• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

E6600 cannot more than 3GHz?

Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
this is my system

Core 2 Duo E6600 ( with gigabyte CPU cooler )
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 Motherboard ( will replace with XFX 680iLT very soon )
Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4
XFX Geoforce 8800GT 512MB ( with Zalman FV7 Cooler )
Enermax Liberty 620W PSU
Cooler Master Stacker 832 Casing

i could'nt get more than 3GHz.
my system only stable in 3GHz,once i try 2 OC more than 3GHz,it is unstable.
i do try adjust the CPU multiple,Vcore but still cannot over 3GHz.

PS : the ram clock still default,i never change it.
 

Hawk1

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
1,248 (0.32/day)
Likes
161
Location
The Big Smoke, Canada
Processor E6600@3.6Ghz (8x450)
Motherboard Commando
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2GB Ballistix Tracers @900 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) ATI X1950XTX w/TR HR-03
Storage 2 x WD250GB (RAID0) 1x WD150GB Raptor 1x500GB external
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case TT Armour
Audio Device(s) Xfi xtreme Gamer (X-230s/HD595s)
Power Supply TT 750W modular
Software xp pro SP2/Vista Ultimate 32
#2
Have you tried increasing the voltage on the North Bridge (VMCH) as well as FSB termination voltage? What Multiplier x FSB are you running - 9x333, 8x375 etc.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Have you tried increasing the voltage on the North Bridge (VMCH) as well as FSB termination voltage? What Multiplier x FSB are you running - 9x333, 8x375 etc.
yup
i got try 2 increase MCH and FSB Voltage for 0.1,0.2,but still the same.

i dont need incrase any voltage other than CPU core voltage at 3GHz mode.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
You need to

Lower the FSB:RAM divider

and/or

increase vcore.

Lowering cpu multipler wont help as it puts a greater strain on teh memory. Im assuming you're currently running an FSB:RAM divider of 2:3.
now i m using 2:4
i do try incrase Vcore but stil get he samething.
computer will always HANG.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#5
What is all your current settings in BIOS for your current OC?
FSB, DDR Divider, I want every list and setting that you have available. I've seen these boards OC pretty high.

Maybe if we can see the options you have and the settings you are attempting we can see something you've missed. I recommend either writing down on pad of paper and typing out (easiest to read) or taking a picture.

Hopefully we can get you OC'd to your goal with full stability! :toast:
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#6
Umm... 2 is FSB, 4 is RAM. So you would be running your RAM at double your FSB (real). Which is like 1333DDR. Try 2:3... DDR1000. Probably won't be stable. Try 3:4... somewhere around DDR865. Might make it.

Am I right here?
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
i m already success OC my system to 3.2GHz
i add 0.1v for FSB,MCH,0.2v for DDR.CPU Vcore 1.375v,Multiply 8
2:0 ratio.

now my FSB is 400MHz,DDR2 800

what i get is,superPI 16seconds.2 seconds faster than 3.0GHz,9x multiply.
but the memory Read Speed is slower a bit and Latency higher compare with 3.0GHz,9x multiply.
 
Last edited: