• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E5-2690 v2 on LGA2011 x79 platform; mem clocks @ 1866MHz

Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Hi

Just testing an Xeon E5-2690 v2 on LGA2011 x79 platform; mem clocks @ 1866MHz.

Using the following Mem Modules
[RipjawsZ] F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH
DDR3-2133 (PC3-17000)
16GB (4GBx4)
CL9-11-10-28
1.65 Volt
@
DDR3-1866MHz
CL8-10-9-27
1.59 Volt's

Question
Any way to force higher clock's 2133MHz or higher?
and or
am I stuck with lowering clock and volts and pushing for tighter timings!


atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
876 (0.67/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Try increasing VCCSA and/or CPU VTT.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Thank agent_x007 will give this a go later this week; snowed under with a small water cooling project at this time.

saying that; got some more RAM 2400MHz 16GB for a good price.

so at this time I am running the following;
Using the following Mem Modules
[RipjawsZ] F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH
DDR3-2133 (PC3-17000)
16GB (4GBx4)
CL9-11-10-28
1.65 Volt
@11-12-12-32-232 T2 again 1866MHz

[TridentX ] F3- 2400C10Q-16GTX
DDR3-2400 (PC3-19200)
16GB (4GBx4)
CL10-12-12-31
1.65 Volt
@11-12-12-32-232 T2 again 1866MHz

Once I have swapped the TridentX over to the primary DIMM Slots I will check these methods
VCCSA and/or CPU VTT.

Note: I think the Xeon likes the Trident timings at Auto; every thing is working as it should
; will update the thread as and when done.

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Hi here's the update

Once I have swapped the TridentX over to the primary DIMM Slots I will check these methods VCCSA and/or CPU VTT.
Tried every combination and setting I could to no avail; settled with the following:

Using the following Mem Modules
[RipjawsZ] F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH
DDR3-2133 (PC3-17000)
16GB (4GBx4)
CL9-11-10-28
1.65 Volt
@10-11-10-30 T2 1866MHz / 1.52 Volt


[TridentX ] F3- 2400C10Q-16GTX
DDR3-2400 (PC3-19200)
16GB (4GBx4)

CL10-12-12-31
1.65 Volt
@10-11-10-30 T2 1866MHz / 1.52 Volt

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
38 (0.04/day)
Location
Stockholm
I can´t go past 1866Mhz with my 2680v2 either. The systems hangs or I get a BSOD. Give it some OC and beat my 1555 Cinebench score :)

3.7Ghz should be possible when loading all 10 cores on that beast CPU.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Hi
Thanks for the confirmation I think I was seeking, that the Xeon's are memory controller locked or appear to be.

Give it some OC and beat my 1555 Cinebench score
I will give this some serious thought, just waiting on a Phobya G-Changer 360 V.2 to be delivered at some point today. Once that arrives I will start the upgrade to my H2o.

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
38 (0.04/day)
Location
Stockholm
The Xeon V2s doesn´t get hot. My 2680v2 never passes 50c with BCLK @113Mhz. Thats with a Kraken X61
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,230 (0.28/day)
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) EVGA Titan SC }@Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Intel 512 SSD, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
May be 2 things that are an issue,
1. It might be that for that board and CPU just wont do it as observed,
2. You may need to use an older BIOS. I have ran into this issue with a move from my Z68 to Z77. Only swapped the motherboard but it will Not let me change the "Default" 1600 speed of the ole Samsung ram at all. Can do the same of running tighter timing's, but that is all.
The BIOS is the latest that Intel had released and it more likely has to do with being "coded" that the SPD Max speed is all it will allow. Since Many user's was getting higher overclocks with the very same setup the newest BIOS is locking it.
But come to find out, I have to move a jumper just to install a BIOS and just been too busy to keep trying.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Hi

I can´t go past 1866Mhz with my 2680v2 either. The systems hangs or I get a BSOD. Give it some OC and beat my 1555 Cinebench score :)

