• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

OFFICIAL Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim (Discussion)

Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
469 (0.14/day)
Likes
68
Location
Victoria, Australia
System Name Haswell Ranger
Processor Intel i5 4690K 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H80 Hydro Series Cooler
Memory 16GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS RX480 Strix 8GB @1350MHz
Storage OCZ Trion 100 240GB(OS) + 4TB HDD(s)
Display(s) Samsung SE790C 34" Ultra-wide/Curved 3440x1440p 60hz
Case Corsair 750D Obsidian
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System/Roccat Kave XTD 5.1 Headphones
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Modular
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G510s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
others have had it happen already, so i'm sure it does. maybe signs aren't immediate?
Ah okay, I guess I'll go back and do it again since I reloaded a previous save afterwards, and I'll give it some time. Thanks for clearing that up :toast:

My fiancee got bit by a wolf right away and got infected. Everyone kept telling her she looked sick, so she drank a potion to fix it. Pretty sure you can't be wearing metal armor (wolves can't bite through metal).
Well I'm currently Arch-Mage of the Winterhold College, so no metal armour for me lol. Did something pop up on the screen telling her she was now infected? Nothing showed for me, and even the "Number of diseases contracted" statistic was at 0.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Ok I have yet to figure out how to make potions or poisons?

Also there is no texture folder in Data? So when some mods say to replace there is nothing to replace yet my game runs fine? I wonder if creating it will work.
mods work like this


Data / textures / character / blah blah
Data / Meshes /

when you have a mod that replaces certain files or requires other mods grab them first

then the files exist example the no blocky faces has a texture folder you drag drop that texture folder into the Data folder where the games archives are,

from there if you want better textures or replacers for said mods you drop them in the proper folder and overwrite them.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Can you block when both hands are equipped with a waepon?

Also how can I barter or persuade?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
To the people experiencing fire corruption with the atiumdag.dll fix for crossfire, I suggest renaming your TESV.exe to Fallout3 it gives better performance all up and is as smooth as a single card or a tad better without the blocky fire.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
you need to up your speechcraft skill to unlock those options so sell goods often to up it in the begining then you can bargin persuade and intimidate to further boost the skill

on a side note the game just crippled me hardcore

2 Dragons vs Me 1 Blood Dragon 1 Dragon

score 2 me 0 for the Dragons, altho it did cost me all my health potions i had hoarded, all 60 of them. totally worth it tho.

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,101 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,529
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
They are maxed... Maybe the game didn't load some textures?



Is the large address aware mod/patch rumored to have a significant effect on performance?
its the same as every other LAA mod (theres a thread about it here on TPU somewhere with an app to make it easier to do), it just stops crashes on 64 bit OS's once you pass the 2GB limit (32 bit OS's are just screwed)
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
making the consoles lead platform was a good business decision. 3.4 million copies in 2 days is really good for an RPG.
Those stats don't include steam sales. Steam never report sales figures (nor do they let others report the steam sales figures for games sold on steam), so the only PC sales in there are for physical copies.
 

Vandarth

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
i guess i just dont see it. Maybe my oblivion is modded and iv forgotten. either way Im simply not impressed with it. not enough color. skyrim has very dark shades of mostly neutral tones. excluding an aurora borialis everything is dark blue, grey orange green or yellow.



is the card clocked?
Yes, my card is clocked at core 920, memory 1400, should i clock higher? if so what to? but even if my card was not overclocked at all it should have no trouble with max aa, is it a gpu driver bug or a game update bug to do with AMD cards?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,101 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,529
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
you need to up your speechcraft skill to unlock those options so sell goods often to up it in the begining then you can bargin persuade and intimidate to further boost the skill

on a side note the game just crippled me hardcore

2 Dragons vs Me 1 Blood Dragon 1 Dragon

score 2 me 0 for the Dragons, altho it did cost me all my health potions i had hoarded, all 60 of them. totally worth it tho.

http://img.techpowerup.org/111115/TESV 2011-11-15 18-01-13-30.jpg
i had that same fight last night, as i was beating the first dragon the blood dragon swooped in to mess me up >.> lydia (my companion) got eaten or something, she died and i cant find her body to get my loot back off her.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
that sucks lol, still im playing on hard took me 35 mins to kill both dragons, I had to use the stone pillars to block the fire breath and then use my force shout then follow it up with power attacks.

the game decided not to be friendly.

the last dragon i fought before those 2 i got a 1 hit KO on the dragon when it was at full health, it came swooping in I attacked it did a kill animation with my driving my 2 hander through its skull and bam fight over... its pretty damn fun you never know what will happen.

just bought the house in Solitude and decked it out got me another Housecarl. cant wait for mod tools first thing im going to do is remove companion limit, edit a few AI variables then build me an army of Housecarls lol,

also gonna go back and edit a few game sequences to contain more Storm cloaks and more imperials so fights seem larger.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
2,242 (0.70/day)
Likes
1,327
Location
Riverside, California
System Name Red Monster
Processor Intel Core i7 7800X @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H115i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB DDR4 3466
Video Card(s) evga GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 iCX
Storage Intel 535 Series 2.5" 480GB SATA /WD Blue 1TB SSD /Radeon R7 240GB SSD /1TB, & 4TB HHD
Display(s) Samsung UN55KS8500 55" 4K & Oculus Rift CV1
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZX > Pagoda DAC > multiple amps
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherri MX
Software Windows 10
any mod for 'hardcore' mode yet? Where you need to eat and sleep, Arrows that have weight etc. ala FoV? They shouldve kept that feature imo. Food in game kinda feels like for novelty purposes only since potions are more efficient..

