• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EA-DICE Frostbite Titles in 2013 Will Require 64-bit Windows

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,075 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,192
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#76
http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey
more than 35% of gamer's computers are running 32-bit Windows. Nevermind all those gamers that never install Steam because they play strictly The Sims (from what I've seen, the majority are 3 GiB equipped laptops running 32-bit Windows).


IDK ive only had issues with anything that is 16bit primarily and that being games. other than that no issues
Try running a 64-bit application on a 32-bit operating system. EA is going to lose a lot of potential customers by not offering a 32-bit option--a lot more than they'll gain from switching to 64-bit (virtually none--who is going to buy a game just because it is 64-bit?). EA, of all the publishers, should know that people want their purchased software to work above everything else.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,758 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#77
Well its expected to not work because an OS is not forwards compatible in the bit code. Only backwards. Its just like trying to run 32 bit apps on a 16 bit os n 16 bit apps on an 8 bit os etc etc. Its about time they moved fwd because potential is hindered by using 32 bit code to write programs. Weve had consumer 64bit cpus almost 10 years now its time to completely move code to 64 bit.


http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey
more than 35% of gamer's computers are running 32-bit Windows. Nevermind all those gamers that never install Steam because they play strictly The Sims (from what I've seen, the majority are 3 GiB equipped laptops running 32-bit Windows).



Try running a 64-bit application on a 32-bit operating system. EA is going to lose a lot of potential customers by not offering a 32-bit option--a lot more than they'll gain from switching to 64-bit (virtually none--who is going to buy a game just because it is 64-bit?). EA, of all the publishers, should know that people want their purchased software to work above everything else.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,440 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#78
This seems like a good idea and all but I think it's mostly a PR move for EA... They need to fix way more issues then this....
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#79
Try running a 64-bit application on a 32-bit operating system. EA is going to lose a lot of potential customers by not offering a 32-bit option--a lot more than they'll gain from switching to 64-bit (virtually none--who is going to buy a game just because it is 64-bit?). EA, of all the publishers, should know that people want their purchased software to work above everything else.

Once again, confirming apples 32-64 bit transition model is utterly genuis. :toast:

Really wish M$ would just kill 32 bit already. They have a severe dead horse beating issue they need to take out back and shoot in the head.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,075 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,192
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#80
I don't call dictatorships genius. I call them brutal.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#81
when over 60% of users now are running windows 64 bit (according to steam), then its a safe bet for a game maker to make a game for that in 1-2 years time. the numbers are only increasing.


what they want is a PC exclusive that makes them stand out as having the most advanced game tech - the best visuals and performance, and a game they can market as using all of the ram your hardware has (seriously, anyone else find it daft to have a 3GB video card, 12/16GB of system ram, and be capped at 2 or at best 4GB of address space?)


this will work out well for them, because the community itself will just tell everyone to upgrade to 64 bit, just like they did with their high end GPU's and CPU's.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,211 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,403
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#82
Really wish M$ would just kill 32 bit already. They have a severe dead horse beating issue they need to take out back and shoot in the head.
not possible.

Despite what you may think, there are still a lot of legacy hardware floating about that dont have x64 compatibilty. killing 32bit would mean that small businesses will suffer because they need to fork out money for upgrades.

the transition from x32 to x64 has been real slow. but things are slowly changing for the better.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#83
not possible.

Despite what you may think, there are still a lot of legacy hardware floating about that dont have x64 compatibilty. killing 32bit would mean that small businesses will suffer because they need to fork out money for upgrades.

the transition from x32 to x64 has been real slow. but things are slowly changing for the better.
if no new 32 bit OS's were released, win 7 would last those businesses a decade or more. long enough for their apps to be updated. two days ago i upgraded my work machines from windows 98 (first edition 98, too)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,758 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#84
not possible.

Despite what you may think, there are still a lot of legacy hardware floating about that dont have x64 compatibilty. killing 32bit would mean that small businesses will suffer because they need to fork out money for upgrades.

the transition from x32 to x64 has been real slow. but things are slowly changing for the better.
I have legacy hardware myself but trouble is no drivers for the Signature rig to get the right potential out of it
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.92/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#85
http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey
more than 35% of gamer's computers are running 32-bit Windows. Nevermind all those gamers that never install Steam because they play strictly The Sims (from what I've seen, the majority are 3 GiB equipped laptops running 32-bit Windows).
People who play just The Sims aren't going to be buying Frostbite powered games, so it's a non-issue. Notice that DICE is the one that said this, since when has DICE made games that were marketed towards the same kind of people who only start up The Sims a couple times a week? A transition to x64 is unavoidable, and continuing to support it is just prolonging the problem. Almost all Computers come with 4GB+ RAM these days anyway, so having a 32-bit OS just doesn't make sense anymore.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,075 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,192
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#86
Need for Speed: Most Wanted 2 which is confirmed to be using Frostbite 2 has a broad appeal that could lure a lot of gamers from The Sims market; moreover, the game could likely be made to run on 32-bit easily. I wouldn't be surprised if EA forces DICE to support 32-bit because, as I stated before, 64-bit only isn't going to help EA's bottom line. DICE may want to drop 32-bit support but I can't see EA agreeing with that yet.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,418 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,553
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#87
Need for Speed: Most Wanted 2 which is confirmed to be using Frostbite 2 has a broad appeal that could lure a lot of gamers from The Sims market; moreover, the game could likely be made to run on 32-bit easily. I wouldn't be surprised if EA forces DICE to support 32-bit because, as I stated before, 64-bit only isn't going to help EA's bottom line. DICE may want to drop 32-bit support but I can't see EA agreeing with that yet.
Need for Speed: Most Wanted 2 isn't being developed by EA-DICE, so it doesn't apply here. It is just EA-DICE titles that will require 64-bit, not every Frostbite 2 title made by EA.

