• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Electricity in my case

Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
System Name Budget Gaming PC
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 ( 2 x 8GB )
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
Storage ADATA SX8200 PRO 256GB
Display(s) Acer V246HL
Case Zalman Z3 Plus
Power Supply Sirtec High Power Plus 500W
Software Windows 10 X64-Bit
Hi, I can feel electricity on almost any hardware in my computer and also on the case, the computer powers on and then powers right off. Everything is plugged in properly, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, idk exactly why. Any ideas ?
Edit : Standoffs are not the issue.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,170 (1.64/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
You need to check your wall outlets. Every home and every computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure the wall outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.
 

Maenad

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
6,581 (2.01/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Mah buddy
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO +200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Modified Alphacool Eisbaer 240
Memory 32GB HyperX Fury DDR4-3200 @ 3466 16-18-18-36-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC Black @ +100/625
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 480GB SSD + 2TB USB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic VA2465S (24" 1080p VA) + Dell P2412H (24" 1080p TN)
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio, Superlux HD668B
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro English
Is your PC plugged in a grounded outlet?
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,451 (1.32/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270 Maximus IX Hero
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu and gpu
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.Aorus Xtreme RTX2080 Waterforce 2. MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50inch UHD , oculus rift S. 2 SONY bravia 1080p, . 3. 17 inch 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. loop
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.850i 850w 2. seasonic gx 850w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
VR HMD rift and rift S
Software 1. win10 pro 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
not grounded by the sounds, check your plug and socket or not as likely it could be a short in the psu.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
System Name Budget Gaming PC
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 ( 2 x 8GB )
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
Storage ADATA SX8200 PRO 256GB
Display(s) Acer V246HL
Case Zalman Z3 Plus
Power Supply Sirtec High Power Plus 500W
Software Windows 10 X64-Bit
I have 3 computers, 2 are working, that one's not, i have completely disassembled and reassembled it from scratch, everything is properly set up. All sockets in the house are grounded.
Edit : It actually worked after setting it up, then the power in the neighborhood decided to go out and after that it stopped powering on properly.
Edit2 : Tried absolutely everything and nothing makes sense, i placed the mobo with only the psu plugged in, shorted the power pins to boot it up, and no problem, tried different PSUS, switched hardware between eachother, like i literally exahusted any method i know. This happens only inside the case, and only at certain times, not all times.

Any ideas?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,778 (2.94/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Asrock Z590 Extreme wifi 6E
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Corsair RGB fancy boi 5000
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Reference
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb + Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) Dell - 27" LED QHD G-SYNC x2
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 1000 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores the MLGeesiest
This happens only inside the case, and only at certain times, not all times.
it sounds like stand offs, despite........
Standoffs are not the issue.
or something conducting to the case,
it could even be a bad usb port, there are other electronics in a case that arent the main PC components.
if your USB port is compromised, it might make the case live, but are you feeling static, or electricity?
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,451 (1.32/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270 Maximus IX Hero
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu and gpu
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.Aorus Xtreme RTX2080 Waterforce 2. MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50inch UHD , oculus rift S. 2 SONY bravia 1080p, . 3. 17 inch 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. loop
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.850i 850w 2. seasonic gx 850w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
VR HMD rift and rift S
Software 1. win10 pro 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
System Name Budget Gaming PC
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 ( 2 x 8GB )
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
Storage ADATA SX8200 PRO 256GB
Display(s) Acer V246HL
Case Zalman Z3 Plus
Power Supply Sirtec High Power Plus 500W
Software Windows 10 X64-Bit
Case USBs or mobo USBs ?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,170 (1.64/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I would assemble the entire computer outside the case on a wooden bread/cutting board and see what happens.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
System Name Budget Gaming PC
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 ( 2 x 8GB )
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
Storage ADATA SX8200 PRO 256GB
Display(s) Acer V246HL
Case Zalman Z3 Plus
Power Supply Sirtec High Power Plus 500W
Software Windows 10 X64-Bit
I would assemble the entire computer outside the case on a wooden bread/cutting board and see what happens.
I said above that I did that, it worked. After i assemble it up inside the case it works as well, but at some point it's gonna stop.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,487 (3.92/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: i5 10400
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: ASUS Prime H570-Plus
Cooling Cryorig M9 :: Stock
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 2133 :: 2x8GB DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, 2x1TB Seagate RAID 0 :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, 3x4TB Seagate HDD RAID5
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - Bose Companion 2 Series III :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: EVGA Supernova 550
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
It's an issue with the case somewhere, then. I think you might be able to try without the I/O shield, as that connects the back of the motherboard to the case. If that solves the issue, however, I'm not exactly sure what that means. Probably something in the I/O plane leaking current somewhere where it's not supposed to.

