• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

EAH4870/512M NEED HELP FINDING ORIGINAL BIOS or suggestion on which modded bios

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#1
Hi all,

i have done a bad flash :cry: using
http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us

problem is this didnt work (under xp)

maybe i can try to reflash it under dos tonight when i install a old pci card i found...

but im wondering if somebody has the original bios ?

or maybe suggest me a reasonable modded one...

im not familiar with overclocking anything, and i've read than OCing a 4870 doesnt really improve performance...

maybe a cooling voltage mod that reduces activity while the pc is not gaming ?

i leave this pc turned on 24/7 and play about 1-2 hours a night...

since im absolute noob:confused: at this, any advice will be greatly appreciated...



And maybe my brand new 4870 will come back from the bricked
YES WE CAN !!!! CHANGE MY BIOS :) (hopefully)

thx to all who take the time
 

groothof22

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
197 (0.05/day)
Likes
16
Location
Leeuwarden,The Netherlands
System Name NoobSaibot[NL]
Processor Intel i7 2600K 3.4ghz sandybridge
Motherboard Asus P8P67-le
Cooling Zalman 9900 MAX
Memory 4x 2GB ddr3 1600mhz corsair XMS3 8gb kit optimaal performance
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB^^
Storage ocz ssd drive 60gb vertex 2 sata 3
Display(s) lg led E2240S full hd 22" and a level tv 42"Full HD1920x1080P
Case Cooler Master CM 690 Black beauty/
Audio Device(s) realtek high def onboard/
Power Supply 600Watt OCZ80+ psu whit expansion psu in the front bay 300watt SLI/
Software win7 32bit And 64bit Ultimate sp1
Benchmark Scores 3DMarkVantage: P19653
#2
Hi all,

i have done a bad flash :cry: using
http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us

problem is this didnt work (under xp)

maybe i can try to reflash it under dos tonight when i install a old pci card i found...

but im wondering if somebody has the original bios ?

or maybe suggest me a reasonable modded one...

im not familiar with overclocking anything, and i've read than OCing a 4870 doesnt really improve performance...

maybe a cooling voltage mod that reduces activity while the pc is not gaming ?

i leave this pc turned on 24/7 and play about 1-2 hours a night...

since im absolute noob:confused: at this, any advice will be greatly appreciated...



And maybe my brand new 4870 will come back from the bricked
YES WE CAN !!!! CHANGE MY BIOS :) (hopefully)

thx to all who take the time
maybe this helps for you,:) http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/19112/Asus.HD4870.512.080626.html
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#3
hi thx for the answer i saw those 4 bios , but i got no idea what it really does compared to the original bios ? and which one to select out the 4... any more detailed thread from their creator maybe ?

and also is the 3 year warranty canceled if i use a modded bios ?

cuz this PC is always on... so im guessing the card can die by itself one day...

thx
 

summersend

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
You can use any other card combind with ur card in original slot and reflash. I did.Just use atiflash and any other card i did mine with a 8800gts.I forget the commands but there in herere somewhere
Make sure u flash the right card or u brik 2 ;-o
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#5

groothof22

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
197 (0.05/day)
Likes
16
Location
Leeuwarden,The Netherlands
System Name NoobSaibot[NL]
Processor Intel i7 2600K 3.4ghz sandybridge
Motherboard Asus P8P67-le
Cooling Zalman 9900 MAX
Memory 4x 2GB ddr3 1600mhz corsair XMS3 8gb kit optimaal performance
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB^^
Storage ocz ssd drive 60gb vertex 2 sata 3
Display(s) lg led E2240S full hd 22" and a level tv 42"Full HD1920x1080P
Case Cooler Master CM 690 Black beauty/
Audio Device(s) realtek high def onboard/
Power Supply 600Watt OCZ80+ psu whit expansion psu in the front bay 300watt SLI/
Software win7 32bit And 64bit Ultimate sp1
Benchmark Scores 3DMarkVantage: P19653
#6
the bios i send you is better i think also the cooling
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#7
humm actually i did notice the difference , the link u sent me says TOP :
here are the four in their order

