• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OFFICIAL Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim (Discussion)

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
How come the dragons are so easy to kill in this game? Kinda dissapointed. I have a high bow and arrow level and I use that...
That's what I need, as I can't kill one by myself....the only souls I've absorbed were thanks to a team effort....so I look forward to being able to bring em down with relative ease.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
The Enhanced Shaders 12d SSAO lite both looks nice and runs well.

I highly recommend it.









 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
2,553 (0.83/day)
Likes
1,013
Location
United States
System Name Aluminum Mallard
Processor Intel i7 940
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III: Gene
Cooling Noctua C-12P
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS HD5870
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 in RAID0
Display(s) HP w2338h
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 31 FPS in Dalaran.
Looks pretty damn outstanding.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.96/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,282 (1.18/day)
Likes
3,638
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
Have you tried making all items which can be enchanted with enchantment skill and wearing those while you enchant your armor/weapons you want to enchant?

Along with drinking an enchantment potion.
Although the last time I drank an enchantment potion it seemed to do nothing.
The potions work differently than in Obliv. When you go into the Enchanting screen, time still passes. So, you can't take a potion with a 1sec duration, and have it last through all the 'chanting you can do. they really only do last 30 sec (or however long it says), which for me, gets me two chants, if I'm QUICK.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,676 (1.09/day)
Likes
960
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8600K @4.5Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
The potions work differently than in Obliv. When you go into the Enchanting screen, time still passes. So, you can't take a potion with a 1sec duration, and have it last through all the 'chanting you can do. they really only do last 30 sec (or however long it says), which for me, gets me two chants, if I'm QUICK.
Parts of the screen run at normal speed, in others time stops.

I managed to enchant a full set of armour including a ring, amulet and sword with a single potion.. I can't quite remember how long it was, i think 60s. It did take a couple of save and re-tries tho and i had to write down the enchantments i wanted on a pience of paper so i could go through them as quickly as possible.

How does this one differ from version 1.8?

I installed a beta version before but it seemed to do nothing, so i re-installed the latest version
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
What's the performance hit dude?
I don't think there is any compared to the 1.8. Maybe like 3 FPS hit Outside, inside still getting 60FPS max. I have resorted to 2xAA though, still on 16AF.

Just try it out. Backup any old configs you have if you want.


How does this one differ from version 1.8?

I installed a beta version before but it seemed to do nothing, so i re-installed the latest version
They added a slow SSAO (Lite) instead of the FULL SSAO (Fast) config file.

More screenshots

http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198001620040/screenshots/

The ones from Firday are of 12d.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
The Enhanced Shaders 12d SSAO lite both looks nice and runs well.
So this gives me AO without having a NV card? Simulated via shaders or actually AO (maybe there's no diff I don't know enough about these things).
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
So this gives me AO without having a NV card? Simulated via shaders or actually AO (maybe there's no diff I don't know enough about these things).
Gives a form of SSAO on ATI Cards that runs well.

As you can see by my specs I have an ATI Card, so yes.

I'm not sure either. They say SSAO I say does it look better and run?

12c was full SSAO and I couldn't run it. With lite I can run it now. 12d still has a Full SSAO option, I haven't tried it though, maybe that would run for me as well.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Crazyeyes will know. Think Ill give this a shot in the meantime. I assume can find on the Nexus?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Yeah read the documentation when you get it. They just added it.

Changelog from 12c.

- Refined enbseries.ini variables
- Removed 'exes' folder previously used for 4GB Loader mod (now obsolete)
- Included 'Natural Colors' effect.txt with default installation
- Added new 'Lite SSAO' version of the mod
- Updated 'BlurSharpShift' effect.txt from enbdev.com
- Added this documentation

http://www.skyrimnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=822


Make sure to get 12d.
you need bFloatPointRenderTarget=1 in skyrimprefs.ini

I just added the effect of Natural Color and Sharpening. Checking that out.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,759 (0.76/day)
Likes
481
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,676 (1.09/day)
Likes
960
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8600K @4.5Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
I don't think there is any compared to the 1.8. Maybe like 3 FPS hit Outside, inside still getting 60FPS max. I have resorted to 2xAA though, still on 16AF.

Just try it out. Backup any old configs you have if you want.




They added a slow SSAO (Lite) instead of the FULL SSAO (Fast) config file.

More screenshots

http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198001620040/screenshots/

The ones from Firday are of 12d.
So is the 1.8 shader mod the full ssao? or do i have to use a diff version.

I tried both the others and they look like crap for me, the same as the vanilla. The only one that makes a diff is the 1.8 version (the one on the top of the download page)
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Read the troubleshooting and "ATI" performance tips if you haven't. Though there's also this in there:

Some ATI users manage to get the mod running well and performing decently, others cannot seem to get it to behave no matter what... it's sort of a crapshoot at this point. In general, nVidia users have fewer performance issues when setting up the mod.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
Ok guys, just wanted to confirm that "skyboost" r3 is working very well indeed for me too.

Went from min FPS 28 (vanilla), min FPS 30 (tesval.dll) to min FPS 41 (Skyboost r3) at the very top stair in Whiterun.

Also noticed a nice increase outdoors, about the same proportions... I'd say in my case, skyboost performs 20-32% better than the tesval fix...

This is with my 6950 cfx, shadows 4096, ugrids=5... I used to run ugrids=7, but I hate playing games when I can't have a solid 60 FPS, because I can notice the difference when it's running at say 40 FPS instead of 60...

Now, I'm very tempted to go ugrids=7 with 8192 shadows, but I know that's going to bring me down to a min FPS of 30 and an avg of 42 instead of an average of 52 fps...

Nevertheless, congrats to the guys who developped "skyboost", it's marvellous
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
Ok guys, just wanted to confirm that "skyboost" r3 is working very well indeed for me too.

Went from min FPS 28 (vanilla), min FPS 30 (tesval.dll) to min FPS 41 (Skyboost r3) at the very top stair in Whiterun.

Also noticed a nice increase outdoors, about the same proportions... I'd say in my case, skyboost performs 20-32% better than the tesval fix...

This is with my 6950 cfx, shadows 4096, ugrids=5... I used to run ugrids=7, but I hate playing games when I can't have a solid 60 FPS, because I can notice the difference when it's running at say 40 FPS instead of 60...

Now, I'm very tempted to go ugrids=7 with 8192 shadows, but I know that's going to bring me down to a min FPS of 30 and an avg of 42 instead of an average of 52 fps...

Nevertheless, congrats to the guys who developped "skyboost", it's marvellous
ugrid 7 is the best. then change the buffer to 64.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
The Enhanced Shaders 12d SSAO lite both looks nice and runs well.

I highly recommend it.
I think I'm the only one here who doesn't like the enhanced shaders... makes the dark too dark, and the bright too bright for me :)

Ok guys, just wanted to confirm that "skyboost" r3 is working very well indeed for me too.

congrats to the guys who developped "skyboost", it's marvellous
+1 It's one of the best fixes ever, I'm surprised it had to be a modder who made it, and was not incorporated in-game...

Jonathan1107, are you using Skyrim HD?

I'm currently using it. Before I used to use Skyrim HD Lite but now with Skyboost I can use the proper Skyrim HD and my fps don't drop under 35 ever.

However to be honest in-game I'm not seeing any difference between the full and the lite version. Possibly because my monitor's got very small pixels? I dunno...

Anyway I'm thinking to switch to the lite version again to regain more fps. And perhaps instead I might try putting ugrids to 7...



_________________




I've got a screenshot of Sovngard which I found really awesome and am using it as desktop. Does anyone volunteer to shop out the compass from the top please? :) Shoot me a pm, this is the picture below:



I was going to try doing it myself... but then I took an arrow... wait better not type it out!

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
I think I'm the only one here who doesn't like the enhanced shaders... makes the dark too dark, and the bright too bright for me :)



+1 It's one of the best fixes ever, I'm surprised it had to be a modder who made it, and was not incorporated in-game...

Jonathan1107, are you using Skyrim HD?

I'm currently using it. Before I used to use Skyrim HD Lite but now with Skyboost I can use the proper Skyrim HD and my fps don't drop under 35 ever.

However to be honest in-game I'm not seeing any difference between the full and the lite version. Possibly because my monitor's got very small pixels? I dunno...

Anyway I'm thinking to switch to the lite version again to regain more fps. And perhaps instead I might try putting ugrids to 7...



_________________




I've got a screenshot of Sovngard which I found really awesome and am using it as desktop. Does anyone volunteer to shop out the compass from the top please? :) Shoot me a pm, this is the picture below:



I was going to try doing it myself... but then I took an arrow... wait better not type it out!

Indeed, the enhanced shaders suck (imo) because indeed, they make everything too dark or too bright...

Basically, it's a little bit like the FXAA injector situation, the original mod had too much saturation and "blue" color overall, but the moderate version of the mod is way better...

So I'll assume that a moderate version of the enhanced shaders could be interesting...

As for "skyrim HD", no I do not use that mod yet... I figured I'd wait till he's done retexturing most of the cities before I tried it, and because I already have a few re-texture mods already...

I also thought that it would make my FPS drop, and that was before the arrival of the skyboost fix, which meant my lowest FPS was 30, so I imagined that the skyrim HD mod would only make it worst... My opinion about the SKyrim HD mod is that I'll install it when I already have a SOLID 60 FPS everywhere in the game, but not before...

As for ugrids, be very careful, because it does indeed EAT a lot of your FPS, althought I haven't yet come to test it in combination with the Skyboost mod...
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
Hey guys, I really need HELP with this Water Bug...

I don't know what is causing this, it started happening between the time I installed the new 12.1 AMD drivers and other mods like Skyboost...

I tried disabling skyboost, but that was not the culprit... If anyone can help me fix this, I will be GREATLY thankful :O(

Here's a short video so you can see what's happening precisely:

http://youtu.be/PIk7ntNhIRU

EDIT: I have tried disabling Crossfire which seems to FIX the problem... How can I have Crossfire on and NOT have this bug happen???
 
Last edited:

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,418 (3.13/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
got enchanting to 100, but i cant make items as powerful as i want. seems i need alchemy + potions to get the right strength stuff.


so i'd need: max alchemy enchanted gear to make max enchanting items, to make the gear to make the potions to make the actual equipment i want... le sigh
Thats what item codes are for. I don't think you should need max Alch to make great enchants, and if I don't feel my character fits with Alch, then I would just grant myself a potion.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
Hey guys, I really need HELP with this Water Bug...

I don't know what is causing this, it started happening between the time I installed the new 12.1 AMD drivers and other mods like Skyboost...

I tried disabling skyboost, but that was not the culprit... If anyone can help me fix this, I will be GREATLY thankful :O(

Here's a short video so you can see what's happening precisely:

http://youtu.be/PIk7ntNhIRU

EDIT: I have tried disabling Crossfire which seems to FIX the problem... How can I have Crossfire on and NOT have this bug happen???

I once had that 'flashing water' bug but it was long time ago. I had started using 11.11b drivers which weren't fine for the 5xxx in crossfire.

What you need to do first is disable ALL mods.

To be honest I had just deleted the entire game and re-downloaded it from steam, and installed 11.11c which then worked fine.

I can't give precise feedback though because I was never able to have the game run for 5 minutes with any mods way back then. After the LAA Bethesda patch all got fixed though.

It's easier if you use a mod manager - that way you can disable/enable mods without searching for the files, or having to reinstall everything if you change your mind.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
i get on this dragon and he takes me to that alduin place, but i cant kill the dragon there.

what all do i need?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
i get on this dragon and he takes me to that alduin place, but i cant kill the dragon there.

what all do i need?
You need to shout.

Seriously:

Shout DRAGONREND at Alduin until he's on the ground. If you try to battle him while he's in the sky he will keep beating you. Using the Dragonrend shout you'll get him on the ground and you'll be able to beat him. Otherwise you'd get no chance.

Edit: Oh and be careful to direct your shout and attacks at Alduin, not at the other cute friendly dragon ;)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
no not that. im way past that.

its afterwars. i take a ride on a dragon which i trap at that dragons reach place.
the dragon takes me to slovengrad? where aludin is recollecting his powers from dead souls.
so i go there kill the who falmers there, but the dragons being a bitch!


and dragonrend only brings it down, after which it starts flames me, till i die :( :(