• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

E8400 stepping? What types? And some more questions...

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#1
I checked my E8400 on cpu-z and it says A stepping :confused: Never heard of it and google isn't giving me any answers either.

I've got no oc right now, everything in bios is on auto.



Temperatures - idle (using latest version of Coretemp) I get 30 and 36.
How come a whole 6 deg difference between the 2 cores?
With my previous E4300, the cores were either the same or varied by one or most 2 degrees here and there.

Also weird is that when I start Orthos Prime, the core temperatures go from 30 and 36..... to 33 and 36. Which is a very small difference (should only 3 degrees be the difference between an idle proc and a 100% loaded one?). Further to that, the second core doesn't increase in temperature at all - it remains 36 when idle and 36 at 100% load?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#3
As SK1 says, the temp sensors on some wolfdales are iffy. I've no idea why it says "A" for stepping :confused: Maybe you have a really old version of CPU-z.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#4
Disable C1E and Speedstep in bios. These settings both lower the multiplier and fsb when ur cpu is idle. And yea realtemp fixes some sensor problems for 45nm chips. Don't know why teh f it says a steping? Did u try another version of cpu-z?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#5
Downloaded the latest 1.49Version of CPU-Z



It says revision E0... (that's good isn't it?) but still stepping A, lol.

Yes I've still got the bios on default settings, that's why the cpu mostly runs at 2.0Ghz.
I'll be downloading realtemp.
Gotta know where I stand before I start my oc'ing adventures... :D
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#6
Looks like you've picked a winner :D

E0 stepping should allow you to easily reach 4GHz and beyond on low volts!
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#8
Looks like I'm lucky then! :)

I tried RealTemp.
The temperatures now are 5 degrees less than CoreTemp...
Still there's a 6 degree difference between one core and the other, but it's only at idle that there's this difference.
(Hmmm can a sensor be stuck in that the temperature reading can go up but not below a certain point?)

If I run Orthos Prime small fft's I get 37 degrees on both cores.

Then I ran Linpack and it gave me 43 degrees on both cores.

What a difference from the E4300.... at the same 3.0Ghz that processor used to idle at 37, Orthos at 60 and Linpack at 70+ !

I'm just holding myself not to start oc'ing right now... it's 2AM lol...
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#9
(Hmmm can a sensor be stuck in that the temperature reading can go up but not below a certain point?)
That is generally how sensors are stuck I believe, I've had a few chips like that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
105 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
System Name The Stop Light
Processor Xeon X5650
Motherboard EVGA X58
Cooling Thermalright Spirit 140 Power
Memory OEM ECC DDR 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX570
Storage Samsung 830 240GB
Display(s) Asus 24"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CM 1000W
#10
Yes, E0 are very good clockers.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#11
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
105 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
System Name The Stop Light
Processor Xeon X5650
Motherboard EVGA X58
Cooling Thermalright Spirit 140 Power
Memory OEM ECC DDR 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX570
Storage Samsung 830 240GB
Display(s) Asus 24"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CM 1000W
#12
I skipped the early socket 775 chipsets, but is that the same as the Asus commando? Which I heard broke OC records back in the day.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#13
I dont know about the p5b vanilla,but my p5b-dlx did 560fsb fine,and posted at 570.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#14
That is generally how sensors are stuck I believe, I've had a few chips like that.
I've been oc'ing and running orthos prime... (am @ 4.0Ghz 1.3V in Bios :D)
The sensor apparently is no longer stuck. Now both cores either report the same temperature or vary by one degree, whether at idle or load.

Idle is 33 degrees and load 51 degrees.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
113 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
System Name Intel
Processor E8400 E0 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Pro 1202
Cooling Zalman Fatal1ty FS-C77
Memory TeamGroup Xtreem DDR2-667 MicronD9 3-3-3-8/GSkill 4Gb 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6870 Vapor-X/Sapphire X1950XT
Storage VelociRaptor 150Gb + RaptorX 150Gb + WD green 1Tb
Display(s) Asus LCD 22"
Case ThermalTake sViking
Audio Device(s) Realtek OnBoard
Power Supply LC Power Hiperion 700Watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit
#15
As SK1 says, the temp sensors on some wolfdales are iffy. I've no idea why it says "A" for stepping :confused: Maybe you have a really old version of CPU-z.
I have cpu-z 1.48 and a E8400 and in stepping it says the same... A...:eek:
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#16
I have cpu-z 1.48 and a E8400 and in stepping it says the same... A...:eek:
Download cpu-z version 1.49 (the latest one) and it will tell you if it's E0 or C0 revision.