1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OFFICIAL Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim (Discussion)

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,751 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I think you might have to turn vsync on in the ini file. I don't think there is an option for it.
     
  2. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,024 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just force it in drivers
     
    WarEagleAU and hellrazor say thanks.
  3. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,668 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Try downloading bandicam and locking your fps to 60 it should fix the problem :toast:
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    ok so I downloaded FRAPS last night and recorded video (maybe) and had it show my FPS. It started out around 31-35FPS and it would like zoom up to 59-61FPS. So I do not think it is anything to do with my card. I have the settings cranked up to ULTRA and the HI RES mod packs installed. Before that, I had a regular install with no mod packs installed. I have the latest drivers (CAP Profiles that don't show). I have my OC on my FX 6120 at 4.1 Ghz and the RAM is at 1600. Not sure what could be doing it. I do have an FPS LIMITER mod I could install but as I have said from FRAPS its not running out of whack. Any other ideas or settings I Could tweak? Not sure what the hell happened.

    I did change out MOBO, RAM, Proc, and then a week later, Video card.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,455 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    its the FPS limiter mod. its failing and messing with the game speed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I haven't installed it or even unrar'd it. That is whats so funny. I haven't put anything as far as limiter in the game. The only thing there is is the HI RES Mod packs and before that I had a clean install and still had the issue.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,455 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    maybe shits got weird cause you didnt reinstall OS after massive hardware changes.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Sir, you may be right. If not for all my school stuff I would have done it by now, lol. Hmm, I could try it on one of my other HDs
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Pariah36022 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Prattville,AL
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Thanks Pariah I will do that. I am also installing the latest update (for some reason I haven't installed that patch yet) and see how that works.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,704 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,791
    Location:
    Chicago
    That's always a good idea in these situations if you have an extra drive and just can't wipe your main at the moment...
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  12. Kaiser Kraus

    Kaiser Kraus

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    These are the pics of my character right now. I used Superl3 ENB + my edited lighting w/o post processing + FXAA Injector (custom settings). I gotta say the lighting looks absolutely breathtaking with Depth of Field effects thrown in for good measure. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    So .. there was some discussion on the CK boards about scaling and collision detection.

    Go into the console and type "player.SetScale 4.0"
    You will become gigantic.
    The interesting thing is that the NPCs will walk through your legs (CD is not scaled with the mesh), you will still view the world in 1st person as if you are nomral height, but in 3rd person view the NPCs will stare up at you as if you are a giant. lol
    Could make for some interesting screens.

    MEGA-KREIJ (Notice Aela breaking her neck to look up. lol)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2012
    erixx, Ahhzz and theJesus say thanks.
  14. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,751 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Ive had some fun with that one. You can also make other npcs big and small, and it seems to be permanent until you change it back. It seems like your weapons do more damage when youre big
     
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Yeah, you can also have fun with mini-me's.

    There is body part data in the game (as is evident by the NPCs' "views" and also shows up in the CK), but unlike Fallout they did not implement any body part damage modifiers ... like head shots.
    There is also lots of VATS references in the CK.
     
  16. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    mmm... started playing Skyrim again today but it started to update took a while after I start the game I instantly notice improved textures and actually a lot better performance i can crank up 8x AA now and stil have 40-50 fps before I had to drop AA to 2 or 4x somebody knows whats changed?
     
  17. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,751 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Depends on when you stopped playing. There were a couple updates that helped fps a lot, like 10-40% for some people. New nvidia drivers were supposed to help quite a bit too.
     
  18. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Yeah stopped playing like for 2 weeks , I'm using a HD 6850 actually before this upgrade my textures look really washed but now they look great, I mean great for what it used to look seem mods are working now to.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,455 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    sounds like the DLC texture mod. if you dont have it, get it - it makes a massive difference to the feel of the game to have it look better AND run faster at the same time.
     
    enaher says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,708 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,712
    I finally got back into the game, after waiting for the CS release, and some mod updates, and boy did I step in it heheh. I was annoyed a bit at the first run thru. I was level 30-something, and really, unless I got STOOPID, I could handle most anything I ran into. So, I installed the Skyrim Wars, Skyrim Heroes and a few other adjustment mods (along with the hi-res mods, Dovhakin hideout, etc... 12.5Gb folder now!!!!!), and MAN am I in trouble!! I ran into Mrok the Alligator at level 2 and 3, and that's just a series of get higher than him, and hope he doesn't follow me too far!!! Giant mud-crabs are running around, and I keep having to lure them to Giant Giants to let them beat each other up heheh. Definitely a bit more challenging this time thru!! :)
     
  21. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Not much new today, guys and gals?

    I've just been playing with the CK and trying to help out with scripting on that forum to help me get some of my focus back. Papyrus scripting is pretty basic and I thought it would be a good way to keep my old brain active until I'm fully back in the programming game.

    So if anyone gets into modding and needs some scripting help, I'll be happy to try. :toast:
     
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,849 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,493
    Here is me giving a dragon a "what for"



    [​IMG]
     
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,704 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,791
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hah nice. Yeah the first time I saw the "jump on dragons back" kill scene I was quite pleased.
     
  24. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,751 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Try making it a little darker, I could almost see what was happening. lol

    Cool shot though, I like the wing in the back.


    Does anyone else have two dragons spawn EVERY STINKING TIME you go to winterhold? They're just blood dragons and regular dragons but its getting to be annoying. Actually, I guess its good for making epic battles. And then all the mages from the college come out and massacre it in like 15 seconds, so that adds to the sweetness.But there's only so many epic dragon fights you can have before it becomes a bit unepic...
     
  25. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,708 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,712
    I may take you up on that a little later, Special :) Doing ok today/
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)