• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ECS First to Add AMD Memory Profile Support

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
Elitegroup Computer Systems (ECS) today announces that it is the first hardware manufacturer to support the latest AMD Memory Profile (AMP) on its innovative platform: A85F2-A Deluxe motherboard. It has been ready to take full advantage of the performance, high end gaming, multi-tasking and energy efficiency with the most anticipating technology “AMP”, allowing users to fully satisfy their growing demand with its unique operating designed.

With striving on Research and Development and also closely cooperation with AMD, ECS is honored to become the first AMD Memory Profile (AMP) certified motherboard vendor in the world. The upcoming AMD Memory Profile (AMP) not only breaks through the traditional design, it also enables the performance tuning of DDR3 memory modules beyond standard JEDEC (Joint Electron Devices Engineering Council) specification.



AMP features a wide range of enhancements, reliability and perfectly performance, which are certified DDR3 Plug & Play memory modules. The latest AMD Memory Profile (AMP) provides a new experience to users in order to unleash the maximum memory performance.

A innovation leading company - ECS, is the first company announce to import AMD Memory Profile (AMP) into product. ECS not only provides integrated solution for supporting, but also considers customers’ needs as the core consideration for the products design, and the customer-oriented design concept has been the power for its self-progression. Making a unique and glory prominent product is the only purpose for ECS.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#2
It's AMD's equivalent of Intel XMP. It already tried that with "AMD Game! Memory," failed, this is a retry.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.90/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#3
Hopefully they have better luck this time around :)

Nice to see ECS being first for something too :toast:
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
520 (0.18/day)
Likes
161
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
#4
lol yeah there is that unused tab in AMD Overdrive called Black Edition Memory Profile or something. It's been there for years but I have never seen any RAM with an actual Black Edition Memory Profile.

Now they are going to call it AMP? It doesn't really matter what they call it if they can't get the RAM producers and more motherboard producers to actually support it.

Kind of sucks for novice users trying to find the right timings to make high speed RAM work on AMD right now. This AMP will help for sure, but they better not charge an arm and a leg for "AMD Certified RAM" like they did with the Flares.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,720 (1.21/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#5
I've already bought 32gb of the stuff. It is really fast and overclocks well.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,018 (0.46/day)
Likes
1,423
Location
Indonesia
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR X370GT7
Cooling Cryorig H5 Universal dual fan mode
Memory Team T-Force Night Hawk DDR4-3200 2x16 GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 1080 GAMING OC
Storage 512 GB Samsung 850 Pro + 3 x 2 TB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Leopold FC980M (Ergo Clear 68g) | KBD75 (Zealio 65g) | DZ60 (Gateron Silent Black)
Software Windows 10 version 1607 x64 + Ubuntu 16.04
#6
I hope they don't get sued by ZOTAC.

Oh, they won't, because they forgot the exclamation mark :laugh::laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
68 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Ukraine
System Name Avalon
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-3770K @ 1C: 42x, 2C: 41x, 3C: 40x, 4C: 39x (scalped, Coollaboratory Liquid Pro)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev. A (B&W Edition) @ Passive
Memory 2x SK Hynix HMT451U6MFR8C-PB @ 2400 11-13-12-27 CR1 1.575 V
Video Card(s) Intel® HD Graphics 4000
Storage SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128 GB; RAID0: 2x WDC WD10JPVT
Display(s) SΛMSUNG S27A550
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced White
Power Supply Seasonic X-460 FANLESS
Software Windows 7 SP1 64-bit
#7
is XMP patented so AMD don't use it?
I dislike XMP because memory vendors don't use it right, imho, I hate situations when you buy 1600 MHz memory and it has only 1333 jedec and 1600 xmp profiles spd. So use must manualy edit settings to get 1600 Mhz.
I think if memory has label 1600 it must work at this speed without any help.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#8
I think if memory has label 1600 it must work at this speed without any help.
That's a board-level issue. Some work great with XMP, others do their own thing, that can be really crappy. For example, nvidiaintelftw got some g.skill memories, and had stability issues, because the BIOS on his board didn't read the XMP v1.3 profile correctly(XMP v1.2 board). So you gotta get memory with XMP profile, and board that supports XMP profile version correctly, for it to work right, and finding those combos can be difficult, indeed.


Now, on AMD, you're left manually setting up ram, period, and since most ram sells with XMP-rated timings and speed, there's no guarantee memory will work above JEDEC settings on an AMD rig. At least AMD is taking steps to fix that problem. It's not like ECS came up with this..they are just first to support it.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#9
That's a board-level issue. Some work great with XMP, others do their own thing, that can be really crappy. For example, nvidiaintelftw got some g.skill memories, and had stability issues, because the BIOS on his board didn't read the XMP v1.3 profile correctly(XMP v1.2 board). So you gotta get memory with XMP profile, and board that supports XMP profile version correctly, for it to work right, and finding those combos can be difficult, indeed.


