• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Electrical buzzing/whining noise

sai-

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
CA
Processor Phenom II X2 555 BE
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev.2
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 512MB TOP
Storage WDC-WD1600AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch
Case CM Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair vx450w
#1
I have recently built a new rig for the first time (see specs) and everything went smooth. But sometimes there's a high pitched buzzing sound, it quiets down if I move the mouse. I did a Google search and found some threads about the Corsair psu making the same noises but I can't really tell if it's the PSU or not. I tried unplugging the video card and booting up, and there doesn't seem to be any noise but can't be sure since I can't really use the computer as if I had video. The sound usually starts when I start programs or when I'm in game but sometimes it seems to be random. Everything else seems to be running fine but I'm not really an expert. Video card temp is around 32-50. Aside from the buzzing, the computer is dead silent.

EDIT: Also there's a slight plastic smell in the room like burning plastic but the temps are fine. Could this be due to new parts?
 
Last edited:

Hawk1

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
1,248 (0.32/day)
Likes
161
Location
The Big Smoke, Canada
Processor E6600@3.6Ghz (8x450)
Motherboard Commando
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2GB Ballistix Tracers @900 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) ATI X1950XTX w/TR HR-03
Storage 2 x WD250GB (RAID0) 1x WD150GB Raptor 1x500GB external
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case TT Armour
Audio Device(s) Xfi xtreme Gamer (X-230s/HD595s)
Power Supply TT 750W modular
Software xp pro SP2/Vista Ultimate 32
#2
Still need to see system specs. May be the PSU, but I know certain MB (like mine) have been know to make similar sounds.
 

sai-

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
CA
Processor Phenom II X2 555 BE
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev.2
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 512MB TOP
Storage WDC-WD1600AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch
Case CM Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair vx450w
#3
Sorry, didn't know I had to select Yes in userCP from the dropdown list.

Specs updated
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,153 (0.57/day)
Likes
872
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage ssd's baby
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
My old ASROCK used to make noise. Are you using all of the current released drivers?
 

sai-

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
CA
Processor Phenom II X2 555 BE
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev.2
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 512MB TOP
Storage WDC-WD1600AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch
Case CM Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair vx450w
#5
Yes, updated everything except BIOS from Gigabyte's website

I did a few tests just a minutes ago using prime95 and memtest, in prime95 it only buzzes when I select "Blend" test and it also buzzes in memtest. Could it be the memory?
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#6
I know my motherboard occasionally makes a bit of a noise, and I've heard a couple of power supplies that make a bit of a whine even when put under quite a low load. I've got a Corsair PSU too (not the same model mind) and that doesn't make any noise.

The best thing you can do would be to open the case up and try to listen to where it's coming from. TBH, I doubt it's anything dangerous/problematic, but I can understand that a high pitched buzz/whine can really get irritating if you're trying to write something long in word...
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#7
Yes, updated everything except BIOS from Gigabyte's website

I did a few tests just a minutes ago using prime95 and memtest, in prime95 it only buzzes when I select "Blend" test and it also buzzes in memtest. Could it be the memory?
That's unlikely - it's more likely to be either because the blend test draws more power or because it uses the motherboard in a different way. I'd definitely put motherboard or power supply at the top of the suspect list.

If you want you could try swapping out sticks of memory, but I doubt it will make too much impact. Worth a try I suppose.
 

sai-

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
CA
Processor Phenom II X2 555 BE
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev.2
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 512MB TOP
Storage WDC-WD1600AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch
Case CM Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair vx450w
#8
I'll couldn't exactly pinpoint but I'll try again this time pulling out the PSU out of the case.

PS: yeah, probably not since I swapped the sticks yesterday and its still there
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#9
my old cheapo 550W generic PSU from ebuyer used to do that, it would whine when you scrolled the mouse wheel. It made all sorts of high pitched sounds when doing stuff like accessing the hard drive, opening appliations, dragging windows etc. It blew up not long after I bought it taking both my hard drives with it LOL.
 

sai-

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
CA
Processor Phenom II X2 555 BE
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev.2
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 512MB TOP
Storage WDC-WD1600AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch
Case CM Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair vx450w
#10
it's definitely the psu, i took it out of the case and put it on top and the noise comes from the area where the switch/comb pattern is.

guess i'll rma it and live without a pc for a week :(
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#11
it's definitely the psu, i took it out of the case and put it on top and the noise comes from the area where the switch/comb pattern is.

guess i'll rma it and live without a pc for a week :(
That's not too good for a brand Corsair, you'd expect them to be better. Anyway, at least you know what it is, hope your next one works better :)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#12
Probably the transformer in the PSU.. I'd get it replaced my self. Any chance you can take out the psu and turn the comp on and listen to it when it starts do it.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#13
My Corsair 450vx makes noise when under very low load (i.e. my system at idle). I fix it by folding. Then I hear some kind of intermittent crickety noise, but that's coming from the motherboard and generally nothing to worry about.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#14
My Corsair 450vx makes noise when under very low load (i.e. my system at idle). I fix it by folding. Then I hear some kind of intermittent crickety noise, but that's coming from the motherboard and generally nothing to worry about.
Never had a mobo that did that. Is it the coils ones the mobo ?..
 

sai-

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
CA
Processor Phenom II X2 555 BE
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev.2
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 512MB TOP
Storage WDC-WD1600AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch
Case CM Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair vx450w
#15
strange, i took out the video card and let the computer idle for a few minutes, the noise isn't there. but I also took the psu out (video card present) and put it on top of the case and listened. the noise is there, but its not the video card, definitely the psu. i'll try to get it replaced asap and report back, hopefully the new unit will be better. there's a lot of threads on corsair support forums about the same issue.