• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Engineering Sample HD 7970 Idle problem

bissag

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#1
Hello, I got a good offer on ES HD7970 and the card performs well, the only con that at idle mode, the card will produce little whine or squeal according to what happen on the screen, noticeable while scrolling the pages and moving the cursor. As I knew it is bios issue with the ES 7970 with the idle clocks regarding the ram clock or timings. I tried the change the bios to the GHZ Reference bios "C3860100.102", flashing goes fine but as soon as the windows loads, it will bsod with 7E code. I have to remove the drive or reflash the card to load the windows fine. The ES card comes with bios "C3862000.004"
I noticed all the retail 7970 cards come with name "Tahiti B0 XT2 C38601" while the ES comes with name "Tahiti B0 XT2 C38620" If someone have a reference bios has the same "C38620" with date newer than 6/7/2012, I would be glad to try it.
I tried the Club3D 7970 RoyalAce bios, it flashed fine and the whine or squeal at idle disappeared but the card wasn't stable at 3D. I know it is ES card and there is no support for that but maybe someone has a newer bios for it?

Thanks :)
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
I do not think you are suppose to even have ES cards but I could be wrong. I know intel ES chips are not for resale but maybe different with GPU's
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#3
arent ES supposed to be returned to the company?

YOU STOLE FROM AMD :eek:
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#4
I do not think you are suppose to even have ES cards but I could be wrong. I know intel ES chips are not for resale but maybe different with GPU's
i dont think ur right.. ,just becouse i had visiontek hd 6950 ES,i bought it on newegg refubrished.
btw im sry i cant help u with bios issue!!
 

bissag

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#5
arent ES supposed to be returned to the company?

YOU STOLE FROM AMD :eek:
It was at ebay, the seller didn't say it is ES or not. It was stated as OEM card without accessories. I bought it and then I saw the label on the back of card that it is engineering sample. The seller is from China so I can't even ship it back. So don't accuse me as stolling as I 'm not a reviewer and i didn't know it was ES until I got it.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#8
Hi

I have to remove the drive or reflash the card to load the windows fine
Drivers should be uninstalled before flashing a vga card!

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 

bissag

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#9
Hi



Drivers should be uninstalled before flashing a vga card!

atb (all the best)

Law-II
Sure the drivers was uninstalled before the flashing. It accepts the drivers fine and everything is successfully then after I restart it won't load the windows with a BSOD
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#10
OEM means it was used in some pre assembled junk by big companies liek dell and the likes.
 

bissag

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#11
Well, the card won't accept any bios except the default stock bios which comes with the card.
HIS and Club3D bios worked but once the 3D clocks kicks in, the screen goes black no matter what the clocks are and the other ones will just BSOD before loading the driver.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#12
yup its an OEM card all right.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,293 (0.39/day)
Likes
570
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#13
Why didnt you save the original Bios? Like your suppose to!!
Have you checked MVKtech? sorry cant link, im on a cheap phone.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#15
Since it is an engineering sample, it is very likely the only bios that will work with it is the original. This card should of never been sold in the first place. The seller listing the card as OEM is a lie and the card should be returned if possible.

That being said, I do have a "generic" bios that is unlocked that might work. I'll post it up when I get home from work.

yup its an OEM card all right.
No.
 

bissag

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#16
Since it is an engineering sample, it is very likely the only bios that will work with it is the original. This card should of never been sold in the first place. The seller listing the card as OEM is a lie and the card should be returned if possible.

That being said, I do have a "generic" bios that is unlocked that might work. I'll post it up when I get home from work.
Thanks erocker, waiting your bios
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#17
Bios is in the attatchment.

Good luck! :toast:
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#18
Since it is an engineering sample, it is very likely the only bios that will work with it is the original.
True the only option to ajust the bios right now is to Hex edit the original. PM me a copy & I'll have a look.
" the card will produce little whine or squeal " have you found out where on the card this is coming from?? Have you tried down clocking the card in 3D to stop it?
the bios erocker uploaded is c68601b0
just had a look At my bios collection the only XT2 C38620 that i have are for non-reference cards
 
Last edited:

bissag

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#19
Bios is in the attatchment.

Good luck! :toast:
Didn't work, bsod when loading the windows


True the only option to ajust the bios right now is to Hex edit the original. PM me a copy & I'll have a look.
" the card will produce little whine or squeal " have you found out where on the card this is coming from?? Have you tried down clocking the card in 3D to stop it?
the bios erocker uploaded is c68601b0
just had a look At my bios collection the only XT2 C38620 that i have are for non-reference cards
The whine happens while idling, once I run any 3D app in the background the whine disappears, also changing the memory clock from 150 to 300 removes the whine while other bios'es with 150 ram clock doesn't produce this whine but they crash to black screen once the clock goes to 3d clocks.

Here is my stock bios http://www.mediafire.com/?ube6vcxomnzfd82
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#20
also changing the memory clock from 150 to 300 removes the whine
will have a good look at the bios But editing with hex editor is REAL hit & miss with these new AMD bios.......Your best bet would be to increase your 2d clocks read erockers thread or use Afterburner to set a startup profile.
 

bissag

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#21
The problem with the CCC 2d profile than once I change the default 150MHz memory clock to any number, it changes automatically the idle GPU stock clock 300MHz to 500MHz and it increases the stock VCC to 0.948v instead of 0.807v which increases the idle temperature.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
272 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
System Name WorkStation
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110 Water Cooler AIO
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX680 Twin Frozr III OC
Storage WD 1TB Sata III
Display(s) Samsung 22-inch LED 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 898 HD
Power Supply Corsair CS750M Gold
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#23