• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

E8400 multiplier stuck at 6x

Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#1
This is the missus pc; I was browsing the internet this morning when I had a BSOD, rebooted and since then the multiplier is stuck at 6x. I was using this settings when the BSOD happened: 375x9 = 3375mhz (stock voltage, stock heatsink), ram at 900mhz. This was my first pc, I built it three years ago so I'm familiar with it. C1E was enabled but EVEN WHEN DISABLED it doesn't make a difference. The board is a GA-P31-DS3L with 2Gb of Corsair memory and Antec Signature 650w. I loaded optimized default and cleared the CMOS but still the multiplier is stuck at 6x (2000mhz); the voltage seems to be stuck at 1.10v too. I run the cpu test in 3DMARK11, prime95, OCCT ... the cpu is always running at 2000mhz; Any ideas? Did you experience this? Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
Bump for some help.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,034 (0.29/day)
Likes
167
Location
Scotland
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Vendetta 2, several case fans
Memory 8GB Geil Ripjaws 1666Mhz
Video Card(s) Powercolor 5850 1GB
Storage 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) LG 23" W2361V TFT Widescreen
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply Antec HCG 750W
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#3
Never heard of this personally but i'd try resetting the cmos and see if that fixes it.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
You didn't mention SpeedStep so make sure that is off. Also, have you checked Windows power management? In there there are min/max processor states that can affect CPU speed/multi.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
776
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#5
You didn't mention SpeedStep so make sure that is off. Also, have you checked Windows power management? In there there are min/max processor states that can affect CPU speed/multi.

http://i403.photobucket.com/albums/pp112/erocker414/procpwr.jpg
^ That's most likely the cause.

When I checked Core Temp it would still display a 2200MHz clock, so did CPU-Z, but the difference was when I checked off SteedStep, CPU-Z started to display the correct MHz speed.

Go into the BIOS to uncheck it.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
Never heard of this personally but i'd try resetting the cmos and see if that fixes it.
Already tried that.
You didn't mention SpeedStep so make sure that is off. Also, have you checked Windows power management? In there there are min/max processor states that can affect CPU speed/multi.
Either my bios doesn't have speedstep or it just dissapeared.
http://i403.photobucket.com/albums/pp112/erocker414/procpwr.jpg
I tried Windows power management with no luck, the cpu is stuck at 2000mhz. I mean, I'm starting to think that something inside the cpu just gave up and said: "look mate after three years I'm tired, it's either 2000mhz or throw me away"
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#7
Something to ponder. Maybe your cpu is kicking into thermal throttling, as far as why I am unsure. Try reseating HSF.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
Something to ponder. Maybe your cpu is kicking into thermal throttling, as far as why I am unsure. Try reseating HSF.
I open the case and the heatsink looks fine. Before the problem started, idle temps were about 33c and load around 52c but since my wife's been using it, this pc is never under load. Forgot to say this system is in my old Antec Three Hundred.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#9
It could be your mobo that's gone faulty. I'm sure it reports that 2GHz speed in the BIOS and won't budge in there?

If possible you need to separate the CPU & mobo ie run them with different equivalents and see which component the fault follows.

From the looks of it, you've tried everything reasonable to make it go, especially that CMOS clear. Is there a BIOS update available, although that shouldn't really be needed as it worked well enough before.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#10
You know something. You have something there qubit, maybe totally irrelevant.

When I had my e5200 (45nm wolfdale) rig, I had to make sure I was on the latest bios or else I wouldn't be able to make multiplier adjustments & it would be stuck at 6x just like you are describing. Very odd though as you were working just fine

@claylomax
Try flashing to latest/re-flashing bios. That's all i can think of as well as you have tried everything else. Only do this as last resort
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2005
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
20
Processor 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D/US 4x4 1866@99927 1.41v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 280x
Display(s) crossover
Case junk
Audio Device(s) usbstick
Power Supply enermax 82+pro 5years+ still good
#11
Your mobo is worn out. Have that too with a p-35 e8400, happened 1 year ago. More than stock speed is just not possible anymore.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,551
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
I open the case and the heatsink looks fine. Before the problem started, idle temps were about 33c and load around 52c but since my wife's been using it, this pc is never under load. Forgot to say this system is in my old Antec Three Hundred.
you cant tell if its overheating by looking at the outside of a heatsink. check its reported temperatures and if its hitting TJMax or not.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#13
It could be your mobo that's gone faulty. I'm sure it reports that 2GHz speed in the BIOS and won't budge in there?

If possible you need to separate the CPU & mobo ie run them with different equivalents and see which component the fault follows.