Now, on AMD, you're left manually setting up ram, period, and since most ram sells with XMP-rated timings and speed, there's no guarantee memory will work above JEDEC settings on an AMD rig. At least AMD is taking steps to fix that problem. It's not like ECS came up with this..they are just first to support it.
Memory along with boards can be the most finicky part of a system I think. One cannot expect memory to work 100% right out of a box everytime.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,720 (1.21/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#10
AMD motherboards need all the support they can get. Right now, it's a fairly slim selection of "top tier" 990fx motherboards. The rest of the motherboards follow the same trend as well.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
866 (0.22/day)
Likes
204
Processor ES 6 core 2011 intel @ 4.4 ghz
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Display(s) 22" crt viewsonic g225f
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#11
Ravenas "AMD motherboards need all the support they can get. Right now, it's a fairly slim selection of "top tier" ANYTHING"

LOL sorry...I couldn't resist
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,720 (1.21/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#12
Ravenas "AMD motherboards need all the support they can get. Right now, it's a fairly slim selection of "top tier" ANYTHING"

LOL sorry...I couldn't resist
You really only have a choice between 3 top tier 990fx motherboards:

ASUS
GIGABYTE
MSI

These aren't really what you call top tier compared to the intel top tier but I think the intel top tier motherboards are something I have no need for anyhow.

3 years ago it was a different story.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,751 (0.73/day)
Likes
868
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#13
You really only have a choice between 3 top tier 990fx motherboards:

ASUS
GIGABYTE
MSI

These aren't really what you call top tier compared to the intel top tier but I think the intel top tier motherboards are something I have no need for anyhow.

3 years ago it was a different story.
ASRock, unless you don't count them until they cost 200+ :| The 990FX Pro could use more settings for OC, but it's very strong and stable.

is XMP patented so AMD don't use it?
I have an AMD MB that uses XMP. It's not common, though.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
47 (0.01/day)
Likes
21
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X + Morpheus + 2xP12
Storage Kingston SSDNow V+200 240GB
Display(s) Asus PA238Q IPS
Case Lian-Li PC-A10B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro Series
Power Supply Antec TruePower New 750
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Logitech G19s
#14
lol yeah there is that unused tab in AMD Overdrive called Black Edition Memory Profile or something. It's been there for years but I have never seen any RAM with an actual Black Edition Memory Profile.

Now they are going to call it AMP? It doesn't really matter what they call it if they can't get the RAM producers and more motherboard producers to actually support it.
I had an OCZ "AMD Black Edition" kit, one of very few that was supposed to work flawlessly/out of the box with that software, and not even that was enough to unblock that tab on AMD Overdrive. It was disappointing to see that all that Black Edition/Overdrive crap never really worked for AMD, specially considering some Black Edition cpu's that came with crappy memory controllers that mined the supposed overclock potential/unlocked multiplier advantage. Hell, nothing seems to work for AMD since a long time ago.

They should really focus hard on the incoming DDR4 technology and come up with something really relevant and ground breaking for a change. If not, AMD will certainly continue to resume itself to the good old ATi inside the enthusiast market...
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
213 (0.10/day)
Likes
25
System Name "Da Krawnik Six Hunnit"
Processor Intel i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 EVO (B3)
Cooling H100i w/2x Bitfenix Spectre Pros + Bitfenix Spectre Pro Blue LED 1x 200mm + 1x 120mm
Memory Patriot Intel Extreme Masters Limited Edition 8GB (2x4GB) 1600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 @ 1491MHz (Actual Boost) / 7.6GHz
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 2x WD Green 2TB + 1x WD Green 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T 144Hz
Case Corsair 600T w/full custom 1/2" acrylic side panel
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 850w
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD (laser)
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Couldn't care less about benchmark scores.
#15
That is one ugly UEFI. ASUS UEFI FTW!
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
68 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Ukraine
System Name Avalon
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-3770K @ 1C: 42x, 2C: 41x, 3C: 40x, 4C: 39x (scalped, Coollaboratory Liquid Pro)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev. A (B&W Edition) @ Passive
Memory 2x SK Hynix HMT451U6MFR8C-PB @ 2400 11-13-12-27 CR1 1.575 V
Video Card(s) Intel® HD Graphics 4000
Storage SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128 GB; RAID0: 2x WDC WD10JPVT
Display(s) SΛMSUNG S27A550
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced White
Power Supply Seasonic X-460 FANLESS
Software Windows 7 SP1 64-bit
#16

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,515 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,597
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#17
Then AMD doing stupid thing, there is no need to inventing a bicycle.
Or maybe JEDEC needs to get off their asses and release standards for memory over DDR3-1600. ;)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,515 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,597
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#19
I didn't think Jedec went above DDR3-1333, least I have never seen Jedec standards with any RAM I have used above 1333mhz :ohwell:
I think that only re-enforces the fact that they've been lazy. :ohwell: