• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

OFFICIAL Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim (Discussion)

Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.76/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
I just use a 4GB patcher exe for just about everything. Could also teak your ini file for this game too.
I've only used the first one and some random mods.

Edit: I only have 5 of whatever of the
Stone of Barenziah
. How many are there total?
I have to use the 4GB launcher since I have over a gig of extra textures running :roll: I might need to do ini tweaking though or just OC again for my FPS :rockout:
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
I'm doing fine with the Oblivion crossfire profile even with 11.11a.
I'm using 11.10 drivers and forcing the Oblivion Crossfire profile on RadeonPro
Doing that makes my Destruction Fire spells appear like black blocks instead of fire. Is it the same way with you both or have you found a workaround?

I have to use the 4GB launcher since I have over a gig of extra textures running
Which 4GB launcher are you using? The one I have from skyrim nexus is making my game stutter and freeze after 3 minutes..

________________________

Edit: I only have 5 of whatever of the
Stone of Barenziah
. How many are there total?
There are
24
of them. I'll check when I'm ingame...
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.76/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Doing that makes my Destruction Fire spells appear like black blocks instead of fire. Is it the same way with you both or have you found a workaround?



Which 4GB launcher are you using? The one I have from skyrim nexus is making my game stutter and freeze after 3 minutes..

________________________



There are
24
of them. I'll check when I'm ingame...
I have no trouble with my my fire spells nor my game freezing, I have been playing fine for the past hour with no trouble at all :/ I am using this 4GB launcher: http://www.skyrimnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=1013

Perhaps it could be one of your Overclocks causing the stuttering/freezing?
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
overclock your 2600k

no joke

from 3ghz to 4ghz theres around a 10-15% Fps boost with a single gpu sometimes more depends on the GPU used really. but yea performance gain with overclocking the cpu is rather easy to see, so look at 3.4 to 4.4 you should see about the same performance bump as 3 to 4ghz.

granted toms hardware is lackluster but ive noticed the same scaling here as well. so its reasonably trustworthy.

from 3ghz to 4ghz on a sandybridge system as per the frame rates below its a 24% FPS boost on the minimum frame rate. with in game default Ultra settings. average FPS boost is 19%

so 24% boost to minimum and 19% boost to average with CPU clock speed increase. id crank that 2600k as far as it can go then tweak the ini to hell and back call it a day ;)

 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.76/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
overclock your 2600k

no joke

from 3ghz to 4ghz theres around a 10-15% Fps boost with a single gpu sometimes more depends on the GPU used really. but yea performance gain with overclocking the cpu is rather easy to see, so look at 3.4 to 4.4 you should see about the same performance bump as 3 to 4ghz.

granted toms hardware is lackluster but ive noticed the same scaling here as well. so its reasonably trustworthy.

from 3ghz to 4ghz on a sandybridge system as per the frame rates below its a 24% FPS boost on the minimum frame rate. with in game default Ultra settings. average FPS boost is 19%

so 24% boost to minimum and 19% boost to average with CPU clock speed increase. id crank that 2600k as far as it can go then tweak the ini to hell and back call it a day ;)
http://media.bestofmicro.com/7/F/315195/original/CPU Clock.png
http://media.bestofmicro.com/7/G/315196/original/CPU Core.png
Just posted on the Sandy Bridge OC'ing thread that I was gonna go and try 4.5ghz stable and after that I am looking to get both of my 6950's stable at 945/1440 to see my performance go crazy :rockout:
 

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
Good to know, im happily chugging my 2500k @ 5GHZ and some old school 4850's and FPS's are eggscellent so far.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
I know a place which is littered with ebony ore although you'll have to tolerate the Orcs unwelcoming dialogues. Got around 35 ores from this place in one run but haven't been back since local shopkeepers/smiths have started selling them.
Gloombound Mine
Thank you very much for the tip. I would like to add to that tip.
Gloombound Mine is a mine southeast of Windhelm containing ebony and iron ores.
Located southeast of Windhelm, the mine borders a small mountain range and a small Orc village called Narzulbur. It is extremely rich in Ebony ore. If you can get past the Orcs berating you and telling you that you shouldn't be there, you can collect enough Ebony Ore to build an entire set of armor, one weapon, and about four upgrades. If you tell the orc at the front gate that you'll get the gauntlets you can just pass all the orcs to the mine.
There is a forge outside the mine, and a shack near the entrance has a copy of Heavy Armor Forging, a skill book for smithing.

