1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

E8600 strange behaviour

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by lukankata, Sep 27, 2008.

  1. lukankata New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    51 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I recently bought this CPU.
    It really easily went up to 4GHz and is very stable at that frequency.
    When the CPU is idle its frequency is 2400 (400*6) and when is stressed it gets 4000 (400*10).
    So far nothing peculiar.
    But sometimes when the CPU is stressed with some heavy software program it stays at 2400. I have to reboot in order to fix this. After the reboot everything is normal. It gets to 4000 when at load.
    For example, i wanted it to calculate factorial of 80000 or to test my memory using the everest built-in benchmark. It stayed at 2400, didn't get to 4000.
    Although this 'problem' is rare, is there a way to make it stop behave like that in those cases?:confused:
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,178 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,261
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    go into your bio's and disable speed step
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Dia01

    Dia01

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    547 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Try to disable CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) and CPU EIST Function in the Advanced BIOS Features. Sounds like your multiplier is being lowered.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,178 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,261
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    that's what speed step does
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Dia01

    Dia01

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    547 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Yeah I know, beat me to the post.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. lukankata New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    51 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Won't disabling speed step make it always be at 4GHz?
     
  7. Dia01

    Dia01

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    547 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Yes, isn't that what you want?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,178 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,261
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    that's my understanding from your post.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. lukankata New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    51 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for the advice and help. I'll definitely give it a try. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)