From the looks of it, you've tried everything reasonable to make it go, especially that CMOS clear. Is there a BIOS update available, although that shouldn't really be needed as it worked well enough before.
I've never flashed the bios on this board before as there was no need, bios is from December 2007, surely there must be a bios update available
You know something. You have something there qubit, maybe totally irrelevant.

When I had my e5200 (45nm wolfdale) rig, I had to make sure I was on the latest bios or else I wouldn't be able to make multiplier adjustments & it would be stuck at 6x just like you are describing. Very odd though as you were working just fine
But my board has been working properly for three years with the original bios, why now this problem?
@Claylomax
Try flashing to latest/re-flashing bios. That's all i can think of as well as you have tried everything else. Only do this as last resort
Yeah last resort because if something goes wrong my marriage is at stake ...
Your mobo is worn out. Have that too with a p-35 e8400, happened 1 year ago. More than stock speed is just not possible anymore.
Could be. I remember I paid £40 but got good reviews. For more than a year when I was using it, the cpu was clocked at 4.0Ghz with a voltage of 1.44v if I remember well but the frequency would go down to 2000mhz when idle.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
you cant tell if its overheating by looking at the outside of a heatsink. check its reported temperatures and if its hitting TJMax or not.
I gave the temps on a previous post but now you're saying I'm gonna have another look. Forgot to say the E8400 is the first stepping, can't remember which one but it was released in January 2008 I think.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,551
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
I gave the temps on a previous post but now you're saying I'm gonna have another look. Forgot to say the E8400 is the first stepping, can't remember which one but it was released in January 2008 I think.
i may have missed that post, sorry.


still, distance to TJmax is what matters with thermal throttling.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#16
I've never flashed the bios on this board before as there was no need, bios is from December 2007, surely there must be a bios update available

Yeah last resort because if something goes wrong my marriage is at stake ...
Then yeah, you definitely need to flash that BIOS. First versions are always buggy and also may not work so well with all the patches that are applied to Windows since they were first written.

And don't worry about getting nailed by the wife so much! The board is running stable and BIOS flashes aren't so fraught with risk nowadays. Just do it carefully and don't turn off the power in the middle of the flash and you'll be all right.

If the board is dying, then it's gonna go whether your flash that BIOS or not.

EDIT

I meant to second Mussels on the temperature monitoring.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#17
Hi there, I flashed the board to the latest BIOS and still nothing, the cpu is still stuck at 2000mhz. I've never seen anything like this.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#18
Hi there, I flashed the board to the latest BIOS and still nothing, the cpu is still stuck at 2000mhz. I've never seen anything like this.
Have you also done the cmos clear? Flashing it doesn't clear the settings on many boards. Also, you may want to separate the CPU and mobo, if possible.

Once you've done these things, then you'll have tried everything and will be able to tell whether it's the CPU or mobo that's gone faulty.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#19
Have you also done the cmos clear? Flashing it doesn't clear the settings on many boards. Also, you may want to separate the CPU and mobo, if possible.

Once you've done these things, then you'll have tried everything and will be able to tell whether it's the CPU or mobo that's gone faulty.
I did clear the cmos before and after the flashing; I don't have another cpu/motherboard to test and check what's faulty.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#20
I did clear the cmos before and after the flashing; I don't have another cpu/motherboard to test and check what's faulty.
Then you've done all you can and can't go any further; I can't think of anything else to try without separating the components. I suspect the mobo personally.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,551
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
what speed does it report the CPU to be running at in the BIOS?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#22
You know something. You have something there qubit, maybe totally irrelevant.

When I had my e5200 (45nm wolfdale) rig, I had to make sure I was on the latest bios or else I wouldn't be able to make multiplier adjustments & it would be stuck at 6x just like you are describing. Very odd though as you were working just fine

@Claylomax
Try flashing to latest/re-flashing bios. That's all i can think of as well as you have tried everything else. Only do this as last resort


I was going to mention the e5200 as well ( remember the good times we shared ? :laugh:)

It was caused by trying to push the FSB to far, what fixed the problem for me was shutting down the pc, unplugging the power cable and hitting the power button twice, ( the actual on switch on your pc not the psu power) forces all the power out the board so the board should be the same as when you first got it.

Give it a go, worth a try.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2016
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
I was going to mention the e5200 as well ( remember the good times we shared ? :laugh:)

It was caused by trying to push the FSB to far, what fixed the problem for me was shutting down the pc, unplugging the power cable and hitting the power button twice, ( the actual on switch on your pc not the psu power) forces all the power out the board so the board should be the same as when you first got it.

Give it a go, worth a try.
Hey, pantherx12, it works for me! I did searches in many and many sources, but nothing works. Simply, pulled out my notebook battery and power cable, and so pushed twice or three times the power button. When I power on again, the IEST, FSB and CPU performance did back again! Thannnnks so much!