Don't know why they didn't make this game HD in the first place?
Skyrim HD is an ambitious project to replace the majority of in game textures with new, high resolution versions. It’s still very much a work in progress, only Windhelm and Whiterun have both been updated, as well as several forest and cave texture, but Skyrim HD looks set to match it’s illustrious predecessors.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.76/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Good to know, im happily chugging my 2500k @ 5GHZ and some old school 4850's and FPS's are eggscellent so far.
I wish my 2600K overclocked as well as your 2500K I couldn't even get 4.5GHZ stable at 1.37v :/
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
yea my 2500k is lackluster as well i max out at 4.4ghz,, need PLL overvoltage to get higher but my board dosent support it .
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.76/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
yea my 2500k is lackluster as well i max out at 4.4ghz,, need PLL overvoltage to get higher but my board dosent support it .
What voltage do you need for 4.4? And I have PLL overvoltage but I have heard of people having their chips fried by it so I am too wary to turn it on :/
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
1.34 max voltage under LINX for 4.4ghz stable at 8096 memory problem size if i drop to 4gb test i can do it at 1.32v, for gaming etc i only need 1.25-1.27 max but i keep it ar 1.32v for 4.4 currently running stock with stock HSF as im out of thermal paste lol
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
213 (0.08/day)
Likes
113
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
what is the easiest way to level up smithing? it is so slow and boring i never want to do it. ive created a bunch of weapons/armor and refined them but still very few points.

The easiest way to power level smithing is to buy materials to make iron daggers its a 1 for 1 make. cheap materials and easy to just buy a stack from vendors. i did it and it really pushes you through the levels.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Don't know why they didn't make this game HD in the first place?
Consolitis, of course. That and making sure the largest number of PC users can run it well. They know anyone with an "HD" capable rig will mod theirs too.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
2,312 (0.64/day)
Likes
715
Location
Switzerland
System Name Keep spending on me
Processor i7 4790K ( 4.4 Ghz stock )
Motherboard Maximus VII Impact z97
Cooling Corsair H90 140mm AIO
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 1866 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS DUAL GTX 1060
Storage M.2 Samsung NVMe 960 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC G2460 G-Sync 1080p
Case Cooler Master Mastercase 3
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II Impact
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
Software Win 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Gaming at high performance is my priority
while I'm playing the computer returns to the desktop during a specific mission ... throughout the rest of the game is not anything strange happens and it works great.

So why ?? WHY ? help me please ! The name of the mission is : Rise of ancient
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
HD is a generic marketing term.
You mean high res vs. low res. Currently Skyrim is low res despite jacking up PQ via it's menu. What they should have done is high res and if you cannot play with ultra high settings, then reduse them ;)

I've noticed lately for the past few years that game companies have been getting lazy, not interested in creating great PQ within games. Valve for instanse could have done a better graphics job with L4D1 &2, but they somehow made the game to look above average with a strong re-play value IMO. I just wished it looked better graphically.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
85 (0.03/day)
Likes
19
Location
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
System Name Yami's Rig
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1055T Thuban 2.8 GHZ
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Xigimetek Dark Knight, 1x 120mm case fan, 2x 140mm case fans
Memory 4 GB (2x 2gb) Mushkin Enhanced Blacklines DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 470 1280mb
Storage Samsung F3 1TB SATA + Seagate Free Agent Desk 1.5TB External USB
Display(s) HP 21" Widescreen LCD Monitor (1680x1050) and HP 17" Widescreen LCD Monitor (1440x900)
Case CoolerMaster Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) On Board Sound
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Quick question guys about the 4gb large address aware....

