• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E8400+UD3P OC Help

Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,976 (0.58/day)
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Dark Rock TF
Memory 2x8 GB Gskill Trident Z
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 960 evo 500G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus + 650
Mouse Zowie EC2-A
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win10 pro 64bit
Been trying to oc this thing since sunday cant get this thing to pass OCCT @4Ghz yet i can pass 5 runs of Intel Burn test multiple times on anything from standard to maximum.
Max temps i got with IBT where 75 OCCT nets high 50's, max temps when i cranked the vCore to 1.36 through Cpuz in bios that's around 1.375v, tried bumping the VTT voltage to 1.3,1.32,x9 multi, diff ram straps/ratio's with no luck.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, im thinking its something to do with Ref voltages but im not sure . :respect:

Specs are in profile
Here's the bios atm

Code:
    F10 Bios
    RGB Fast
    Cpu ratio 8x
    fine cpu ratio 0.0
    cpu frequency 4.00GHz (500x8)

    cpu host control enabled
    cpu host frequency(MHz) 500
    pci express frequency(MHz) 100
    cia2 Disabled
    cpu clock drive 800mV 
    pci express clock drive 900mV
    cpu clock skew 0pS   	
    mch clock skew 0pS

    performance enhance Standard
    XMP disabled
    (G)MCh frequency latch 400MHz
    system memory multiplier 2.00 D
    memory frequency(MHz) 1000
    dram timing selectable manual
    cas latency time 5
    trcd 5
    trp 5
    tras 15
    advanced timing control all set on auto
    drive settings 1066

    load-line calibration enabled
    cpu vcore  1.350v | CPUZ 1.312v
    cpu termination 1.280v
    cpu pll 1.500v normal
    cpu reference 0.760v auto

    mch core 1.220v
    mch reference 0.650v
    ich i/o 1.500v auto
    ich core 1.100v auto

    dram voltage 2.100v
    dram termination 0.900v auto
    channel a reference 0.900v auto
    channel b reference 0.900v auto
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
483 (0.15/day)
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
sometimes high voltage do more harm than help, i tried my q9650 @3.6 @1.15!!! didn't pushed it more
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
483 (0.15/day)
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
so try oc little by little and leave the voltage @ normal for the cpu see what u get on stock then try increasing volts a little bit ,u should have 1066 memory for 500+fsb coz ur memory is running @1000
increase memory volts to 2v
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,026 (0.24/day)
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor i7-3770K
Motherboard Biostar Hi-Fi Z77
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 16GB DDR3-2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Alienware GTX 1070
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) 32" LG 1440p
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard G. Skill Mechanical
Software Windows 10 (X64)
Your settings look similar to what I had on my e8400(E0)/UD3P. I got 4.2 @ 1.26 LLC off. It might be that your chip just isn't capable of that OC. It happens.

My one suggestion might be to play with the CPU Term. I had mine set at 1.26 and anything lower would fail Orthos. I know all of the guides tell you to keep it .1 below vCore but I had to keep it even for some reason. Try bumping it higher, like 1.35/1.36v
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,976 (0.58/day)
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Dark Rock TF
Memory 2x8 GB Gskill Trident Z
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 960 evo 500G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus + 650
Mouse Zowie EC2-A
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win10 pro 64bit
Your settings look similar to what I had on my e8400(E0)/UD3P. I got 4.2 @ 1.26 LLC off. It might be that your chip just isn't capable of that OC. It happens.

My one suggestion might be to play with the CPU Term. I had mine set at 1.26 and anything lower would fail Orthos. I know all of the guides tell you to keep it .1 below vCore but I had to keep it even for some reason. Try bumping it higher, like 1.35/1.36v
what where u using for your reference voltages as that seems to be playing the biggest part in stability for me right now, the mhc ref seems to have the most dramatic effect on how long before it errors in occt.
iv tried at 3.8ghz with almost the same results as 4ghz i can run stable at 3.6 tho with no voltage bumps

here's what im working with atm i started using ET with some success in getting it more stable and changing volts in windows
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
483 (0.15/day)
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
hmmm are ur chipset volts on auto it seems little low for 2000mhz
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,976 (0.58/day)
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Dark Rock TF
Memory 2x8 GB Gskill Trident Z
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 960 evo 500G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus + 650
Mouse Zowie EC2-A
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win10 pro 64bit
by chipset i assume u mean MHC, there not on auto its set a 1.22 i'll try bumping that a bit

btw the ram im using is 1066 rated and its always been set at 2.1v per Mfg specs ive verified its stability at stock and oc.

i can get the machine stable in windows for hrs even playing bad company 2 with out crashing its just the cores that are intermittently failing OCCT, im going down to 3.8 and do some testing there
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
483 (0.15/day)
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
i tried my q9650 @2000fsb it keep failing in prime but @3,84@434x4@1.25v is stable
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
631 (0.12/day)
Location
A suburb of Chicago, IL
System Name The W.O.P.R.
Processor Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz 1.24 vcore
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 with push\pull fan configuration.
Memory 6GB Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20
Video Card(s) 2 - ASUS EAH5850 CrossfireX
Storage 1TB WD Black
Display(s) I-INC 28" 1920x1200 HDMI
Case Ultra M998
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Up your MCH voltage to 1.3, CPU termination reference voltage to .83 and see if that helps.
 
Top