• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EDIT

Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#1
I think i broke my mobo. I was updating my bios to the newest version using winflash since all the utilities don't work on win 64. Winflash was provided on the setup disk anyway, see specs for mobo.

So do i have to hope they will take an RMA or something.

Everything starts but dosnt boot.

Tried the CMOS battery and the jumper as if that would frackin work but i didnt know what to do.

Any help would be appreciated usualy i just fix that sort of stuff on my own but never done this.

It was flashing and just as it completed the first pat of update all i got a memory conflict error. BSOD.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
try booting with just one stick of ram.
warranty should be covered, you were doing an officially sanctioned BIOS flash.

have you learned your lesson about windows flashing yet? its bad. (also never flash when OC'd.)
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#2
nope havnt learned about windows flashing lol ill probly still do that but i think it was bios flashing while OC'd you know

thats new ram and it passed memtest and worked fine for a month

must be the oc ill try one stick at a time but looks like its rma time arg! i dont mind i just hate waiting
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (1.09/day)
Likes
2,257
#3
There is generally a way to recover BIOS from critical errors. Find out what BIOS brand it was using, and google for recovery methods.

Some will let you insert a BIOS file on a floppy or CD and automatically replace corrupted BIOS from there.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#3
the floppy disk drive wont even turn on in my pc thats bricked

it works perfect in the backup machine

i need help RMA the board sapphire website is a bitch to navigate

so i cant try a recovery because the bios is so fucked it wont recognize the floppy disk drive
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
133 (0.04/day)
Likes
9
Processor i7 920 @ 3.8 GHz + HT, 1.25v
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HIS 6950 2GB
Storage WD 640GB Black + 2x WD 1TB Green
Display(s) 30" Dell U3011 H-IPS
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#4
If a CMOS reset doesn't work, you might need to RMA the board.

I always tend to stay away from flashing in Windows. If at all possible, always flash your BIOS in DOS.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
windows flashing is just ridiculously unsafe. it should never be attempted on an overclocked machine either.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.37/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#6
I've been slapped by the Windows Bios flash bat before. Sure is no fun! :D
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#7
Isn't that one of the motherboards that has a dual bios on it? If so you should be able to recover, as to how I'm unsure.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#7
i tried an old floppy drive to restore the bios but the floppy drive wasnt even turning on
so i specificaly bought a new £7 floppy drive and new floppies

fuck that nothing works it dosnt even do anything cant recover the bios

i now have a floppy for bios updating

the mobo on the other hand needs to get RMA and the sapphire website is shitty and dosnt explain how to do it
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
i tried an old floppy drive to restore the bios but the floppy drive wasnt even turning on
so i specificaly bought a new £7 floppy drive and new floppies

fuck that nothing works it dosnt even do anything cant recover the bios

i now have a floppy for bios updating

the mobo on the other hand needs to get RMA and the sapphire website is shitty and dosnt explain how to do it
email their support. that tends to be how i start all my RMA's.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#8
bought it from amazon.co.uk and the sapphire website says to send it back to the retailer so i guess ill have a look at the amazon website
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Grab a USB stick. Put the BIOS on it and rename it AMIBOOT.ROM (all caps).

Hold ctrl+home on your keyboard (i had to use a PS2 motherboard) and then boot the board. If all goes well it should boot the recovery function.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,030
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
#10
+1 I've done exactly that to recover from a bad flash.

And NEVER flash while OCed...that's just pulling Fate's Whiskers...
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#10
its an award bios so that wont work, thanks anyway

i have rma the board and am awaiting a replacement
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#10
i am about to just go to the post office depot and pick up the new board ill let you know what happens
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
hd2400xt vbios crisis

i waz trying to upgrade mi hd2400xt bios but it crashed. now i get bips and blank screen. is there a way to recover. i have the original bios, made it before upgrade...:p... hope for something like crisis recovery tool or wathever solution to make it alive again... 10x end please guide me to the right forum if this is not the one... bye :banghead:
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#11
nope its pretty much fubar on select motherboards there is a second bios to switch too some mobo have a backup feature mines was so fucked it fucked the backup part too
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#12
So you already RMA'd then? I was going to suggest making a bootable USB flash drive and trying to flash the bios from there in a similar way as you'd do from a floppy.
Could you access the BIOS setup?

@marius.pozna: why would you need to update graphics card BIOS? Generally it's for compatibility, which is necessary for mobos since components change, unlike graphics cards that have static components. Unless you were trying to flash to a modded BIOS or something.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#12
me no i got the RMA nothing would boot not even the floppy, blank screen, i think that it got really buggers but couldnt recognise a floppy drive
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#13
me no i got the RMA nothing would boot not even the floppy, blank screen, i think that it got really buggers but couldnt recognise a floppy drive
Just to be sure, it didn't boot as in the OS, or it would even do POST? Because if it POST'd, I think the flash drive method could have worked.
But anyway, not a problem anymore that you got the RMA.:toast:
 
Last edited by a moderator: