1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Elder Scrolls V SKYRIM !! 11-11-11

Discussion in 'Games' started by AphexDreamer, Dec 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ray_Rogers2109

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    410 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    I would've chosen some parchment but would see how in-game a burlap map would work. I'm still wondering if there'll be ease of modding for Skyrim as there were for Morrowind, Oblivion, Fallout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas.
    Might or might not pre-order. I'd prefer getting my PC finished and then buying the 6950 2GB, unlocking to 6970, for top of the line gaming. I don't even think the integrated GPU on the motherboard would play this game nowhere near how I'd like for it to.
    Glad this time I'll only be purchasing it for PC and not console.

    For the burlap map, one could always coat it in something so it doesn't fray or catch fire.

    Oblivion won't even run right on my current computer anymore. Framerates plummet too much.
     
  2. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    It will have modding. Also Oblivion framerates can plummet even for top of the line systems if you start using texture mods, those engines are horrible.
     
  3. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,024 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    Ohio
    For me, just using texture mods doesn't have much impact. What really kills the FPS are mods like "More Than Almost Everything Visible While Distant" (MTAEVWD) which, as the name suggests, makes even tiny rocks visible in the distance. All that extra rendering of all the shit in the distance just kills FPS.
     
  4. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    I notice my FPS usually goes up when I use higher res textures (of course my AF is usually at x16, so it makes sense).
     
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I guess I havent spent a ton of time modding Oblivion, I don't really like the combat or the mods out there for it. But FO3 or F:NV high res textures crushed my 4870x2, my 2x 5850's, and my 6950, so I usually try and find some really nice lighting mods and leave textures alone.
     
  6. Ray_Rogers2109

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    410 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Do you have the 6950 1GB or 2GB?
    I'll be doing the 6950 2GB flashed to 6970. But will be using the integrated graphics card when it's finished then buying it.
     
  7. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I'm running the 2gb model.
     
  8. Ray_Rogers2109

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    410 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    I bet SKYRIM is going to be great on it. But should I already go ahead with pre-ordering the PC release even though there's a very high likelihood of DLC? Also figuring the HD4290, which is integrated on the 890GX, will barely even be able to run SKYRIM until I buy the 6950 2GB flashed to 6970.
    Mods will be a factor in this too. Although I'd be too impatient to wait for a Game of the Year Edition release.
     
  9. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    496 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Oblivion is a single core game which you can mod by editing the config file to take advantage of some additional threading on another core. Hence the low framerates. Just think if it was at least a true dual core game how solid the framerates would be. The framerates drop off in many places even on my PC @ max settings with 8xAA.
     
    Ray_Rogers2109 says thanks.
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    It's still not intended to be a multiple CPU game. Like I said with my personal experience though, it was with FO3 and F:NV, I just assumed Oblivion would be the same. And changing the ini to use more cores in the later 2 games sadly did nothing at all.
     
    Ray_Rogers2109 says thanks.
  11. Ray_Rogers2109

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    410 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Well that sucks. I was hoping on doing the appropriate incrementals for Oblivion/Fallout 3/Fallout: New Vegas in the configuration/initialisation files to use up to 4GB of RAM out of 8GB and up to four cores out of six.
    So there wouldn't be any increase in performance? Would be nice if there were a mod which allowed for optimisation.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    what you're asking for is not possible in a mod. its not magic.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Ray_Rogers2109

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    410 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Well dammit.
     
  14. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    You can mod them all to use 4GB of Ram, I once again didn't see any difference there, but I've heard some people do. It's just a dated engine thats not meant for todays hardware.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2011
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    the 4GB 'mod' is nothing more than a 30 second fix to let a program use upto 4GB of ram instead of the 2GB software limit.

    it doesnt boost performance or anything, just prevents crashes when that 2GB limit is hit.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,725 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,171
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
  17. Ray_Rogers2109

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    410 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    I was about to ask what the requirements were but this site has them.
     
  18. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Scotland
    They are only the predicted requirements, we won't know what they really are until they are announced by bethesda.
     
  19. Ray_Rogers2109

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    410 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Yes I'm also assuming they're doing guesswork for the requirements. Doesn't matter really since the finalised PC when finished should be more than able to play SKYRIM though. No idea which settings when it's finished since I'll still be limited by a 4:3 VGA CRT monitor.
    But in the meantime I'll be able to have all the settings from Morrowind/Oblivion/Fallout 3/Fallout New Vegas (Game of the Year Edition eventually) on much greater settings. It's going to be self-rewarding for this and also The Lord of the Rings: War in the North.
     
  20. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    If you watched the old gameplay video with everyone not shutting up, you might like this.
     
  21. Captain.Abrecan

    Captain.Abrecan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    175 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    MA
    anyone else notice the similarity between the dragon call things, and battle shouts for barbarians in Diablo 2? Not shitting on bethesda, I think the application is very different, plus it is nice to see developers use things that work, originality notwithstanding. I am looking forward to this.
     
  22. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I so cant wait anymore for this game to come out!!!!
     
  23. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  24. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Anyone has info about box contents? I think ill go out of steam on this one, I want extra stuff! Like stuffs

    O I run shogun at MAX everything and 1.5-2gb is what it needs, skyrim would be around that
     
  25. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I'm assuming by boxed you mean CE? I know there will be a real map made of cloth, beyond that not too sure.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.