I installed the Razor version after getting exshausted from all the "steam" bulls*** if you see what I mean...

That said, should I install using the nexus version (which seems to be for steam users...) or using CFF?

Links:

http://www.skyrimnexus.com/downloads...id=134#content

http://www.skyrimnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=1013
use the 4GB Skyrim Launcher (2nd link)...

Or if you still have the .exe before Steam updated, download Ford's LAA patch (http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=112556) and just run the game using the .exe
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.26/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
The easiest way to power level smithing is to buy materials to make iron daggers its a 1 for 1 make. cheap materials and easy to just buy a stack from vendors. i did it and it really pushes you through the levels.
On top of this enchanting the daggers afterwards with petty soul gems can be be helpful.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
One of my favorite ways to level smithing is to use a Transmute spell to change iron ore into silver ore and then change that into gold ore, then craft a ton of rings, then enchant them.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.26/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Every single on of the side quests at the bard's college has left me stuck with the quest item.
Have to use the console to get rid of them.

Some non-spoiling images of odd glitches in game:-
Dead but alive Bandit


Legless Dog


Underwater rabbit
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
just finished the DB quest i think, i need to rest my body for now, need moar sleep -__-
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
just finished the DB quest i think, i need to rest my body for now, need moar sleep -__-
It was very weird when I was doing the questline, considering I've already finished the Civil War questline with the Stormcloaks winning. :laugh:
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
Ok, for you AMD 69xx owners out there (and possibly for other AMD users)

I love Skyrim so much that I decided I'd go ahead and do some "trial and error" toying with the AMD drivers to find the best performance. Now, all I'm going to share with you is what worked for me... doesn't mean it's going to work for everybody, but I've got a strong feeling I've found something good...

First of all, my skyrim is modded (ugridstoload=9... ultra settings, you name it...) So it's pulling all the juice my computer can generate (or should I say all the juice my AMD drivers allow my computer to output...)

I've tested all the recent drivers:

I've tried the 11.11, 11.11a, 11.11b with the latest caps and all... The whole 11.11 series doesn't seem to be stable enough to my taste on my setup... I get a decent performance on single card, but horrible scaling on CF... It's true 11.11b allows a "tiny bit" better scaling, but adds tons of in-game weird behavior, glitches, CTD and other issues (that's a wide-spread thing about the 11.11b... not just me)

So I decided I'd go ahead and test older drivers... I tried 11.9, 11.8 and 11.6... Yup, that took a while, but I believe it was worth it...

Before I tested those, my most stable setup was using the 11.10 drivers on single card config... But there seemed to be a memory leak with those drivers... Especially when I would quick save while in-game, I would notice my FPS drop a fair amount... My former way of fixing this, was to alt-tab out and back in to the game which would most of the time, give me back my original FPS level (or avg...) So 11.10 was quite unstable for me...

Finally, the winner seems to be 11.9, which gives me about the same FPS avg than 11.10 but WITHOUT the stability issues. I get around 45-50 FPS solid all the time, outdoors and indoors (indoors usually goes up to 60) Keep in mind I have "ugridstoload" and lots of LOD tweaks in Skyrim, so that's actually a very good number... And MOST importantly: very stable, no FPS fluctuation, which shows the driver's stable and ready for the job...

So I went ahead and tested crossfire in many ways (OCed, no OC... rename the exe... etc...)
And 11.9 has bad scaling, but not so bad... still a little below 11.11b drivers but at least it's stable... But it's better with my single card config still.

So for those looking for the right driver while waiting for a patch or for AMD to wake up, give 11.9 drivers a try and let me know if you found it to be better than 11.10 or 11.11...