3.7Ghz should be possible when loading all 10 cores on that beast CPU.
Cinbench R15.jpg
this
BCLK @106Mhz; taking it steady at the moment while still testing the system:toast:

Edit: MEM Timings @9-10-9-28 T2 1866MHz / 1.65 Volt

atb

Law-II

Hi

Thanks for the info:

2. You may need to use an older BIOS.
Not an option; unfortunately, the mobo I use is on it's last supported bios for Sandy-Bridge and fist and last bios for Ivy Bridge architecture. good call though.


atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
38 (0.04/day)
Location
Stockholm
Nice! You have Ryzen 1700x performance now. Go for Ryzen 1800x! :)

I started to get BSODs (WHEA) when i passed 107MHz BCLK. I had to set the voltage to 1.150v. You might need a little bit more.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,230 (0.28/day)
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) EVGA Titan SC }@Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Intel 512 SSD, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
Confirmed 1866 MAX ! Thought you had already went thru the Ark Papers
Memory Specifications
  • Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type) 768 GB
  • Memory Types DDR3 800/1066/1333/1600/1866
  • Max # of Memory Channels 4
  • Max Memory Bandwidth 59.7 GB/s
  • Physical Address Extensions 46-bit
  • ECC Memory Supported ‡ Yes
So even tho the bclk is at 106 it wont bump the Ram, total Locked, bummer
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Hi
Are the Intel Ark; home from home:toast: that and cpu-world

So even tho the bclk is at 106 it wont bump the Ram
I can confirm that while using BCLK that the RAM rises, so no issues there.

What I'm unable to do is get the ram to go higher than 1866MHz without adjusting bclk [which is a minor issue] even though the x79 motherboard supports much higher speeds.

I think It's just a case that I got used to using a 4820k [Ivy-Bridge architecture] on paper is 1866MHz max; however with XMP profiles was able to use much higher RAM speeds.

atb

Law-II
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,463 (3.99/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
I have the RipjawsZ set and on the 3820 it topped out at DDR3-2450 and it was unclear if it was the IMC or DRAM that was preventing it from clocking higher. I have that same set running at stock with the 3930k as well. Basically, the G.Skill set should be able to handle what you're asking for and then some however, I'm not sure if the Xeon will take it.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Hi

I'm not sure if the Xeon will take it.
Indeed I have tried everything I can think of and more to get the Xeon to push for higher MEM clocks at default bclk @100; It may have something to do with supporting multiple cpu's [these come in pairs]; I could see why it would be important to synchronise RAM speed; however I have a limited knowledge of the Xeon cpu at this time, just clutching at straw's.

atb

Law-II
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,463 (3.99/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
Indeed I have tried everything I can think of and more to get the Xeon to push for higher MEM clocks at default bclk @100; It may have something to do with supporting multiple cpu's [these come in pairs]; I could see why it would be important to synchronise RAM speed; however I have a limited knowledge of the Xeon cpu at this time, just clutching at straw's.
How does the machine react when you try to push higher memory clocks? Will it not take the XMP settings or will it not boot when you try to push the clocks higher? The difference between 1000-series Xeons and 2000-series Xeons is the number of QPI links to support multiple processors but, I'm pretty sure that's about it. I don't think QPI is impacted by IMC speeds though. Honestly, quad-channel DDR3-1866 should be enough for that CPU. I would surprised if higher memory clocks alone actually yield any tangible benefit. It didn't on my 3820 between 1600 and 2400.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Hi

Will it not take the XMP settings
XMP settings are greyed out [locked] although all standard memory clocks appear to be enabled in bios

will it not boot when you try to push the clocks higher
If I set the RAM to 2133MHz at boot system mentions that the overclock has failed and to enter bios press F1 or continue with default settings F2

I would surprised if higher memory clocks alone actually yield any tangible benefit. It didn't on my 3820 between 1600 and 2400.
Agreed it's not a deal breaker, not being able to go all out with the memory clocks as timings can always be tightened with more merit.