You might want to double-check the standoffs. It's equally as important to not have a standoff somewhere where it's not supposed to go as it is to have one everywhere where there's a place on the motherboard for one. I could easily see this causing issues. On that note, are you certain all the power cables are okay? No bare wire anywhere that might be making contact with the case somewhere? It's possible that unused power connectors can also cause this if they're faulty and/or placed just right to cause an issue. In my own case there's an extra SATA power cable tucked somewhere, because I only have 3 SATA devices and my power cable has 4 connectors. It's also possible that some other component in the case might be leaking current. Maybe there's something going on with a hard drive, optical drive, or some expansion card (such as a graphics card, network card etc). If there's an electrical fault with any component that contacts metal (which is pretty much everything) it can cause spooky weird problems.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,244 (4.96/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Even not grounded you should not have a live case.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,869 (3.30/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
It's definitely not grounded and could be dangerous. Do the checks that the others have said on here.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,170 (1.64/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I said above that I did that, it worked.
You were not clear if you had all the components connected. That's why I said "everything".
Even not grounded you should not have a live case.
True, but only if the polarity is correct. If not grounded, it cannot be reversed or you can get shocked.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,244 (4.96/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
True, but only if the polarity is correct. If not grounded, it cannot be reversed or you can get shocked.
Not here to argue, just learn, but I would reason that the case should NOT be connected to neutral and so even if the polarity is wrong one should still not get shocked.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,170 (1.64/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Yes, it should be connected to neutral (and ground). It sure would not be connected to the "hot" side.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
571 (0.85/day)
System Name Still waiting for a 5900x/3080 or 6800xt...or not.
Processor I9 9900kf w/ HEATKILLER IV PRO Copper Nickel
Motherboard MSI MEG Z390 ACE
Cooling BarrowCH Boxfish 200mm-HWLabs SR2 420/GTX&GTS 360-BP Dual D5 MOD TOP-Koolance PMP 450-EK D5 PWM G2
Memory 4x8gb HyperX Predator RGB DDR4 4000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Duke 8G OC w/ Byski N RTX2080TI X
Storage XPG SX8200 PRO 1TB NVMe M.2 / Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case ThermalTake X71 w/5 Noctua NF-A14 2000 IP67 PWM/3 Noctua NF-F12 2000 IP67 PWM/3 CorsairML120 Pro RGB
Audio Device(s) Klipsch Promedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G502 SE
Keyboard Black Aluminun Mechanical Clicky Thing With Blue LEDs, hows that for a name?!
Software Win10pro updated to whatever the latest MS crap is.
Check all of your fan wires, rgb wires, sata cables carefully, anything that may have a nick or cut in it. If any of them have been pinched or nicked and the bare wires have been exposed they may be grounding into your case.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
700 (0.19/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
Hi, I can feel electricity on almost any hardware in my computer and also on the case, the computer powers on and then powers right off. Everything is plugged in properly, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, idk exactly why. Any ideas ?
Edit : Standoffs are not the issue.
Possibly a bad neutral. That can cause spikes on devices through out the entire house!
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,244 (4.96/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Yes, it should be connected to neutral (and ground). It sure would not be connected to the "hot" side.
It should be connected to ground, but NOT neutral (they are usually a little out from each other); but why the case is hot is a mystery to me. It is also rather important not to have any ground loops, i.e. tie the neutral to ground at one point only and not more (loops pick up voltage by electromagnetic induction).