Imagine needing to eat and just hunting the woods for some rabbit or goat.. pretty neat imo.. Herbs, stewed Rabbit and taters
I played hardcore mode in FallOut NV and enjoyed it a lot. Having to drink water and eat food was awesome. Not doing so caused ill effects which just added to the game.

This mod should come out for sure! I hope someone is working on it.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Yeah the textures definitely need some love in areas (I mean look at the right there... like vanilla Morrowind! lol) but I don't see how some people think the graphics are sub-par. No mods yet except Blood, Beautiful Skyrim (retexts of various items; ongoing...) and Night Sky (verrry nice one btw).

 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,261 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Yes, my card is clocked at core 920, memory 1400, should i clock higher? if so what to? but even if my card was not overclocked at all it should have no trouble with max aa, is it a gpu driver bug or a game update bug to do with AMD cards?
but is it overclocked? skyrim is sensative to OC's if its OCd try defaults.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
FXAA sharpen w/ llow saturation + MSAA works very well for me, it brings out more details from the textures. It tends to get dark with it but fixable by increasing the display brightness :D
 

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
Anybody know how to get this Katana sword in dragonsearch? Looks to be cod style tiger skinned.

Gonna put it in spoiler tags lol

Pressing "E" to no avail, whats the deal ? tia .. Theres a floating dresser blocking the doorway WTH

 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,261 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
i tried with amd overdrive at defaults/off and its still super lagged at 16aa, like 5fps
dont know what to tell ya. Nvidia cards do the same thing.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,261 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
oh so other people are having problems with lag? even if their system is easily good enough for it?
ya mine plays on ultra fine but sometimes it dips iv improved it with lowering the clocks but im starting to think its a type of memory leak.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,101 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,529
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
ya mine plays on ultra fine but sometimes it dips iv improved it with lowering the clocks but im starting to think its a type of memory leak.
it was most likely just hitting a thermal throttle, using parts of the GPU more than other games.


think of it like how furmark cooks VRM's on certain cards, skyrim could be causing specific overheating, causing throttling, causing performance dips.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,261 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
it was most likely just hitting a thermal throttle, using parts of the GPU more than other games.


think of it like how furmark cooks VRM's on certain cards, skyrim could be causing specific overheating, causing throttling, causing performance dips.
i think so too test iv run indicate when it throttles down when the frame drops.

its in my earlier post.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
oh so other people are having problems with lag? even if their system is easily good enough for it?
NO ONE EVER HAS HAD, OR EVER WILL HAVE LAG PROBLEMS IN SKYRIM.

PLEASE.

"Lag" describes data latency in online games, where the information must travel from PC to server and back.

LAG has nothing to do with any offline game, ever. You are confusing your video card's underperformance with lag, but they are hugely different.

Please don't confuse them, and then ask for help with your "lag" when there is no such thing. It only confuses the issue.

A lot of noobs have started calling having put their graphics settings too high for their hardware, "lag". In BF3 you see these guys sporting a Radeon 6850 running it at ultra, jumping from server to server because "it's laggy". They don't understand at all, that's OK but what is definitely NOT OK is to accept this use of the word "lag", when it has nothing to do with it. It would be like calling "not having enough gas" in your car's fuel tank, when in fact the problem is that your handbrake is on.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,101 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,529
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
NO ONE EVER HAS HAD, OR EVER WILL HAVE LAG PROBLEMS IN SKYRIM.

PLEASE.

"Lag" describes data latency in online games, where the information must travel from PC to server and back.

LAG has nothing to do with any offline game, ever. You are confusing your video card's underperformance with lag, but they are hugely different.

Please don't confuse them, and then ask for help with your "lag" when there is no such thing. It only confuses the issue.
ever heard of mouse lag? lag is delay, not exclusively internet related.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
i dont have much issue with framerate dips, lowest i had was around ~35-ish, but definitely no stutters experienced. Mouse lag was noticeable when vsync is enabled, disabling it fixes the issue but introduced a different issue with the Y-axis going berserk on high framerate locations.

The real performance killer i observed was on:
the abandoned shack, the one where you first meet the dark brotherhood and murder some people
dunno why it performed badly on that section...
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
ever heard of mouse lag? lag is delay, not exclusively internet related.
I agree. However, calling video card underperformance by the word "lag" is simply getting it wrong and perpetuating the error. Have you ever done a full connectivity repair online with teamspeak or a chat client, because a buddy is complaining about "lag"? I have. And it gets very irritating when suddenly they reduced their graphics settings and "surprisingly" the "lag" disappears.

When just "lag" is used, it means internet connectivity latency. "Input lag" is an accepted and valid expression. If someone used "video lag", that would be OK, although a pretty stupid expression. It would be akin to running this game on a P4 and calling the problems "CPU lag".