But besides that, the game industry should move away from 32-bit. I haven't seen a system sold with gaming as a main purpose that was still using a 32-bit OS. Yes, there are pre-builts that still come with 32-bit Windows installed, but they are also using onboard graphics. People are willing to upgrade components or even their entire computer just for a game, and we want to argue that upgrading their OS isn't worth while?!

And, as you pointed out, 1/3 of the market uses 32-bit at this point. They are the minority. Progress shouldn't be held back because of the minority.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#88
And, as you pointed out, 1/3 of the market uses 32-bit at this point. They are the minority. Progress shouldn't be held back because of the minority.
How many are there in that 1/3? Quite many I imagine.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,075 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,192
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#89
I don't see where they list how many people took the survey. That's pretty ridiculous they don't say.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#90
How many are there in that 1/3? Quite many I imagine.
and how many of that 1/3, have low end hardware, mostly OEM machines? i'd bet most of them.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,211 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,403
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#91
if no new 32 bit OS's were released, win 7 would last those businesses a decade or more. long enough for their apps to be updated. two days ago i upgraded my work machines from windows 98 (first edition 98, too)
Speak for yourself.... I still know business that are still using Win 98SE, Win 2000 & Win XP

:p so the saying goes....If it aint broke. dont fix it. but of course their whole network could be a lot more efficient, reliable, more secure and possibly more productive if they upgraded both their hardware and software.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
551 (0.22/day)
Likes
128
System Name it's a computer
Processor INTEL i5-2500K OC'ed @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS Z68-V DELUXE Gen3
Cooling NOCTURA NH-C14
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC 4GB
Storage Intel® Solid-State Drive 730 Series SSDSC2BP240G4R5 2.5" 240GB SATA 6Gb/s MLC
Display(s) SAMSUNG 24HD Model # 2494 Sync Master
Case CM HAF 922
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Gold AX850 Full Modular
Software Windows 10
#92
64bit?
I want 128bit.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#93
64bit?
I want 128bit.
for what purpose? or do you not actually understand the difference, and just get excited by bigger numbers?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,418 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,553
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#95
and how many of that 1/3, have low end hardware, mostly OEM machines? i'd bet most of them.
A very good point, just going over their video card survey, about 15% have integrated or totally bottom of the barrel video cards that would never even touch a EA-DICE Frostbite title.

Not to mention 15% are still running XP, which EA-DICE has already given the boot when they stopped supporting DX9. So the actual percentage that are getting to boot by the 64-bit decision is more like 20%.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
551 (0.22/day)
Likes
128
System Name it's a computer
Processor INTEL i5-2500K OC'ed @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS Z68-V DELUXE Gen3
Cooling NOCTURA NH-C14
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC 4GB
Storage Intel® Solid-State Drive 730 Series SSDSC2BP240G4R5 2.5" 240GB SATA 6Gb/s MLC
Display(s) SAMSUNG 24HD Model # 2494 Sync Master
Case CM HAF 922
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Gold AX850 Full Modular
Software Windows 10
#96
for what purpose? or do you not actually understand the difference, and just get excited by bigger numbers?
I'm j/k'ing pal, j/k'ing.
:ohwell:
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,064 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,130
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#98
Damn, those of us on quad Xeon/Opteron are already a quarter to the limit!
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,075 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,192
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#99
You'll need it when 4096 TB of RAM becomes not enough (limits of EM64T and AMD64).
No, no. x86-64 processors today (excepting enterprise) have 40-bit (1.099 TB) or 48-bit (281.474 TB) memory addressing capabilities. As more RAM becomes common place, they'll increase that number up to 64-bit which is 18.446 EB (exabyte). I think an extension to x86-64 could happen sooner, rather than later, to add more registers and standardized, specialized instructions (better compete with ARM). 128-bit memory addressing won't happen for a long time.


Who doesn't want quadruple precision floating point number accuracy and access to 3.4x10^38 bytes of RAM? :D
We already got 128-bit floating point decimals (.NET Framework calls it Decimal).

I struggle to find a use for 32 GiB RAM, nevermind that-to-the-38th-power RAM. :roll:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,556 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,459
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name Eternal WIP ][ HP ProLiant server blade
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4/4.1 GHz ][ 2x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z ][ -
Cooling Corsair H55 ][ Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis @ 1866MHz ][ 4x4 GiB Hynix @ 1333 MHz; ECC on
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC ][ None
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Green + 750GB Samsung + 64GB OCZ Agility 4 ][ 3x 1 TB Hitachi
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H ][ None
Case Antec Nine Hundred ][ it's a server blade, lol
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II (Integrated); Using optical S/PDIF output ][ none
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i ][ [stock]
Software Gentoo Linux ][ Linux Mint 16
Benchmark Scores 65970 BogoMIPS. Ha. Ha. Ha. >=|
I struggle to find a use for 32 GiB RAM, nevermind that-to-the-38th-power RAM. :roll:
You, maybe. Those who want to build a supercomputer with all the memory in one address-space, might find 40-bit addressing a bit of a problem.