ASUS EAH4870 TOP 512MB
GPU Device Id: 0x1002 0x9440
113-B50701-Xst
9440.11.03.0.1.AS03

GPU Device Id: 0x1002 0x9440
113-B50701-X00
9440.11.03.0.01.AS01

Asus EAH4870
GPU Device Id: 0x1002 0x9440
113-B50701-100
9440.11.03.0.01.AS01

GPU Device Id: 0x1002 0x9440
113-B50701-100
9440.11.03.0.1.AS0

not really sure all will fit mine :banghead:
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#8
help anyone ? thx
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#10
ok thx

i was wondering if any of those can work on ASUS EAH 4870 , i dont really if bios is brand related
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#11
ive tried 3 different bios flashes, in dos it tells me reboot to complete operation, which i do

but

-with 4870 alone then its same thing as before: : the screen led goes from green to red continuously

-and when i leave gefore 6800 on first slot, and 4870 on second in windows its start to recognise new ATI card but then everything goes black as if the pc frooze...forcing me to reboot...

and suggestions ?

thx
 

evennumber

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
ASUS 4870 D5 bios problem

tnt23 I also have the same problem as your, but I know the reason why it was block, because u r using ASUS HD 4870 D5 glaciator non-reference design card, n flash that to yr new card, the bios it was post on the asus website is not for D5 rather for the reference design card.

I also tried all 4 bios in the website and it won't work, since these bios is only for reference card. Now I just hope that any kind soul can post D5 bios out, after all I also a victim of this hazz...:shadedshu
 

Fastmix

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
627 (0.18/day)
Likes
115
Location
The Kingdom of Heaven
#13
tnt23 I also have the same problem as your, but I know the reason why it was block, because u r using ASUS HD 4870 D5 glaciator non-reference design card, n flash that to yr new card, the bios it was post on the asus website is not for D5 rather for the reference design card.

I also tried all 4 bios in the website and it won't work, since these bios is only for reference card. Now I just hope that any kind soul can post D5 bios out, after all I also a victim of this hazz...:shadedshu
You can always contact Asus directly and ask for a link to the bios.;)

Also there are 3 asus bios here http://www.mvktech.net/component/option,com_remository/Itemid,26/func,selectfolder/cat,9/
 
Last edited:

evennumber

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Thanks, maybe I will ask the bios directly from asus, or wait until some post the D5 bios. But then the bios before sep will not work after all this card come out at early sep, and the other website u had sent is also for reference card only. But still thanks:)
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#15
im thinking about going to the store where i bought it and asking them to dump original bios from the same brand new card , and reflash mine...think that will work ??
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#18
stuck just like everyone else

Looks like i'm in the same boat as everyone else,

I have an EAH4870/G/HTDI/512M part number 88-c0aia9-0217 with a bad flash

I've tried every BIOS I've come across with no luck so far.

I actually tried to buy an identical card on the weekend with the hope of dumping the original BIOS but they were out of stock.

if anyone knows where I might find an original BIOS your help would be much appreciated.
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#22
thx a lot man , cant wait to try it:)
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#23
Thanks batespro, It worked
hi shaper, just to make sure, can u tell me exactly which command line u typed in dos ? cuz ive seen a couple different ones posted around...

atiflash ...

thx a lot
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#24
hey tnt

it depends on your set up, you should first run

atiflash -i

this will give you a list of the detected cards (there will only be 1 if you are booting with a non ati card)

if this is the case then you will want to use

atiflash -p 0 RV770.BIN

the 0 is the card index, so if the card you want to flash is the seccond one then it will be 1
it may complain that the ssid's do not match at this point, if it does then you will need to force it to burn the rom so use

atiflash -p -f 0 RV770.BIN
 

batespro

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#25
Enter the following to flash your 4870 (without quotes and that is a zero, not the letter o)
"atiflash -p 0 RV770.bin" or to force flashing "atiflash -p -f 0 RV770.bin"