keep operable).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    Yes, thing is my dxdiag tells me I have DirectX 10 not DirectX 10.1

     
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,942 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,189
    Location:
    IA, USA
    What does it say under the Display tab?


    Edit: DxDiag Version: 6.00.6001.18000

    That is the version number with Direct3D 10.1. You are up to date.

    6.00.6000.16386 <-- requires update (Direct3D 10).


    There's no way to update just DirectX 10+ at this point.
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Could also be due to you running an Nvidia card, which is not DX 10.1 compliant.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Was about to ask same thing.
     
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That's exactly why, you may get a software version number increase, however your hardware is only DX10.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    They actualy update both dx10 and dx10 every three months. They update where there is a update needed.

    Whats showed in dxdiag, is the MAIN directX version installed. Since 10.1 is only a superset, it wont show there. Oh, and Nvidia dosnt have a card out yet, that supports 10.1.
     
  13. wolf2009 Guest

    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,454 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    DX11 is the latest :p (win 7)
    Remember that your cards are only DX10, which is why they wont report higher in anything.

    Ding ding ding! you win one E-cookie!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    689 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    When Win 7 comes out will DirectX 11 also be for XP/Vista users too or only for Win 7?
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,454 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    DX11 is out, technically.


    At first it will be 7 only, but it has been confirmed it will go to vista.

    XP users are left in the dark - where XP belongs. its long past its use by date.
     
    sttubs says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    Based on your hardware you are not able to use DX10.1 which was provided in Vista SP1. That was the latest incremental version at the time that SP1 was rolled out. Since Win7 initial release to the public DX11 is the most recent version of Directx. Currently there are no video cards that support it directly. But that will change this fall. So far, Codemasters Dirt 2 will be released using Dx11 with other titles to follow.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    really? DX11 for Vista?
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,454 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yes, really. google it - it was announced long ago.


    DX11 = DX10 based, and compatible. they learned their lesson with the harsh upgrade curve from 9.0 to 10.0.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. wolf2009 Guest

    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,942 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,189
    Location:
    IA, USA
    How is that redeemable? :D


    NNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!! You won't take it from me whilst I still breathe! :nutkick:


    They had to get rid of all the excess, archaic code DX has accumulated in over 10 years and start fresh. There was no intention to ever make DX10 backwards compatibile with DX9. Doing so would defeat the purpose of redesigning it. :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,454 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yes, but they could have made it more compatible - DX9 cards could run DX10 games with missing features, for example. So the devs only had to code one game, not two (DX9 + DX10)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,942 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,189
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The major change between DX9 and DX10 is that DX9 had compatibility bits while DX10 doesn't. That is, compatibility for DX10 is determined by the version number of DirectX (10, 10.1) virtually making it impossible for another 9.0a, 9.0b, 9.0c to happen. Making DX10 backwards compatible with DX9 would mean keeping the capability bits which in turn means the major advantage of DX10 would no longer be an advantage (the reason Vista gets a few FPS better than XP DX10 compared to DX9).
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,454 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    it was neccesary to do it once (there was code going back to DX3.0, in 9.0C) - but they know not to do it again anytime soon.

    just like DX7 cards could run DX9.0C as long as the game didnt need shaders, (like many source games) DX10 cards (and 10.1) will be able to run DX11 games.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    DirectX 9 = Vista & 7, XP,2000, 2003 & 2008 /R2 Server
    DirectX 10 = Vista & 7, 2008 /R2 Server
    DirectX 10.1 = Vista & 7
    DirectX 11 = Vista & 7, 2008 /R2 Server

    basicly 7 has every version of directx built in
    DirectX 11 will be supported by Vista but NOT XP or older, why? 7 is basicly a refined vista
    if you dont like vista, then dont get 7 ;P

    every directx version is backwards compatible with older version thats why you can run DirectX 9 games in XP and DirectX 10.1 or 11 in Vista
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)