• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Electrical sub panel fix

Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
95 (0.07/day)
Location
A dusty server room
System Name HP DL380 G5
Processor 2x Intel Xeon X5460 @3.16 Ghz
Motherboard HP DL 380
Cooling 6 60mm intake fans rated for 14k RPM max load
Memory 16GB of DDR2 667Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD XFX R7 360
Storage 3x 140GB 10K SAS JBOD
Display(s) 1x Hisense 42" TV
Case DL 380 G5
Audio Device(s) HDMI Out
Power Supply 2x 800w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Acer KU-0355
Software Windows 10!
Benchmark Scores Ill get around to em soon
Been in this house a few years now and doing the walls in this house.

This is a feeder into a sub panel I have on the outside wall of the house.(this feeds directly into the back of the panel).This doesn’t look mounted correctly. It looks like someone just glued on a metal wire clamp to the ply because in the panel, the actual grommet tightening ring isn’t there. Is there a better way of doing this? This doesn’t look code. (I am comfortable working on panels and the sort as a diy electrician. Just this install irks me, even. )

If anyone knows of a better way of feeding the wire into the panel. Lmk
I want it to be safe.

this is some 50 Amp wire feeding into this panel. Anyone got any idea what a better mounting solution would be so this wire doesn’t fray and short?
45050B5A-BA70-4E53-9D73-B53B78B0882B.jpeg

227AFA58-6BA3-4B29-BB72-DDAFB3525527.jpeg
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,515 (3.08/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly repaired Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
You call an electrician.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,564 (1.45/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I agree with Frick.

Beyond that, are you saying that cable goes to the outside of the house? If so, then I reiterate - I agree with Frick. It is not a matter of what you feel comfortable with. It is a matter of it complying with local codes for your area. Should you decide to move in the future, if a new buyer gets an inspection first (as they should) you need everything up to code. Might as well do it correctly now.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,492 (5.36/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
I'm no electrician by any means, but i have tinkered with similar stuff in the past.

My guess is that it got glued as the wall is too thick to allow the nut to be threaded on the clip. That clip is not made to be externally used either. Locally, not where you are, it is also a must that the Romex not be exposed, it needs to be in conduit of some form.

While I may not want to putz around inside the panel, you may find a lot of help in DIY home stores, as many times they hire people in the profession they are found in.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
95 (0.07/day)
Location
A dusty server room
System Name HP DL380 G5
Processor 2x Intel Xeon X5460 @3.16 Ghz
Motherboard HP DL 380
Cooling 6 60mm intake fans rated for 14k RPM max load
Memory 16GB of DDR2 667Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD XFX R7 360
Storage 3x 140GB 10K SAS JBOD
Display(s) 1x Hisense 42" TV
Case DL 380 G5
Audio Device(s) HDMI Out
Power Supply 2x 800w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Acer KU-0355
Software Windows 10!
Benchmark Scores Ill get around to em soon
I'm no electrician by any means, but i have tinkered with similar stuff in the past.

My guess is that it got glued as the wall is too thick to allow the nut to be threaded on the clip. That clip is not made to be externally used either. Locally, not where you are, it is also a must that the Romex not be exposed, it needs to be in conduit of some form.

While I may not want to putz around inside the panel, you may find a lot of help in DIY home stores, as many times they hire people in the profession they are found in.
Some more peering around and I agree with your deduction . The wall is half inch ply.

The clamp isn't being used externally as it is still inside of the building I initially logicked, however I do see what you're saying however, as the cable runs into the panel which is outside. I could try an NM conduit fitting with long threads and feed it in that way.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,564 (1.45/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I wonder if that stuff is really meant as glue or as a sealant/barrier to keep critters and the weather out?
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
95 (0.07/day)
Location
A dusty server room
System Name HP DL380 G5
Processor 2x Intel Xeon X5460 @3.16 Ghz
Motherboard HP DL 380
Cooling 6 60mm intake fans rated for 14k RPM max load
Memory 16GB of DDR2 667Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD XFX R7 360
Storage 3x 140GB 10K SAS JBOD
Display(s) 1x Hisense 42" TV
Case DL 380 G5
Audio Device(s) HDMI Out
Power Supply 2x 800w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Acer KU-0355
Software Windows 10!
Benchmark Scores Ill get around to em soon
I wonder if that stuff is really meant as glue or as a sealant/barrier to keep critters and the weather out?
The issue is, there's no locking nut for that clamp in the panel and the threads don't make it into the panel. (I stuck a plastic grommet so the panel knockouts don't chafe the wire.)

I suppose it's to hold the clamp in place.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,564 (1.45/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
So to be clear in my mind, none of this is exposed to the outdoors, right?

50Amps is a lot. Where does that go? That really does not matter. It needs to be cleaned up and done properly - and probably with some sort of outlet box on this side of the wood panel.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
95 (0.07/day)
Location
A dusty server room
System Name HP DL380 G5
Processor 2x Intel Xeon X5460 @3.16 Ghz
Motherboard HP DL 380
Cooling 6 60mm intake fans rated for 14k RPM max load
Memory 16GB of DDR2 667Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD XFX R7 360
Storage 3x 140GB 10K SAS JBOD
Display(s) 1x Hisense 42" TV
Case DL 380 G5
Audio Device(s) HDMI Out
Power Supply 2x 800w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Acer KU-0355
Software Windows 10!
Benchmark Scores Ill get around to em soon
So to be clear in my mind, none of this is exposed to the outdoors, right?

50Amps is a lot. Where does that go? That really does not matter. It needs to be cleaned up and done properly - and probably with some sort of outlet box on this side of the wood panel.
This wire feeds a subpanel on the other side of the wall(Fed in through the back of the panel). Panel is located under roofed porch(no walls, only supporting pillars)


basicdiagram.png
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,564 (1.45/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Since critters could get in there, it needs to be done right - and to code.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,219 (0.42/day)
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario in XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, Noctua NF-A14-iPPC2000 (x8), HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Is the outdoor panel even 3R?

Also, the penetration needs to be below the lowest point of connection in the panel, which it is not.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,614 (0.37/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Q6600 QUAD
Motherboard ASUS P5QC
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon
Memory HYPER-X KHX1600C8D3T1K2 /4GX PC3-12800 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5770 VAPOR-X
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music + mods Audigy front Panel (full working)
Power Supply HIPER 4M780 PE 980W Peak
Mouse MX510
Keyboard Microsoft Digital media 3000
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail )
It is recommended of you to ask for professional help, the entire electrical installation it must be renewed with fresh materials which them follow latest specifications.
There is no chance this house to be insured against fire by any company, if this is not fixed and inspected by a professional electrician.
Electrical inspection this is now made by special equipment, and you do receive signed verification about it.
 
Top