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Hi

Just a quick update I got the answers to a few questions here Page 8 (21) second paragraph as follows:

"Processor type, DIMM type and *DPC value [*Deferred Procedure Calls] are strong influences on the memory frequency, which cannot be overridden via BIOS"
[in a conventional way]

Source: fujitsu.com

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

ExGANDI

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
2 (0.12/day)
My config: Xeon E5-2690 v0 on LGA2011 x79 platform (ASUS X79-Deluxe); Memory 4 sets of 2x 4GB Team Group Xtreem-LV-2400 /10-12-12-31/ no problem setting everything up to 2400 manually. Default timings and voltages. So problem has noting to do with Xeon processors. Just go buy some better memory and some descent mobo.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,941 (0.62/day)
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.530
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1903 / OS [build 18362.388]
Good Necro

Your reply come across as rude and curt, but am sure you know that.

E5-2690 v0 is unlocked so: so is not a comparison.
Note: I do not appreciate advice to drop money on an out of date system; or up to date.

The thread can be lock, is very old.
 

luTin

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
2 (0.18/day)
My config: Xeon E5-2690 v0 on LGA2011 x79 platform (ASUS X79-Deluxe); Memory 4 sets of 2x 4GB Team Group Xtreem-LV-2400 /10-12-12-31/ no problem setting everything up to 2400 manually. Default timings and voltages. So problem has noting to do with Xeon processors. Just go buy some better memory and some descent mobo.
Interesting. I ordered an x79 Deluxe myself, and some Trident X 2400mhz 3x8GB. I need to find one more stick of 8GB for that quad channel and see if it works @2400mhz by default as it should.

As of now I'm running 4x8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1600mhz 8 8 8 24 1.5v (xmp) @ BLCK107mhz which gives 1998mhz for the ram with timings @8 8 8 24 just bumped voltage to 1.6v, running flawless no error memtest OCCT etc etc. Working on x79 asus rampage IV Formula.

BUT I was indeed unable to select higher frequencies beyond 1833mhz (doesn't post, screen stays black).

I'm pretty sure neither the CPU nor the ram are at fault, I believe it may be the mobo responsible here as the Deluxe was natively designed with IB in mind.
ARK specs are just the safe and recommended specs, we've seen XMP profiles running fine beyond the Intel specs, as one member noted in an earlier post.

If 4x8GB TridentX 2400mhz work out of the box on that Deluxe board, I'd like to try 8x8GB of that same memory and see if it still works, considering that the more populated your ram slots the harder it gets to stick at high frequencies above specs. (and I need those 64GB for my work, that's why I'm going for this board in the first place)

Best,
JP
 
Last edited:

ExGANDI

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
2 (0.12/day)
O.K. About the Deluxe mobo (very good one, may be something like combination of Rage IV Extreme and Sabertooth X79 :rockout:): Out of the box if you switch TPU Switch to position II CPU will run @BLCK 103 and memory @1923MHz

MEM TPU Switch.PNG

In my setup i'm unable to run XMP because 2 of the modules are @2666 and they have very different settings. Even different memory modules installed on them.

MEM Default TPU III.PNG

If i go to BIOS i can set @BLCK 100Mhz and RAM @2133MHz and it runs smoothly but i don't won't to loose @BLCK so i choose to stay with BLCK and set MEM settings manually /btw i'm not OC expert so i can't play with timings, voltages e.t.c. despite that mobo allows it - all my tests are just switching MHz's and let mobo figure it out :D/:

Done some AIDA testings. First is only with TPU switch at position II (meaning CPU@BLCK 103MHz / RAM@1923MHz):

AIDA MEM 103.png


Next only moving to CPU@BLCK 105MHz RAM@1960MHz

AIDA MEM 105.png


And after that setting 2240MHz from BIOS

AIDA MEM 105-2240.png


I don't know how far it will go with manual OC and setting them manually is not an option for me because of 2 different modules. But i've ordered 1 more set of 2x 4GB Team Group Xtreem-LV-2400 /10-12-12-31/ (man... those things are Xtreem hard to find :D ) so when all 8 modules are equal i'll try some extreme settings. And this modules are even at QVL list so XMP shouldn't be a problem... we'll see.
But IMHO your TridentX 2400mhz will work with 99% chance at 2240 at least.

