1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EK Water Block for ATI Radeon HD 3870 X2 Ready

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 1, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    EK Water Block today caught up with Danger Den and CoolIT, by introducing their full cover water block for Radeon HD 3870 X2. The EK's water block is available in three versions:
    • EK-FC3870 X2 CF: base made of electrolytic copper, top made of quality acrylic glass and back ram heat sinks made of black anodized aluminium.
    • EK-FC3870 X2 - Acetal CF: same as the original acrylic block, but the top is made of quality POM Acetal.
    • EK-FC3870 X2 - CF Nickel: base is made of nickel plated copper, while top is made of quality acrylic glass and back ram heat sinks are made of black anodized aluminium.
    All three versions weight about 920g and convert the HD 3870 X2 into single-slot cooled video card. The basic EK-FC 3870 X2 CF costs 109.95EUR, while the Acetal and CF Nickel models are priced at 114.95EUR and 119.95EUR respectively. All products should be available for direct purchase from EKWaterBlocks.com SHOP.


    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: EKWaterBlocks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    They look good, as I plan to invest in a 3870X2 I'll definitely be watercooling it... them... MUHAHAHAHAHA!

    \m/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. MadCow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    544 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Looks like it cools the PLX chip too. Do those even need cooling?
     
  4. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Netherlands
    so do i :) but crossfire :D
     
  5. CH33T03S New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Crossfire?:eek: Wow are you planning on running 8 monitors? :cool:
     
  6. SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    552
    I REALLY want a EK CPU waterblock, I hear they will out perform a D-TEK Fuzion.
    Where can I get one in the USA?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Netherlands
    nope crysis at aa 16x af 32x ect ect ect
     
  8. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'll most likely get a couple X2's eventually, hoping someone will release it with GDDR4 at some point and refresh the PCIe bridge to 2.0 - asking a bit too much d'you think?

    Still, these have been the best blocks I've seen so far.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    And some of the most expensive. While I like the third one, thats a bit of a price hike if you ask me. That translates to about $180 to about $210 USD depending on conversion rates.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. olstyle

    olstyle

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    73 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Back here in Europe, Ek-Blocks are allways priced slightly beneath the corresponding Danger Den Parts.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    crossfire and SLI only let you run a single monitor anyway.

    Thats what makes it strange that this card even has two DVI ports, as crossfire is always on.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)