• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

OFFICIAL Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim (Discussion)

Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
If you think enhanced shaders sucks then you'll really hate ENB by itself. It's this horrible combination of dim and overly saturated. You need some sort of godly eyes to not get eye fatigue after a minute of that. I settled on enhanced shaders cause some how he tamed ENB a bit. Based on his config I'm slowly tweaking it to be even less eye murdering. I don't want to give it up becase it fixes crashes and save loading issues.
 

julfen

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
5
Likes
0
problem with skyrim

hey everyone like you i also want to play this awesome game so i bought it and recently bought me a new computer but even when i play the game on medium setting it lags LIKE HELL!! my vendor told me i could play it with highest settings someone know what my problem is? below is my speq


OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name SLAVE-ULFIS
System Manufacturer MSI
System Model MS-7586
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20GHz, 3201 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. V1.9, 2010-09-02
SMBIOS Version 2.6
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale Sverige
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7601.17514"
User Name SLAVE-ulfis\SLAVE
Time Zone W. Europe Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4,00 GB
Total Physical Memory 3,93 GB
Available Physical Memory 2,39 GB
Total Virtual Memory 7,86 GB
Available Virtual Memory 6,22 GB
Page File Space 3,93 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys


And i have this graphic card

Name ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68B8&SUBSYS_29911682&REV_00\4&21BAFCA2&0&0008
Adapter Type ATI display adapter (0x68B8), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
Adapter Description ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
Adapter RAM 1,00 GB (1*073*741*824 bytes)
Installed Drivers aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver Version 8.920.0.0
INF File oem15.inf (ati2mtag_Evergreen section)
Color Planes Not Available
Color Table Entries 4294967296
Resolution 1920 x 1080 x 60 hertz
Bits/Pixel 32
Memory Address 0xD0000000-0xDFFFFFFF
Memory Address 0xFBDE0000-0xFBDFFFFF
I/O Port 0x0000C000-0x0000CFFF
IRQ Channel IRQ 4294967293
I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB
I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\atikmpag.sys (8.14.1.6243, 318,00 KB (325*632 bytes), 2011-11-10 03:12)

does someone know whats going on? all help wouild be appreciated

julfen
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,209
Likes
3,545
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
I finally updated to the 1.31, and used the Razr patch to eliminate Steam. Using the Skyboost, not sure if it was 2 or 3. Frames inside dungeon jumped to over 150, outside not much change, but I noticed my quicksave takes a second or so longer, and my load times are slowly increasing. Course, I have over 1000 saves... may need to clean them again :)
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,209
Likes
3,545
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
does someone know whats going on? all help wouild be appreciated

julfen
Right off, didn't see a 32bit or 64bit OS, might make a diff. The 5700 1Gb is a bit on the low side, but shouldn't be "lagging badly" .System Ram should be sufficient if you're fully patched to allow for LAA. Not familiar at all with the ATI numbering on drivers, but if I'm reading right, and the 5700 can use the newer drivers, you're a bit behind (someone correct me on this, please ;) ).

Just first glance. One of the others running similar specs might have some insight.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201
Likes
2,387
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
Right off, didn't see a 32bit or 64bit OS, might make a diff. The 5700 1Gb is a bit on the low side, but shouldn't be "lagging badly" .System Ram should be sufficient if you're fully patched to allow for LAA. Not familiar at all with the ATI numbering on drivers, but if I'm reading right, and the 5700 can use the newer drivers, you're a bit behind (someone correct me on this, please ;) ).

Just first glance. One of the others running similar specs might have some insight.
im playing on a 6770 at 1280*1024 maxed out, min 40, avg >60 fps.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
609
Likes
76
Location
London, UK
System Name this_is_so_leet_it_needs_no_name
Processor Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8 P67-M Pro
Cooling MUX-120 with Dual Fan
Memory Samsung Memory DDR3 2133 Overclocked (non LP)
Video Card(s) XFX ATI/AMD 5870 1gb @ [tbc]
Storage 2*2tb Samsung Raid 0 + 64gb Kingston SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL LED monitor
Case Lian Li PC-60 old skool alu case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD PCI-Express (great)
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Win 7 64bit
ok guys, i need to ask is the STEP eorth bothering with? Seems it would take 1/2 a day to do properly... cheers
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
hey everyone like you i also want to play this awesome game so i bought it and recently bought me a new computer but even when i play the game on medium setting it lags LIKE HELL!! my vendor told me i could play it with highest settings someone know what my problem is? below is my speq
It's probably your Anti Aliasing (AA setting)

My pc sets it to 8xAA and I can barely play (especially with my mods). I can't see any difference between 8xAA or no AA because my monitor has small pixels, it's 27" 2560x1440. Try setting your AA to zero and report back.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
im playing on a 6770 at 1280*1024 maxed out, min 40, avg >60 fps.
Resolutions popular in 2002 tend to allow weaker cards to run great frames. Not saying the 5770 (6770) is a bad card, but just that its no surprise you are getting that fps at that resolution.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,520
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Hey guys, I really need HELP with this Water Bug...

I don't know what is causing this, it started happening between the time I installed the new 12.1 AMD drivers and other mods like Skyboost...

I tried disabling skyboost, but that was not the culprit... If anyone can help me fix this, I will be GREATLY thankful :O(

Here's a short video so you can see what's happening precisely:

http://youtu.be/PIk7ntNhIRU

EDIT: I have tried disabling Crossfire which seems to FIX the problem... How can I have Crossfire on and NOT have this bug happen???

got any of those .dll crossfire 'fixes' ? delete them
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
@julfen

There numerous things which could cause your system to run a game poorly or at optimal performance.

First update your drivers.
Download the latest AMD drivers for your card, uninstall your old drivers and install the latest after reboot.

Other things, like applications loading on startup made to run in the background & malware cold cause problems for the performance of your system.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,520
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
@julfen

There numerous things which could cause your system to run a game poorly or at optimal performance.

First update your drivers.
Download the latest AMD drivers for your card, uninstall your old drivers and install the latest after reboot.

Other things, like applications loading on startup made to run in the background & malware cold cause problems for the performance of your system.
or as was covered, he said he thought he could run the game maxed out, which his card cant.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
or as was covered, he said he thought he could run the game maxed out, which his card cant.
Even though his rig can not play the game at highest settings as stated by the vendor, I read his above post which also said 'but even when I play the game on medium settings it still lags like hell' so there is still a problem with him playing the game.

So I added in some advice which could hopefully let him play the game at medium without lagging.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
I think I'm the only one here who doesn't like the enhanced shaders... makes the dark too dark, and the bright too bright for me :)

Adjust the settings, I switch of bloom completely and switch off the brightening affect.

The darkness how ever ( in enhanced shaders anyway, not other mods) is good for me though, having explored a few abandoned buildings in my time I can safely say things do actually get that dark :laugh:

Just changes the way I play, instead of just bowling around dungeons like they're nothing I have to constantly cast a light spell or risk getting snuck up on XD

Makes the game more real/threatening for me which is great because mostly the game is to easy.
 

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
Do the caves/dungeons respawn if you go in without a quest and don't retrieve the quest item?....I think this happened to me.
GiantBomb awarded Skyrim GOTY btw.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,520
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Do the caves/dungeons respawn if you go in without a quest and don't retrieve the quest item?....I think this happened to me.
GiantBomb awarded Skyrim GOTY btw.
if you get sent there again, new enemies spawn, yes.
 

allshine

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
3
Likes
0
Considering a 5870 performs almost if not the same as a 6950, I am running mine on high settings with 4xAA and getting a solid 60 cap with minor dips. I've found a few tweaks online that may help you.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
Has anyone tried if you have an Nvidia card turning off AF and AA in the In-Game settings, and then forcing it though the Nvidia Control Panel. I heard that that way AF and AA are done through the game settings is a bit old, and that if you do it through the control panel you'll get better FPS and it'll look better. I noticed that with turning AF on through the control panel that things looks better in the distance compared to AF done in the game settings.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,520
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Has anyone tried if you have an Nvidia card turning off AF and AA in the In-Game settings, and then forcing it though the Nvidia Control Panel. I heard that that way AF and AA are done through the game settings is a bit old, and that if you do it through the control panel you'll get better FPS and it'll look better. I noticed that with turning AF on through the control panel that things looks better in the distance compared to AF done in the game settings.
same goes for ATI, CCC AF looks better than in game AF, and a few mod makers have commented on this.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
I think nvidia actually recommends doing it like that
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,520
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
I think nvidia actually recommends doing it like that
it goes bad sometimes, because if the game devs actually optimise their AA code, they can tell it to ignore certain objects/shader effects, whereas forced control panel AA works on everything.

can look better, but often performs much worse.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
That's what I noticed when I forced some settings in the CP, my game slowed to a crawl. It didn't really look any better to me anyways, but maybe I'm not as picky as others
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
this game is really starting to piss me off. I have come to my 2nd dragon and i cannot kill him no matter what i try. Ive tried fire and sword and hack away at him but he kills me with either fire or frost. Ive tried bow and arrow, but that barely does anything. Im tempted to go back to whiterun to get my companion(the girl you get) and having her help me
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
having a companion to take all the hits for me helps a lot
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
having a companion to take all the hits for me helps a lot
yeah, can the companions die??

Im a level 9 redguard too

Can shields deflect frost and fire?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,617
Likes
933
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
this game is really starting to piss me off. I have come to my 2nd dragon and i cannot kill him no matter what i try. Ive tried fire and sword and hack away at him but he kills me with either fire or frost. Ive tried bow and arrow, but that barely does anything. Im tempted to go back to whiterun to get my companion(the girl you get) and having her help me
Potions will help out a lot, if you have any.

yeah, can the companions die??

Im a level 9 redguard too

Can shields deflect frost and fire?

Yes they can :( You have to be careful at higher levels not to kill them by mistake

I never use shields, but i know the ward spells work well against frost and fire