P.S. It would be interesting to know how things go with the Deluxe for you.
 
Last edited:

luTin

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
2 (0.18/day)
Hey, thanks for all the info, it's appreciated. Well now I remember looking at that QVL list from the Deluxe manual a few days ago and noticing the board could support 8x8GB@2133mhz from a few brands, but had forgotten about reading that, so I shouldn't have been that surprised reading your first post about the board working with high frequencies. Anyway... About time I remembered. However I had run across a few articles that led me thinking it might not be as easy as it sounds populating the 8 slots with 8gigs : see https://vi-control.net/community/threads/my-recent-4930k-build-and-some-lessons-learned.36170/ (mid page the author relates the ram issues they encountered), see also https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/cant-get-64gb-2400mhz-working-with-i7-4930k-asus-deluxe-x79-mobo.1850358/ and numerous other examples like these one will find using google.

I got the Deluxe for a very very reasonnable price, it's shipping atm; got the 3x8GB 2400mhz at a reasonnable price too, shipping too, now I'm hunting for that 4th stick at a decent price. It's out there for sale on ebay but prices are too high, gotta keep an eye on new listings. And I don't want to swap my current motherboard (asus formula) until I don't have that 4th stick, so results will not come after some time I guess.

Anyway good job at finding ram modules with agressive timings like yours, no wonder why they come across hard to find. I thought the G Skill Trident X series were the only ones with such aggressive timings and low voltage (relatively speaking), with the Crucial Tactical series coming close behind (the Elite series is same as Tactical but with temp probes on it and the Tactical series stops at 1866Mhz). Then comes the Corsair Dominator Platinum series. Interestingly enough, Corsair only surpasses Gskill @2133mhz in terms of timings with 4GB sticks (9-11-10-30 @1.65; no 4GB sticks exist in TridentX flavour @2133mhz anyway), 8GB sticks have the same timings for both brands (9-11-11-31, but @1.65v for Corsair, @1.6v for GSkill) Anyway getting quite off topic here..

Check these out : G.Skill TridentX @2400mhz :

By the way I ordered one GSkill Turbulence fan II (will buy a second one later when I find the remaining 32GB of TridentX @2400mhz for my 64GB total), and as you can see on the link the 2400mhz models sold with the fans have even more aggressive timings than those sold without!

Now image 8x8GB blowing air on it @2400mhz @9-11-11-31 1.65v. Now imagine once I OC the blck@107mhz as I'm used to (my mistake I said '108mhz' in my previous post, I'll edit) with a slight bump in cpu core voltage. What would that be, 64Gb of DDR3 @2568mhz 9-11-11-31 1.65v? Will the voltage be enough? We'll see. Good fun testing 64GB of ram with MemTest : it takes one day. Each run of testing gonna block my work station for 24 hours. I realise I'll need a test bench for all this...

Yeah good luck maintaining stable high frequencies with different modules fully populating your board..., considering even across a same series you can't have the guarantee you'll have the exact same model because of fluctuations in components across batches, on the matter : https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/794031-ram-issues-3930k-x79-lga2011.html. Good thing you ordered a new pair though.

Finally, if you want to learn more about timings and overclocking the ram taking timings into consideration, here's a very good start : http://www.gskill.us/forum/forum/general-discussion/general-discussion-aa/11541-64gb-2133-1-6v-kits-able-to-run-undervolted

PS : I've just checked, in the manual Asus calls "Hyper DIMM support" what we call going beyond Intel specs. Putting this here for the google robot.

Best,
JP
 
Top