• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Empire: Total War issue, game won't start.

crazy pyro

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#1
I've installed the game from the disks and after that it started downloading something through steam and now it says that it's 100% ready but when I try to launch the game it comes up with the application has stopped working window, any idea how to fix this?
I had to delete all the local content just to get it to install, will I have to do this again? This is simply ridiculous, I've spent hours getting it installed. This is on my main rig btw.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#2
Bump, I need to get this working, desire to fill the monitor with dead enemies is too great.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#3
Hey did you get it going?
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#4
Yeah I did, think the downloads from the steam servers were getting corrupted or something so I ended up having to remove all the local content and reinstall it then let it download the updates.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
621 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor INTEL Core i5-2500K - 4.4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 980
Storage SAMSUNG 840 EVO 1 TB x 2 + 2xWD6400AAKS RAID 0
Display(s) LG 34UM65 (2560x1080)
Case CORSAIR 650D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850
Mouse CORSAIR Raptor M45
Keyboard CORSAIR K70
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Did you verify integrity of game cache?

Right click on game -> properties -> local files tab

Edit: I can't read...
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#6
I should'a done that, was pretty sure it was a problem with the download it had to do though since my internet was about as useful as a chocolate heatsink on an i7 due to packet loss.
 

jimmyme

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2008
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS Rampage II GENE
Cooling stock.air
Memory 6GB MUSHKIN HP3-12800
Video Card(s) 1xGAINWARD 4870 1Gb GS
Storage 1x WD Velociraptor 150Gb
Power Supply NEXUS Rx-8500
Software Vista64
#7
Ahh, this is simple....Steam is your problem. Try to avoid purchasing a game that requires Steam...
I constantly and repeatetly have problems with steam playing, accessing , downloading games that I rightfully own a copy of. Simply, we should all boycott Steam, I would if RO was available otherwise.
 

crazy pyro

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#8
Nowt wrong with steam when your internet connection works, can a mod please lock this thread as it's otherwise gonna get derailed.