Possibly a bad neutral. That can cause spikes on devices through out the entire house!
In the USA a bad neutral connection can cause voltages higher than 110V
Power surge due to an open neutral wire. - Bing video
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
700 (0.19/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
It should be connected to ground, but NOT neutral (they are usually a little out from each other); but why the case is hot is a mystery to me. It is also rather important not to have any ground loops, i.e. tie the neutral to ground at one point only and not more (loops pick up voltage by electromagnetic induction).


In the USA a bad neutral connection can cause voltages higher than 110V
Power surge due to an open neutral wire. - Bing video
Yes, higher than the acceptable ranges of usually 115V-127V. (Albeit usually should be 120V-127V) (For regular outlets) (Except for special-use outlets, which are in the 200s, which is 115V-127V(x2) so it would be 230V-254V) (Albeit they should be 240V-254V)
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
482 (0.08/day)
Location
West Bend, Wisconsin
System Name DELL Inspiron 5400 AIO
Processor 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1165G7 @ 2.80GHz
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA MX 330
Storage 1TB +SSD
Display(s) 23.8 inch touch screen
Case DELL AIO
Mouse Dell Wireless
Keyboard Dell Wireless
Software WINDOWS 11
My computer is plugged into power strip. :)
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,244 (4.96/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I'm a real fiend for surge protectors; the Tripp Lite Isobar is my favorite, I even have a 12 plug version which was rather rare.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2016
Messages
60 (0.03/day)
Location
Southern Maryland
System Name BRAVO
Processor Intel Core i7‑3930K C2
Motherboard Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Corsair Hydro H80
Memory Kingston HyperX KHX1866C9D3/4GX
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 440
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1TB PCIE / 3 x 256 Samsung 840 Pro/Samsung 860 Pro 1TB
Display(s) HP2009m
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Power Supply Seasonic x-1050 Hybrid
Mouse Logitech M305
Keyboard Dell SK-1000REW
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
I said above that I did that, it worked. After i assemble it up inside the case it works as well, but at some point it's gonna stop.
Take a multimeter and ground one side of meter first then test for AC and DC on the case to see what voltage you have on the case.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
1,362 (0.52/day)
Location
Modesto, California
System Name The Captain (2.0)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Cooling ARCTIC LF II 240mm AIO; 2x 140mm and 2x 120mm case fans
Memory 16 GB (3200Mhz) G.Skill Trident Z Royal (Silver)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1660 Super
Storage 1x Crucial MX500 500GB SSD; 1x Crucial MX500 500GB M.2 SSD; 1x WD Blue 7200 RPM HDD
Display(s) Aorus CV27F 27" 1080p 165Hz
Case Phanteks Eclipse P500A (non RGB)
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS+ Platinum 750W
Mouse Razer Basilisk V3, Basilisk V2, Viper Mini, Deathadder V2 Mini, HyperX Pulsefire Surge
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins Core w/ HyperX Aqua switches
My computer is plugged into power strip. :)

Hear, hear! Power strips are all I've ever used for my rigs. Alas, much like everything else, they too are not all created equal and so require a bit of research.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,487 (3.92/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: i5 10400
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: ASUS Prime H570-Plus
Cooling Cryorig M9 :: Stock
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 2133 :: 2x8GB DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, 2x1TB Seagate RAID 0 :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, 3x4TB Seagate HDD RAID5
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - Bose Companion 2 Series III :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: EVGA Supernova 550
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
My computer is plugged into power strip. :)

Hear, hear! Power strips are all I've ever used for my rigs. Alas, much like everything else, they too are not all created equal and so require a bit of research.

Sure, but shouldn't have much of an effect on what's going on here. Maybe if he had a UPS instead, and that's only if his issue is at the outlet.
 
Top